We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting hutong expirience”
Review of Michael's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Michael's House
Ranked #41 of 6,516 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“interesting hutong expirience”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Michael is doing his best to use TripAdvisor ratings as his main sales channel, as many other hotels worldwide are trying to these days. We trusted the reviews as well, and it was our first China expirience. It is small and cozy hotel with frendly international atmosphere, and would recommend it as a interesting hutong expirience and probbably would return there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kopalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    142
    29
    3
    3
See reviews for
126
213
68
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed for a week in February 2012, visiting student son studying at BNU. We were told that Beijing would be cold in February - and it was - and we were tourists, spending large chunks of time outside getting cold. Michael's House was a complete delight as it was warm, spacious, friendly, close to son's apartment, wi-fi connected and did everything we wanted at a reasonable price. The location (down a side street in an unremarkable part of Beijing) is not promising, but it feels authentic. It is a 10 minute walk to the underground, and close enough to the centre to be able to walk to the Forbidden City (even in sub-zero temperatures and taking short-cuts across the frozen lakes). Go for it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nogbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and wish we'd stayed on our second visit to Beijing - but there wasn't availability.

We wanted to stay in traditional type accommodation, and this place delivered.

The service was excellent! Our flight was delayed an hour, and we arrived at the hotel about 2am - and the staff were still there waiting for our arrival! They also went out of their way to help us book flights to Shanghai. They spoke English really well, which was helpful. We were also impressed by their local knowledge - they knew the area and things to do - giving us helpful tips for sightseeing. Other hotels we stayed at, the staff knew nothing about the area (places to eat, ATMs etc). The day we left they got up early to see us off, and booked us a taxi which was waiting for us when we were ready to go. At Michael's house, nothing was too much trouble.

The breakfast each day was pretty good - some fruit, toast, biscuits and some hot food.

The subway was close enough, about a 10 minute walk away. Best to get the subway during peak hours, getting a taxi was very hard competing with workers.

We stayed in the most basic of rooms (bathroom a bit dated) - but it was clean, quiet and comfortable. I was expecting a hard uncomfortable bed (as per most China hotels) but the bed was quite comfortable.

This place was a haven after sightseeing all day. Can't recommend highly enough - especially compared to other places we stayed in China.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Belushi-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is very cozy and the location is in a neighborhood that allows you to see the local culture. The information provided by the hotel reps (Specially Amy who is very professional and knowledgeable) is the best of all. They are always willing to help and give you excellent tips to navigate the city. The hotel provide tours at a very fair price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank None19777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

After a rocky start to the holiday (mistake with our booking meant for some first night issues with getting into our room), Michael's House did everything to make our stay memorable. Our room was gorgeous and full of character, the staff were so friendly and helpful (cleaning baby's bottles, drawing us maps of where we wanted to visit etc). Michael personally stepped in to help sort out the issues we had had in the first night and was generous in making up for the problems we had encountered. It felt like a home away from home and I would highly recommend it for anyone travelling to Beijing who would like to stay in a more personal and characterful environment than most hotels can offer. Agree breakfasts could have been a bit more varied but they were fine. Was also pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to walk to the beautiful lakes nearby.

Room Tip: Emperor's suite was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#95 of 6,516 in Beijing
422 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#78 of 6,516 in Beijing
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,144 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,516 in Beijing
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Michael's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael's House

Property: Michael's House
Address: South Yard No.1 Zhiqiang North Garden, Haidian District, Beijing 100088, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#13 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#35 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): $97 - $184
Hotel Class:3 star — Michael's House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
enjoying a convenient location,the hotel offers you traditional ambiance and modern facilities with guestrooms to suit all budgets.decorated with a variety of main colours, all rooms have individual styles.enjoy the afternoon tea with your friends under the glass roof and feel as if you are going back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Michael's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Michael`s House Hotel Beijing
Michaels Hotel Beijing
Beijing Michaels Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing