We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Stay for Large Group” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai
Ranked #472 of 6,435 Hotels in Beijing
Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Average Stay for Large Group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a group of 24 that stayed in this hotel over the course of two weeks. The purpose of our trip was to conduct English camps so we were not looking for superb lodging accommodations. Therefore, our expectations were somewhat lower going into this trip of what to expect at the hotel. Here is the good and ugly of our stay...

The Good:

1. Our reservation was negotiated and confirmed five months in advance. Kathy Yang was wonderful to work with and when we arrived our reservations were correct.
2. The hotel has multiple elevators which make it easier to get to and get from the rooms.
3. The hotel has a restaurant (breakfast primarily) located on the fourth floor. The breakfast was adequate and far from spectacular. Rice, fresh fruit, cereal, and fried eggs. One juice was offered each day and the milk is always warm (yuk!) for your cereal.
4. The rooms were clean and no-nonsense. We did not have any significant problems and this is with 10 rooms per night over two weeks.
5. The hotel gave each room two bottled waters per day at no extra charge.
6. The lobby was bright and clean with at least three areas to sit with family and friends.
7. The employees were friendly and willing to help. At least one person could speak English at the front desk.
8. The hotel has a washer and dryer on two different floors. It cost at least $5 to do a load of laundry. Tokens are purchased at the front desk.
9. We had 22 large trunks for supplies. The hotel stored the trunks for us in the lobby which was a help!
10. We stayed in rooms that were in the upper floors and therefore had beautiful views of the city around us.
Bonus - The Internet is free!

The Ugly:
1. The hotel does not exchange money. This makes no sense! You have to walk across the street and wait in a very long line at the Bank of China.
2. If you do not like smoking, hold your breath in the lobby. There was always someone smoking and it was quite annoying; especially for those with asthma problems in our group.
3. The restaurant is dirty. Although the breakfast was acceptable, the restaurant could not receive an "A" in America. There were numerous examples we could give just know that there are better alternatives.
4. There was only one person that could speak English and if that person was busy you had to wait until they were available. No one else could speak very good English.
5. The taxi situation is deplorable! The hotel will not call a taxi for you. They tell you to go to the street (50 yards away). One evening I had a meeting I had to attend. It was pouring the rain and I asked the clerk at the front desk to call a taxi. They refused twice and told me to go to the street. I did and stood in the driving rain for 25 minutes. I was completely soaked and furious with the hotel. There was no call for this as they could have easily called a taxi. The taxi drivers do not like to come to the hotel because they have to go through a security gate. (Side note: a sweet older lady saw me standing at the street in the rain and brought me an umbrella - she was adorable).

General Information:
1. There is a Burger King and Seven Eleven attached to this hotel building. Both are very convenient as we utilized both.
2. There is a McDonalds, Pizza Hut, KFC, Starbucks, and Cold Stone Creamery within easy walking distance. We used all of the above at least once during our stay.
3. There is a Wal Mart within easy walking distance of the hotel.
4. There are two banks across the street that will exchange US dollars for RMB. The exchange rate in July 2011 was 6.369 at the Bank of China.
5. A small mall is attached to the hotel with different items. It is good for walking but not so much for purchasing anything of significance.
6. This hotel is just 15 minutes from the airport.
7. You would NEVER stay at this hotel if you were going to Beijing for sightseeing. It is not close to anything and with the taxi/bus situation, everything has to be done at the street level.
8. You would only stay at this hotel if you had business to handle specific to this geographic location. There are much, much better alternatives.
9. There is not a pool.
10. There is not a work out facility.

If you do need to stay at this hotel, make your reservations with Kathy Yang in sales. She will give you a better rate than the Internet.

Room Tip: Be a Priority Club member to stay on one of the better floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    68
    27
    12
    5
See reviews for
7
5
13
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

This is first and foremost a holiday inn express, so only the basic amenities are at the hotel. However, what it does have it does quite well. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in Beijing for a few days and need to get around this area.

Pros:
- Nice rooms, very clean, modern. Everything looks new.
- Comfortable beds
- Hotel is well located, close to tech park and lots of restaurants and stores
- Free internet
- Free breakfast

Cons:
- No ironing board in room
- Breakfast gets repetitive after two weeks!
- Internet can be slow
- Staff does not speak English very well
- A/C can be tricky to get to the right temperature

Room Tip: Corner rooms have an extra nook area and are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfbibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I stayed in this hotel (Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai) for 3 nights with the group of 62 people. One room for 2 pax, spacious enough, clean, and really comfy. Each room has flatscreen tv (though didn't use it), a comfortable sofa, mini fridge (some of us didn't have it in their room) and some electrical plugs with different holes. So if you forget to bring the universal adaptor, no need to worry.

The bathroom wall is made from tempered glass but not quite transparent. There's a hair dryer in every room too. Some rooms has only shower, others have bath-tub and shower.

One of the greatest thing I found in this hotel is the laundromat. Located in the 5th floor and 10th floor, the self-service laundry room is equipped with a washing machine, a drying machine, an iron, a table, and 2 sinks if you need to hand-wash delicate clothes. Don't bother to buy the washing powder, it's provided on the room. The softener liquid is also available. For each washing and drying you'll need a token (coin) which can be purchased on the reception desk for 20 Yuan. Washing (20) + Drying (20) = 40 Yuan. Washing needs 30 minutes, drying needs 30 minutes. I did the laundry on the last day of my stay, so I packed clean clothes on my backpack. Perfect if you have to continue your journey.

Another plus point is a next door Burger King open 24 hours, 7eleven convenience store, and Carrefour hypermarket (closed on 22:00).

However, almost none of the guys on the front desk can speak English. There's a free wifi connection in every room, however I couldn't manage to connect. I didn't need to use it for work so I didn't mind. Breakfast is just standard but okay, better have one on McDonald's or Burger King, I think.

Overall, this hotel is a really good value for money. Everything you need is there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lundia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

My husband and me stayed 5 nights in the hotel.It is very clean,comfortable,safety and new fashioned.The wardrobe is not big. The location is good.It is near to shoppig malls.The staff is helpful.But their English is not well.Also the hotel has a seafood restaurant on the 4th floor.If you want to try Chinese food, you should eat there!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
602 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

My second stay at this hotel so I had some idea of where I was going (about 20-25 minutes from the airport). My taxi driver did not know the roads and had to ring on his mobile when we got to Wangjing, still took him a bit of searching and asking some local folk.

This time, I did not notice the noise of other guests but that could be simply because I was so tired. Breakfast seemed much better than last October but, again, I might be deluded. If you need a taxi the next day, it's worth asking at reception for one to be booked. The bedroom seemed much as last year and it was good to have the free wifi - becoming ubiquitous at so many hotels now.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Wangjing
Asian Games Village
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Minzuyuan
Wangjing
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
#92 of 6,435 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Capital International Airport
CITIC Hotel Beijing Airport
CITIC Hotel Beijing Airport
#687 of 6,435 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Wangjing
Kuntai Hotel
Kuntai Hotel
#642 of 6,435 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai

Property: Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai
Address: No.16 Guangshun North Main Street, Wangjing Chaoyang District, Beijing 100102, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Wangjing
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#268 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price range (per night): $72 - $136
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Guangshun is located at Wangjing High Technical Industrial Zone. Enclose the hotel with the famous Top World 500 companies such as Motorola, Benz, Agilent, Ericsson, and Siemens. WangJing International Commercial Centre, Jiamao Shopping Mall, Hualian Plaza, IKEA and local entertainment. Adjoining 5th North Ring Road and variety Public Bus choices as well as Subway line No.13. All of these has created very convenience transportation condition for the hotel surrounding area. business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Wotif.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Huacai Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing