We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silly name, fabulous hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Ranked #7 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We were looking for somewhere to go for Chinese New Year, and came across this hotel primarily because it was tall. In fact the lowest rooms are on floor 64 in the tallest building in Beijing. But it isn't just about the height...
On checking in we asked for a non smoking king facing west, for a view of Forbidden city. Sadly there were non available and after lots of checking we went for an upgrade to grand room (corner suite) for 350RMB giving us views both south and west. The room and views were pretty special (a rare low smog day), you can even have a bath and look out over the city.
We looked at the restaurants in the hotel for food and they were prohibitively expensive, fortunately room service was more reasonable. In the residents lounge on the 64th floor there is also some complimentary drinks and nibbles - a nice touch.
Since it was a family break, we made use of the pool with our daughter which was also amazing - intinity pool overlooking the city.
Finally, breakfast was also outstanding (and again fairly expensive) with a selection of freshly prepared hot items as well as the usual pastries and Chinese fare.
All in all this hotel is pretty expensive but it really is something special. They should definitely change the name though, to properly distinguish it from China World hotel, which is not even in the same building.

Room Tip: Get a view west or north for best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbob_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 291 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2012

I think this hotel really gives you a good feeling while beeing in one of the most conflicting (old and modern) and growing cities of Asia. It`s a quiet place, but still perfectly situated. I went there twice till now and enjoyed the views from the room and especially from the Atmosphere Bar on Level 80. This place is unbelievable. I found the price reasonable enough to go twice. Unfortunately I haven`t tried the Restaurants yet. The staff was nice and the rooms were the best you can expect in a Shangri-La Hotel, def. much better than in Kowloon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The rooms are excellent, even the smallest ones are well appointed with a large bath and rain shower. The bed was very comfortable and the details in general were well thought out - electrical outlets that don't require adapters, easy access to lights, automatic curtains, TV that easily accepts Aux input from my iPad, Nespresso machine, lots of bottled water even for the tea kettle, iPod dock that is new enough to charge the iPhone 4S. Service was friendly although the English isn't up to standard and there were some delays and difficulties with Checkin. Breakfast spread was excellent. Dual lift lobby system was a little annoying. Free wireless internet everywhere. Lobby was a bit difficult to find for taxi drivers, not many knew where the main entrance to the hotel was although they all knew the office entrance (Guo Mao San Qi in Pinyin)

Room Tip: XX09 series rooms have great morning sun and unblocked views of the CCTV complex and the Eastern par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I stayed here a few nights on a business trip. The stay started off well enough with hotel pickup arranged from the airport. Upon arrival the staff escorted me to my room to check me in but strangely the welcome note in the room was written in Korean simply as the staff assumed I was one based on my surname!

The stay and facilities were all great but one of the mornings when I got down to breakfast the dining room was full and I had to use the lounge a floor up which had a limited spread. My stay would have otherwise been memorable if not for the departure when the hotel lost my transfer booking to the airport and the room rates promised by our organizer was not quite accurate. I left in a rather annoyed state due to the mix up which is why I would avoid this hotel in future.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha_Skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Hmmm... Where to start about this place. I've stayed at the old China World many times over the past decade and generally liked it. I've moved on to bigger and better things, but wanted to give Summit Wing a try.

Service was generally up to the old China World standard, but maybe not quite as good. A couple of nits - they were unable to print my presentation at the business center due to technical issues and my room was not cleaned as promptly as I would have liked. Also, I think they messed up a lunch reservation at the China World Summer Palace, but it wasn't a big issue.

The location is pretty much second to none for business travelers, right in the heart of CBD.

The rooms are large and fairly nice. They are all up pretty high 70s to 80s I think). It is surprising looking down at the Park Hyatt across Jainguomen Wai, which is pretty high itself. Beijing is so polluted, though, that the view didn't add a lot other than that initial impression.

Had breakfast upstairs and that was good, but not great value. The service was also a bit lacking (they were slow and not very good at explaining what was on offer).

The bar at night was kind of a local nouveau riche scene, a lot of bling, but not much sophistication. I think that is an apt metaphor for the hotel at large. It is expensive and outwardly high end, but won't impress a truly discerning traveller.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donggei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,177 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,568 in Beijing
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#3 of 6,568 in Beijing
819 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#8 of 6,568 in Beijing
621 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing

Address: No.1 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District | Upper Floors of China World Tower , Starting From 64/F, Beijing 100004, China
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Beijing
#4 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#7 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#21 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#26 Family Hotel in Beijing
#155 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $340 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
China World Summit Wing, Beijing comprises 278 guest rooms and suites, four designer restaurants, two bars and a lounge. Accommodations with guest room sizes averaging 65 square metres are the most spacious in the city. Rooms and suites come with double basins and connecting room or adjacent room options. The hotel also houses the city's highest spa retreat with CHI, The Spa - Shangri-La's signature spa brand - on level 77. Most of the city's attractions, such as the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, are within a 15-minute drive. All in-house guests have access to Resident's Foyer on level 64, with complimentary fruits, snacks coffee, tea, soft drinks served throughout the day, 2 hours use of meeting room per room per day and Happy Hour from 6pm to 8pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China World Summit Wing Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing