We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
tsqare
Booked Happy Dragon - Moved to Chinese Hotel :(
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Dec 2012
I can not actually comment on the rooms or the service in this hostel as both times i have booked it, they have moved me at time of check-in to a Chinese hostel around the corner. The Chinese hotel is mouldy, hot and noisy. The second time this happened there were 3 other guests being moved as well. Food in the restaurant was decent. The owner said they list all rooms for both hotels on websites as available. So you are not guaranteed this hotel.
Date of stay: July 2012Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
2.7 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Lobby
0.8 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
外景。
1.4 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
1.2 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
guestroom
2.9 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
酒店大堂 Hotel Lobby
0.8 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Pool
Restaurant
IMG
0.9 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
中餐厅
4.9 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
M Suite
4.0 km from Happy Dragon Hostel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Beijing
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
85
141
84
23
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
141
84
23
20
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2012

overall: good value, good location, friendly people, but i also felt like they were trying to cheat us a little bit whenever they thought we wouldn't notice. i might go back, i might not.
the room was clean and good enough. the "double" bed was two single beds pushed together, but that's not a big deal.
pretty good english ability.
the heater was difficult b/c the remote control was in Chinese, but once we got it working the room was nice and warm.
bike rental was great.
good location - can walk to Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, close to a grocery store, close to a metro line, right next door to a bottle shop for beer, water, tea, etc.
the tour to Mutianyu Great Wall was quite good, but maybe the price was a little bit high, considering there wasn't really any guiding on the wall. but it's better to be set free to wander rather than having to all go in one huge, slow group. i think we might have been able to hire a private driver for the same price, to get us around a little faster. but it certainly was convenient and the bus ride was mostly comfortable.
the problems:
20 RMB for a mug of beer. a little pricy, even for Beijing, i felt.
they didn't heed the "Do Not Disturb" sign. they apparently barged in on my girlfriend even though the sign was on the door. (i was out at the time.) once i insisted to the front desk that we didn't want any service, they complied.
they advertised "Free Barbecue Friday Nights" but the friday we were there, they just happened to not be serving it. they didn't give any explanation, except "not this week." it makes me suspicious that they offer this to get customers, but never actually provide the perk.
a really minor point: when they entered the room to clean - against our wishes - they took the empty beer bottles, which are each worth a little bit of money. not enough to get mad about, but it did annoy me, since we had asked for no service w/ the Do Not Disturb sign. i know, nit-picky, but there it is.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishIWasAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Welcome to the Happy Dragon Hostel, is the warm welcome you get when you arrive, and after as well great help from the staff, they are fantastic any info, directions, place to visit, just ask and you get a smile with the answer. I cannot remember all name of the girls but Anna is there to help.The dorms are great with sharing a room you sharing the bathroom as well. The bathroom is situated in the room. The bed is made every days, everything is clean. The restaurant has western food as well as Chinese food. The bar has numerous drinks with or without alcohol. WiFi is free, and if you don't have computer there is 3 available for you for a minimum cost. Very friendly atmosphere. Happy Dragon is the place to stay.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gheefrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2012

If you are looking for just a room whilst in Beijing, this hostel is more then adequate, however we had a couple of issues:

Firstly, the hostel is located near the metro which is a 5 min walk. This is good to get around Beijing and close to tourist attractions such as tienanmen square etc.

The staff were friendly and we got a free water on arrival which was a nice touch.

Our room was a bit dated and located facing the street which was noisy at night.

The hostel had Internet in the lobby however you had to pay for it and the computers were super slow (almost took 5 mins to load up a page). The wifi did not work upstairs and was very temperamental in the lobby).

A few nights a week the bar has a free BBQ which was good and overall slow service in the bar when ordering food (however food was good when it did come).

The hostel has a laundry service, however this is priced by the kg. the staff said our bags weighed 5.5ks and we had to pay over £8. There is no way our clothes would have been over 1 load. When we got our clothes back, they were just thrown into a plastic bag and half the clothes were wet. *be aware if wanting to do Laundry here.

Our beds were rock hard which didn't help when sleeping. Don't get me wrong, if you don't mind a bit of roughness, then this hostel is fine.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonlad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This hostal was exactly what I was looking for, affordable and clean, as well as a great group of people staying at the hostal, which can't always be the case but speaks well of the general atmosphere. Appreciated the curtains, on the beds, great tour of the great wall, i believe there are cheaper tour options, but the convenience was appreciated, difficult to find from the airport, but not impossible in a taxi, staff was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2012

At 1st the location quite hard to find, even though already asked the hotel staff to explain the detail to cab driver.

1st impression from outside, kind of scary, looked kind of spooky, but it became more friendly each day. I stayed in 8602 on 2nd floor. Room was very compact, but very clean. My clean standard quite high, but this place meet my expectation. Stayed here for 4 nights.

There is TV in the room, but no english channel. Wifi worked well in the room. Air Con and water heater also worked just fine.

Staff are friendly and almost all of them can speak english. They are willing to help the best they can give. Every Monday and Friday they had BBQ night, tried it once and it was great and quite fun. Another things attract me are the quotes, message from the guest present in their wall, and international currency wall at the bar.

This place also provide 1 day Great Wall tour for 260 yuan, include breakfast, lunch and english speaking guide.

Location is great, 5 min to Dongsi subway, and just spend 2 yuan we can go anywhere in the city. Just an advise, prefer to use subway, Beijing traffic quite bad and all the taxi driver cannot speak english and tend to reject non chinese speaking passenger, espacially if you mis-spelled your destination.

Took 50 minutes cab drive from the hostel to the airport, cost around 80 yuan.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cath1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews