We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Hotel in West Side of Beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Ranked #104 of 6,427 Hotels in Beijing
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel in West Side of Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Stayed at Executive Club Side of Hotel. You get a 5 Star treatment for the price of 3 Stars downtown.
Subway near the hotel takes you anywhere in less than 30 Minutes

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank israelrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    160
    32
    4
    3
See reviews for
16
33
26
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel on a holiday for 6 days in June 2011.

The good: Friendly and helpful staff, efficient housekeeping, big and clean room with everything you need in it, comfortable bed with extra pillows, free but restricted internet access (everywhere in China the same), breakfast was great but quite expensive.

The bad: location is very far from city centre - takes over an hour to travel to the hotel from the airport in a taxi. The nearest subway station is "Wukesong" on line 1, which is always crowded. This station is 1km away from the hotel and in good summer weather, it'll talk a 10-12 minutes walk to get to the station. From Wukesong Station to Tiananmen Square, it's about 10 stations away. Taxi drivers I came across have not heard of this hotel, so you should have the address (in Chinese) and phone number of the hotel printed out in big fonts (for drivers with poor eyesight).

The hotel is located in a suburban residential area with small shops and some local restaurants surrounding it, but nothing to recommend. The area is safe, even at night, but I would avoid those small alleys - stick to the main road.

In Beijing, you should have dinner at Da Dong Roast Duck restaurant. Please see my review Tripadvisor on how to get to Da Dong.

If you're looking to eat Dim Sum and dumplings, I suggest the famous Taiwanese restaurant Din Tai Fung. It's on level 6 in Shin Kong Place shopping center. Take subway line 1 to Dawanglu station. Shin Kong Place has an connected underground walkway to Dawanglu station.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doofygilmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

The entrance was so classy for a 4 star hotel. When we stepped inside there were still Chinese new year decorations which made the place much more festive and fun. They went all out on the gold decor which would be a sign of spending too much for show while the rooms would be mediocre. That was fortunately not the case. Our room was a twin but the beds weren't single beds, they were single and a half! Way better than western twin shared rooms, since I hardly doubt anyone would opt for smaller beds.

The bathroom was spacious and so useful to especially for girls because they had a scale and many useful toilet amenities. You can keep an eye on your luggage weight too. There was a 2x and 4x mirror to the side and a phone next to the bath. The cleaner was top notch!! She replaced EVERYTHING that we moved so we ended up with 4 bottles of shower gel next to the bathtub and a new one on the basin at the end of our stay. The bathroom floor seemed to be cleaned everyday because our excess hair shedding were not evident around the bathroom.. Our sheets were cleaned everyday even though we placed a don't replace sheets sign. There was also an order for pillows but our pillows were new and super comfortable. One of the best sleep I ever had in a hotel. This almost seems opulent and excessive, but quite to my taste tbh... but if you really want to save the environment stop excessive use of the aircon. We had a working aircon but in winter this is a godsend. It was -7˚c when we stayed over.

The tv was old but most 4 star hotels don't have flat screen tvs anyway. The english channel was useful for news and so were most of the translation menus for ordering room service and such. They had slippers, lots of tea, an iron and the board. The decor was quite new looking not worn at all. We stayed on 4th floor which is auspiciously unlucky but it was a nice stay anyway. We were on a tour so no comment on the surrounding transport. The surrounding shops were alright. If you forget your PJs there is a store close by which sells undies too and a convenience store which has little variety. BUT if you travel about 10min walk there is a KFC and various shopping centres and signs of street hawker food. Hotel location is alright but far from public transport I heard. It is a semi-long taxi ride to places of interest like that famous new shopping street and the old popular one full of delicious hawker food and the vendors who you need to haggle with.

The buffet breakfast was pretty good. You can order bacon and eggs or a bowl of noodles which the chefs will make on the spot. I had no problem with coffee refills except on latter days when I sat far from the restaurant entrance.. The variety is good but boring after a few days. Asian food was cooked much better than the western food (almost obviously). We were ushered sit away from western people because they got forks and knives will we got chopsticks which I found annoying but whatever, fitting in as a local was much better than being treated like a westerner =/

Anyway it was a pleasant stay for a good price. Great for girls and people who want to just feel pampered in a hotel room when outside it is oh so gloomy and freezing. Good for people on tours because it is hard to take public transport. Being chauffeured around is so much easier since this hotel is far from places of interest.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank munro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuppertal, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a group of 17 other German tourists as part of an organised tour. Normally we like to go it alone, so I will write this review as if there was just the two of us.

The hotel is located well into the west of the city. If you are on your own, it is a long way to the metro station (I would guess a kilometer?), but to be honest, taxis are soooo cheap for westerners, that this is the best bet to get to the sights.

Being part of a US chain, I did have certain expectations which were not fulfilled. Consider it a typical Chinese hotel. Firstly, not all reception staff spoke English. Odd. We never had this problem with the other (Chinese) hotels on our tour. However, they do get full marks for finding my Priotrity Club number in the system (after some translating from our chinese tour guide....) since I could not find my card.

The room was spacious, if boringly decorated, and the beds were at least not quite as hard as on the rest of the tour.....we slpet well. Bathroom was fine. Safe was availiable in the room.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic, but the choice offered was good., The staff did seem to have problems with serving tea and coffee. Getting their attention was challenging, and then they would run out so you had to wait.

We did not eat in the restaurant in the evening, and the bar is very, very pricey.

If I was coming to Beijing, I would probably pick something closer in to the city.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dancer62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

i checked in on executive lounge, i was tired that day butt there was a pretty lady who pass me a glass of juice n talk with me in a very fluently english. She kinda surprised me cuz i donnt think tha chinese people are good at talkin too much english as she did. I was happy n when i steped into the room which was decorated in a fasion way also made me an impression. I had a quite good sleep that night.
Next morning i had breakfast on executive lounge, another nice lady of this hotel made me coffee n turned the TV channel specially for me. So sweet n kind.
Thank you for all tha nice ladies on EL! Now i can say i had a great time stayin this hotel with no doubt.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noova147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
Holiday Inn Downtown Beijing
#120 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Beijing South Railway Station
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
Holiday Inn Central Plaza
#82 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#61 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
Holiday Inn Beijing Deshengmen
#108 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#101 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Bajiao Amusement Park
Wanda Realm Beijing
Wanda Realm Beijing
#77 of 6,427 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West

Property: Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West
Address: No.66 Yongding Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100039, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Wanshou Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#60 Business Hotel in Beijing
#75 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#92 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): $103 - $140
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chang An West Beijing is a four star hotel, managed by Intercontinental Hotels Group, which located at the cross-junction of West Chang An Avenue and Yongding Road of Haidian District(downtown area),next to the first line subway and the Armed Police General Hospital.It is a kilometre to West 4 Ring Road, 301 hospital & Wukesong Sports Centre, with easy access to the airport, Beijing West Railway Station, Beijing South Railway Station and other outlying locations(such as Beijing Shooting Range Hall , Happy Water Cube & Laoshan Velodrome).All rooms are equipped with high speed Internet, remote control satellite TV, direct-dial domestic and international telephone service, voice mail, refrigerators and mini bars, among other ameneties. Extensive meeting rooms and banquet facilities cater to a full range of corporate and social events in addition to five meeting rooms of various sizes, a large conference hall and grand ballroom provide ample space for gatherings of up to 300. The comfortable environment & convenient transportation will surely to become your first choice to stay in Beijing.The commitment and effort towards environmental protection have earned Holiday Inn Chang An West Beijing the prestigious Green Globe EarthCheck bronze certification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Beijing Chang An West Hotel Beijing
Beijing Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing