We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Affordable and perfect place to live off Wangfuijing street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunworld Hotel Beijing
Ranked #88 of 6,606 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Writing this review sitting in the hotel, waiting for my taxi to airport. This hotel is very close to Wangfuijing pedestrian street. Make sure you ask the taxi driver to take you to Sunworld and not Sunworld Dynasty as they are different hotel (next to each other). As mentioned in many post on TripAdvisor, yes the bed was hard, but it suits me and my family, so no complaints. We stayed on 10 floor (1010) which was not very fancy but cosy. My room had an air purifier (very much needed in Beijing due to pollution). Overall room stay 8 / 10. Breakfast spread was nice with varieties of western and local dishes. It was perfect to start the day with. Again Sunny Cafe scaore will be 8 / 10.Their are many places around to have breakfast aswell if one prefers Chinese cusine. 7/11 is just across the street. Hotel offers 2 bottles of complementary water but beware of the Evian kept in the room aswell. It is priced at 64 RMB.
Check-In and check-out was perfect. Staff do speak English but please bare with them as it is not their primary language. Most of the staff tries to make your life easy if not try and use Google translator. My regards to Miss Sally at the reception as she made my travel and one day trip to Great wall, Ming tomb and forbidden city easy and perfect. Due to Sally and lady at travel desk ( sorry forgot her name) score for front desk 10 / 10.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ajay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us and reviewed our property. We appreciate the areas you pointed out that needs our improvement and will be more keen also taken note of the good job done by Miss Sally, we have already passed the praises to her and urged her to continue doing the exemplary work.
Look forward to hosting you whenever you return to Beijing.

Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2017

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and New Years.
A little outdated 4 star hotel but the excellent staff make it very enjoyable.
Carol, the Guest Service Manager speaks excellent English and was great with helping us plan day trips, finding subways, buses, and trains. She is a shining jewel for this hotel.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with both chinese and western style foods available.
The beds are a little too firm for me but after a few nights they kind of grow on you.
Excellent location for high-end shopping and also a few local shops for local style gifts.
Very clean, safe location, handy for catching the bus or taking the subway.
Had a great Chinese style massage, very different from a relaxing style.
Enjoyed our stay here, would recommend to other travelers, thank you Carol for all your personal advice and help.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lindalour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us. We are delighted that you had an excellent stay ,we have passed praises of good work to Carol and we are happy at whatever she does , she ensure customer satisfaction goes beyond the normal call of duty.
We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Amazing location, near a few subway stations but very basic hotel. Staff spoke limited English which made it difficult when we arrived and wanted to understand things to do in the area. The room was clean but very outdated and not really the most comfortable, also very stuffy and smells quite stale. To be honest I wanted to leave this hotel because I had just left a better hotel in Shanghai and wanted that standard, however the location was too good to refuse.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gillean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us and given us your honest feedback, will definitely look into the issues you have raised to ensure customer satisfaction is met.
Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. First night i found the bed to be incredible hard (as expected in China). The following day I asked for a large blanket so I could cushiob the mattress. Staff were able to accommodate this very quickly.

We stayed in room 1103. Every night someone either near our room or even the floor above or below... would smoke a cigarette. This would then filter directly into our room and it was gross.

Every breakfast was very very busy. For such a large hotel I think they need to expand their breakfast area.... or make the tables of two... not four.

Great location to shopping and food.
Decent shower.
Our room was always clean.
Gorgeous sunrise from our side of the hotel too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us and pointed out the highlights of your stay as well as a suggestion. We will definitely look into it, the restaurant does have an extra sitting only now that it's winter maybe cold to sit outside. We have also noted the issue of smoking and we are paying more attention to such guests and issuing heavy penalties.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The AC in the room wasnt working much, it stayed hot when it was on so we just turned it off. My parent's room smelled like smoke most of the time because next door they were smoking.Breakfast was ok, you have to beat the rush or else you wont find a seat. Alot of tour groups stay here.

Staff downstairs didnt speak much english and it was hard to find someone who did. Megan Han was great at giving us directions and helping us look for alternative ways to get to places. When we came back she made sure to ask us how it with. She was one of the only person who spoke better English.
When we booked our room, it came with a 2hr check out extension but when i asked about it, they had no clue what i was talking about and told me it's better to check out at noon or else we'll get charge. It sounded like the system automatically charges you and to reverse it, it'll take a lot of work. We didnt want to bother with it so we checked out at noon.
The hotel is a bit outdated but for the price we paid and the excellent location, i cant complain too much. Location is excellent. walking distance to shopping, peking duck and forbidden palace. 2 long blocks to the line 5 subway.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We are glad you stayed at our property and have also brought some issues in regards to or hotel, We are a non smoking hotel and we trying to work hard to ensure the standards are met. As for check out extension is given only if we are not fully booked and way in advance. Apologies for the miscommunication that took place. On the other hand we pride in customer satisfaction and we are glad you got assistance . We have passed praises to good work to Megan.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
Sunworld Dynasty Hotel
#78 of 6,606 in Beijing
540 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#69 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,004 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,606 in Beijing
2,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#76 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,063 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#59 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,206 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunworld Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunworld Hotel Beijing

Address: No.88 Dengshikou Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#78 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: AU$97 - AU$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunworld Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunworld Hotel Beijing is located in the “Golden” center of downtown Beijing at the corner of Wangfujing and Dengshikou streets, its convenient location and transportation have made the place an ideal choice for business elites and urban travelers. Within 10 minutes walking distance you can get to subway line 1 and line 5, famous office buildings such as Oriental Plaza, various large international shopping malls, the famous Wangfujing Night Market and authentic Beijing restaurants. It is half an hour walking distance to the Forbidden City and Tian’anmen Square. It is 2km to Chang'an Avenue, approximately 5km to Central Business District (CBD), 6km to Beijing Financial Street, only 3km to Beijing Railway Station and about 26km to Beijing Capital International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunworld Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Sunworld Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing