We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make this your Beijing Hutong accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Ranked #8 of 1,363 Beijing B&B and Inns
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Make this your Beijing Hutong accommodation!”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

What a delightful place to stay! We stayed here for four nights with another couple. They stayed in the mixed ensuite dorm and we had a private room so we were able to check out both types of accommodations. They were pleased with how clean the shared bathroom was and the quality of the mattresses, towels and linens. Our private room was the same - VERY comfortable. If you stay here, try to reserve a private room with the bathtub. The tub was so clean that I was able to take an actual bath!

After being in China for 4 months it was nice to sit down to a western breakfast. We liked the honor system for the [strong] coffee and the beer in the communal fridge, as well. All of the staff were happy and eager to assist us. You can tell they enjoy working at FBK. We returned to the hostel in the middle of the kung fu class in the courtyard so we didn't participate, but everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The courtyard was a pleasant space for us to enjoy our bottle(s) of wine at the end of the day and get to meet and relax with other guests.

As a side note, the other guests here were very respectful - especially in the shared dorm rooms. This might be "you get what you pay for"...Fly By Knight is a high-quality hostel and a little more expensive than the norm...but they had high-quality people staying there, as well. Overall, it's an excellent value!

This place is NOT hard to find as long as you follow the directions that the hostel provides when you make your booking. In fact, we enjoyed that this place is a little buried in the hutong. Walking down Dengcao each day provided us the opportunity to experience how the Chinese folks there are living, pick up fruit or a snack, pet the dogs -- and let the local children practice a little of their English with us. It is only about a 10-12 minute walk to the nearest metro station which makes getting anywhere in Beijing fast and convenient (don't even bother trying to get a taxi!).

If you don't like staying in canned, western-style hotels and want a truly authentic experience in a wonderful historic setting and all of the amenities you come to expect from a great hostel/B&B - STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Ask for a private room with the bathtub. Nice bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess012472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    38
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
27
53
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Firstly, there were some nice touches - the emergency phone with SIM card (it comes gratis), the kung-fu classes and the innkeeper's friendly demeanor were what swayed our decision to stay here in the beginning. I am Chinese, and I understand the concept of communal living, but the room we got next to the common area was simply unacceptable - we could hear every creak and groan from the tired premises, along with the passage of guests traipsing about in the compound. What killed it for us was the 'after-sales' service at this establishment. The innkeeper himself was very understanding when we asked for a cancellation but his 'manager' seemed completely disinterested in resolving the situation, choosing to plough through his breakfast while we waited there, cash in hand, to pay the balance and cancellation fee. Granted, if you want the hutong experience and someone to swap stories with, this is a good place. Having been at hostels around the world, I just believe you could expect just that little bit more for the prices being asked here. A looooong way to go.

Room Tip: Don't accept the room next to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uzès, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We've just finish our family holidays in China. We stayed 8 days in Beijing at Fly by knight, and we would never want to be eslewhere!! It is the best place to stay in Beijing if you want to be in a very friendly place, quiet, beautiful old house and courtyard very typical from the hutongs, very very good beds (important), very good location in Beijing as you are in the hutongs, but not the touristics ones , you are in the middle of chinese life, near the tube, near the forbidden city by foot or by bike, good restaurant nearby(n° 9)...We really felt at home there...we were with our children (11 and 17), there is a playstation with lots of games for them...we had great kung Fu classes also...and the owner is just Gorgeous (;-) Daniel)...all the family has love this place...we will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Wonderfully clean rooms in a renovated suheyuan (old Beijing house) with modern, clean bathrooms. The bed was more comfortable than my bed at home.

Amazing service. The guys here work very hard to help you out in every possible way. They even gave us a complimentary mobile phone with credit for the duration of our stay, which made a huge difference.

The location is perfect. Right in the center of Beijing and set amidst Beijing's old hutongs (which are disappearing fast). I had lived in Beijing before, but taking my boyfriend there for the first time I felt being in the hutongs gave him a feel for the Beijing way of life at its best and most distinctive.

Only two cons: the place is hard for taxi drivers to find (as hutong addresses often are). When coming here for the first time have that map in your hand and if there are problems get the taxi driver to call the hotel. Also the step down from the bath is quite high. No problem for me, but I wouldn't recommend it for my grandma.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daftmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Fly by Knight is not only the best hostel I've stayed in, I would even recommend the private rooms here over staying in a hotel. The tranquility and cultural experience of a Hutong (such as Dengcao) is the best option when you will be spending much of the day at bustling tourist sites in the rapidly modernizing city of Beijing, as it allows you to get a break from the action and seemingly go back in the city's history. At the same time, the double private room we stayed in was extremely clean, modern and comfortable. And of course the staff was extremely helpful, with great dining tips, bike rental, and decent breakfast. Overall, a great combination of old Chinese architecture and feel with modern hospitality and amenities.

Room Tip: All private rooms looked nice, the ones closer to the common area can be a bit loud in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,288 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#93 of 6,483 in Beijing
419 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,388 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#78 of 6,483 in Beijing
256 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing

Property: Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing
Address: No. 6 Dengcao Hutong,Dongcheng District, Beijing 100010, China
Region: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 1,363 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price range (per night): $104 - $169
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fly by Knight Courtyard is a beautifully renovated traditional Chinese courtyard house.It provides clean and comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and clean common areas.It is located in the heart of Beijing City, with easy access to public transportation such as the subway (Dong si station) and many major city bus routes. The courtyard is located in Hutong, in one of the most famous government preserved areas. The surrounding houses are all local Beijing residents.We understand how important it is to start your day with a good meal, therefore everyone gets a free set of western breakfast in the morning (bacon, sasuage, hash browns, eggs and toasts)Every staff member in the courtyard is fully trained in helping travellers and they speak both fluent English and Chinese.Fly by Knight Courtyard is a guesthouse founded by a traveler whose passion for martial arts brought him to China to broaden his experience. If you have come to China to study martial arts and need assistance, let us know and we will be more than happy to help. We also provide practice areas and equipment.Fly by Knight Courtyard respects all artists. If you are any type of artist; a martial artist, a painter, a singer, a performer, a poet, a writer,etc, let us know because we would love to exchange your talents for accomodations!This benefit applies to dorm users. Private room users may contact us for more informationFly by Knight Courtyard loves animals; so bring your pets; dogs, cats, polar bears (if you have the right license). just make sure you email us first so we can make preparations for your little guy (or big guy).Fly by Knight Courtyard Believes in traveling eco-friendly. Please bring your own personal hygiene products such as tooth brushes. We don't provide any one-time-use products. We do offer market priced products which, if purchased, please re-use them.Fly by Knight Courtyard provides low prices, but not at any price. We don't offer unfair trade products or food. we pay our taxes and we monitor our quality.Fly by Knight Courtyard offers very low priced international calls, but if you need to call your mommy, we will let you call for free. We know you must miss your mommy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Fly by Knight Courtyard Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing