We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
7
15
20
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
15
20
14
12
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here first before in 2008 then in 2010 my how it's gone down since our first visit after staying in 2010 I would have recommended it to my best friend it was that good,everything appeared to be new.
But how it's deteriorated,the sad part is no one has spent a penny on it since day one.
The only good things to say really (and I don't like to be unkind)
As the staff are good but none English speaking,I was with my wife (chinese national) so I got the best rates 23 quid a night and an interpreter.
which considering it's within spitting distance of the drum tower on one of best spots in Beijing with traditional eateries everywhere close by and the lakes and gifts shops top tourist spots night spots with live music for the younger among our fellow travelers etc .
if you don't mind the dust flaky plaster the smell dirty showers toilets that block at the sight of the smallest "jobby" lack of soap shower gel and the like, although I must say that the sheets and towels were clean every day .
The view of the drum tower was great from our room 3rd floor.
I Would really only recommend it for the adventurous out there backpackers and the like definitely not for western families unless your really brave.the average punter would not have the same nostalgic look as we have as we visited the place in 2008
When it was in better shape it must have been done up for the Olympic wave of foreign guests.
All said and done I have stayed in worse hotels way back in 2008 ,although in 2010 I stayed in a great little hotel for a fiver a night stayed a month I liked it so much just outside Shanghai though.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank oliver135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The most stinky and dirty place I've ever visited. The bathroom was so small that you could sit on the toilet while taking a shower, the duvet was stained, the floor blanketed with rubbish and dust. The owner didn't speak English and he was impudent! I 've taken photos of my room. I'll try to upload them.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sonia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Do not stay here - they will try every trick in the book to get more money out of you! We booked online and paid for our room in full prior to our arrival at the Beijing Perfect Inn (not so perfect). On our arrival at 2am, we were greeted by the receptionist who informed us using Google Translate (as we don't speak much Chinese) that we had not yet paid for the room. We argued that we had indeed paid for the room and after much conversation he informed us that we were still required to pay extra public holiday fees. Given the fact that we had paid up front and that it wasn't a public holiday we graciously declined the offer. After further negotiation, the receptionist then tried to request a cash deposit before he would agree to give us the key to our room. Again, we declined as we did not feel as though we could trust this particular gentleman, and entered into another lengthy discussion. At 4am he reluctantly gave up and allowed us into our room to get some much needed sleep.

Our room was small and scruffy and had a very bad smell coming from the toilet/shower room that did not vanish for the entirety of our stay. The only way to make a stay here remotely tolerable was to spend as much time as possible outside of it's premises.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingmirando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I stayed in a discount-room on the 3rd floor and - after some negative reviews here on tripadvisor - I was surprised about the cleanliness of the room and the bathroom. Wall paint crumbles at some places which is in cheap hotels nothing exceptional. The bed was ok. Staff was friendly. Location excellent.

Don't book tours to the Great Wall in this hotel! They bring you to silk-, jadefactories, teashops, footmassage, but only for 90 min. to the Great Wall!

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in the 3rd floor with good view of the Drumtower.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This is a cheap hotel considering its loaction right next to the drum tower and only 15 minutes away on foot from the forbidden city. If you want a fancier hotel this close to the center of Beijing, be prepared to pay a lot more. However, this place is not bad. The beds are okay, and the staff very friendly. Breakfast is just a slice of toast and some coffee but there are several restaurants nearby that will serve you soup etc. for just a few yuan. The first night we stayed in a room with a broken AC, and the staff was ever so apologetic. If you are just looking for a place to crash close to the center, this will do.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westcoast8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews