We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveller rating
112
335
136
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
335
136
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wangfujing street great location sun world forbidden city catholic church walking distance shopping and restaurants star hotel night market rooms are clean limited english chinese dishes hard beds day tour speak english comfortable hotel language barrier
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and New Years.
A little outdated 4 star hotel but the excellent staff make it very enjoyable.
Carol, the Guest Service Manager speaks excellent English and was great with helping us plan day trips, finding subways, buses, and trains. She is a shining jewel for this hotel.
The breakfast buffet is excellent with both chinese and western style foods available.
The beds are a little too firm for me but after a few nights they kind of grow on you.
Excellent location for high-end shopping and also a few local shops for local style gifts.
Very clean, safe location, handy for catching the bus or taking the subway.
Had a great Chinese style massage, very different from a relaxing style.
Enjoyed our stay here, would recommend to other travelers, thank you Carol for all your personal advice and help.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lindalour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us. We are delighted that you had an excellent stay ,we have passed praises of good work to Carol and we are happy at whatever she does , she ensure customer satisfaction goes beyond the normal call of duty.
We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Amazing location, near a few subway stations but very basic hotel. Staff spoke limited English which made it difficult when we arrived and wanted to understand things to do in the area. The room was clean but very outdated and not really the most comfortable, also very stuffy and smells quite stale. To be honest I wanted to leave this hotel because I had just left a better hotel in Shanghai and wanted that standard, however the location was too good to refuse.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gillean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us and given us your honest feedback, will definitely look into the issues you have raised to ensure customer satisfaction is met.
Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights. First night i found the bed to be incredible hard (as expected in China). The following day I asked for a large blanket so I could cushiob the mattress. Staff were able to accommodate this very quickly.

We stayed in room 1103. Every night someone either near our room or even the floor above or below... would smoke a cigarette. This would then filter directly into our room and it was gross.

Every breakfast was very very busy. For such a large hotel I think they need to expand their breakfast area.... or make the tables of two... not four.

Great location to shopping and food.
Decent shower.
Our room was always clean.
Gorgeous sunrise from our side of the hotel too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EmmaA1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for having stayed with us and pointed out the highlights of your stay as well as a suggestion. We will definitely look into it, the restaurant does have an extra sitting only now that it's winter maybe cold to sit outside. We have also noted the issue of smoking and we are paying more attention to such guests and issuing heavy penalties.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

The AC in the room wasnt working much, it stayed hot when it was on so we just turned it off. My parent's room smelled like smoke most of the time because next door they were smoking.Breakfast was ok, you have to beat the rush or else you wont find a seat. Alot of tour groups stay here.

Staff downstairs didnt speak much english and it was hard to find someone who did. Megan Han was great at giving us directions and helping us look for alternative ways to get to places. When we came back she made sure to ask us how it with. She was one of the only person who spoke better English.
When we booked our room, it came with a 2hr check out extension but when i asked about it, they had no clue what i was talking about and told me it's better to check out at noon or else we'll get charge. It sounded like the system automatically charges you and to reverse it, it'll take a lot of work. We didnt want to bother with it so we checked out at noon.
The hotel is a bit outdated but for the price we paid and the excellent location, i cant complain too much. Location is excellent. walking distance to shopping, peking duck and forbidden palace. 2 long blocks to the line 5 subway.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We are glad you stayed at our property and have also brought some issues in regards to or hotel, We are a non smoking hotel and we trying to work hard to ensure the standards are met. As for check out extension is given only if we are not fully booked and way in advance. Apologies for the miscommunication that took place. On the other hand we pride in customer satisfaction and we are glad you got assistance . We have passed praises to good work to Megan.
We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Regards,
GSM
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Rooms stink of cigarette smoke, my bathroom smelt of sewerage. Service average, room card never worked. I don't write reviews but just needed to write to those considering coming to this hotel.
Don't go here!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunworldHotelBeijing, Guest Relations Manager at Sunworld Hotel Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you having stayed with us and we apologize for the cigarette and bad the stench, we are a non-smoking hotel and will investigate further as we don't allow smoking in rooms. Thank you for letting us know.

Regards,
Guest Service Manager
Carol W

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews