We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service, Good Location, Dirty Room”
Review of Profit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Profit Hotel
Ranked #3,434 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel has different versions of English name, here in TripAdvisor it is Profit Hotel, but in some App it is Perfect Nostalgia Hotel.

Arrived after 2am, woke the front desk girl up to check in & was greeted in a friendly manner. Didn't have to pay extra deposit like some hotels in China.

The carpet on the walkway stinks. The carpet was uneven & I tripped, there was no warning sign/ strip.

The room was smaller than expected, one side of the queen size bed was against the wall. The shower room was of acceptable size though.

Water pressure was good for the shower, toilet flush worked well. Water heater worked well too.

There were 2 old comics booklets for bedtime reading, which was a nice touch.

There was no closet, just hooks & 2 hangers for hanging clothes. The room had foul smell, the shower gel container had a strain of hair on it! The shampoo was of rubbish quality.

There was a kettle in the room but no teabag, no tea leaves & of course no coffee.

Hair dryer was provided in the room & it worked well. 2 pairs of rubber slippers were provided, which were useful for taking shower & walking around the tiny room.

There was a cute little cafe serving decent espresso, inexpensive (relatively, when compared to other coffee places in Beijing), located about 100 metres from the hotel (on the right hand side when facing the hotel), it is a corner shop, just before the Baochao alley.

Anyway we moved to another hotel after the first 2 nights here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TyngPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here first before in 2008 then in 2010 my how it's gone down since our first visit after staying in 2010 I would have recommended it to my best friend it was that good,everything appeared to be new.
But how it's deteriorated,the sad part is no one has spent a penny on it since day one.
The only good things to say really (and I don't like to be unkind)
As the staff are good but none English speaking,I was with my wife (chinese national) so I got the best rates 23 quid a night and an interpreter.
which considering it's within spitting distance of the drum tower on one of best spots in Beijing with traditional eateries everywhere close by and the lakes and gifts shops top tourist spots night spots with live music for the younger among our fellow travelers etc .
if you don't mind the dust flaky plaster the smell dirty showers toilets that block at the sight of the smallest "jobby" lack of soap shower gel and the like, although I must say that the sheets and towels were clean every day .
The view of the drum tower was great from our room 3rd floor.
I Would really only recommend it for the adventurous out there backpackers and the like definitely not for western families unless your really brave.the average punter would not have the same nostalgic look as we have as we visited the place in 2008
When it was in better shape it must have been done up for the Olympic wave of foreign guests.
All said and done I have stayed in worse hotels way back in 2008 ,although in 2010 I stayed in a great little hotel for a fiver a night stayed a month I liked it so much just outside Shanghai though.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank oliver135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The most stinky and dirty place I've ever visited. The bathroom was so small that you could sit on the toilet while taking a shower, the duvet was stained, the floor blanketed with rubbish and dust. The owner didn't speak English and he was impudent! I 've taken photos of my room. I'll try to upload them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Do not stay here - they will try every trick in the book to get more money out of you! We booked online and paid for our room in full prior to our arrival at the Beijing Perfect Inn (not so perfect). On our arrival at 2am, we were greeted by the receptionist who informed us using Google Translate (as we don't speak much Chinese) that we had not yet paid for the room. We argued that we had indeed paid for the room and after much conversation he informed us that we were still required to pay extra public holiday fees. Given the fact that we had paid up front and that it wasn't a public holiday we graciously declined the offer. After further negotiation, the receptionist then tried to request a cash deposit before he would agree to give us the key to our room. Again, we declined as we did not feel as though we could trust this particular gentleman, and entered into another lengthy discussion. At 4am he reluctantly gave up and allowed us into our room to get some much needed sleep.

Our room was small and scruffy and had a very bad smell coming from the toilet/shower room that did not vanish for the entirety of our stay. The only way to make a stay here remotely tolerable was to spend as much time as possible outside of it's premises.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingmirando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed in a discount-room on the 3rd floor and - after some negative reviews here on tripadvisor - I was surprised about the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. Wall paint crumbles at some places which is in cheap hotels nothing exceptional. The bed was ok. Staff was friendly. Location excellent.

Don't book tours to the Great Wall in this hotel! They bring you to silk-, jadefactories, teashops, footmassage, but only for 90 min. to the Great Wall!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in the 3rd floor with good view of the Drumtower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,193 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Profit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Profit Hotel

Address: No.281 Gulou East Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Nanluogu Alley)
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,434 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Profit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new design three star boutique hotel (opening 2nd April 2008) located at Beijing Gulou Dong Dajie and just three minutes from the Drum Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Profit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Perfect Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing