We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant Surprise!!!!!!!Disappointment!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Starway Sunjoy Hotel
Ranked #3,395 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 11 November 2016

We stayed in this hotel two years ago, so I wanted to do it again. I went on their web site and made a reservation for 5 days. I got confirmation email back with prices, including sales tax and such, which we had to pay upon arrival. When we finally got there, we were unpleasantly surprised and greeted with prices far more higher than the one we were ALREADY CONFIRM FOR, even though we had a printout of their email with everything. They said it was a mistake of some sort and it was not them who sent it... I am underlining it was an email with their address, phone numbers and everything. They didn't even bother to apologize. Of course, and quite naturally - we didn't go for this blackmail and ripoff... PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU BOOK WITH "SUNJOY HOTEL" in Peking!!!!!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank marija p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2016

Positives? Great location for the really cheap price.
Negatives? Not much English spoken so many misunderstanding results from staff that looks like they just arrived from the province. No knowledge or training of Western ways in running a hotel. If you shower and sleep, this is a great hotel. Nice place to save money for transients since there are good restaurants around the area and it is just a block away from Jiangoumen subway station. No frills hotel.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms first then make your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hungry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of my room. I was expecting a small room but was provided a largish room with a sofa.
The staff is pleasant and can hadle simple transactions in English (e.g., calling for a taxi but do not ask them about more complicated matters such as good local places to eat or get a massage).
The breakfast is pretty basic and if you don't like Chinese themed food, then you are plumb out of luck!
The bed is hard by western standards.
The shower is great.
The location is pretty good.
There is a spa next door (Taipan) but seems a bit expensive and not terribly popular.
WiFi never worked for me.
Better ask for a non-smoking room (the 5th floor appears to be dedicated for that).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Modest hotel near Ritan Park, in a very quiet part of town where most embassies located.We've booked for what is near Yabaolu center and Silk market.Nearby there is a metro station (metro number 2)It is a circular line and very easy to navigate and a transfer to other metro.We did not spend much time in the room(just come to sleep),rooms are small, but all you need they have,and the price was ok. In room has a small fridge and electric kettle for coffee .In the price of the room includes breakfast,which in my opinion is very modest and not very yummy.On reception only one of staff spoke English.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marija p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

The hotel is conveniently located near the Embassy Offices, near almost all necessary services one might require.

Services are adequate, hotel amenities are available. Very limited selection in the breakfast (I chose the package sans breakfast) spread. But being near other restaurants and fast food places would make up for the limited fare.

The washroom is clean; but I had to ask to be relocated because of the smell coming out of the bathroom. The next room still smelled slightly, but acceptable under the circumstances.

Amenities are quite limited; many items one would expect to come with the room actually had to be paid for. Unfortunately, one would only notice that it had to be paid for separately after one rips the packaging - my bad, certainly and I paid the price - but still stretches "responsible" service.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 134Holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Tailaoshan International Business Hotel
Tailaoshan International Busines...
#3,555 of 6,565 in Beijing
60 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#101 of 6,565 in Beijing
247 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ritan International Hotel
Ritan International Hotel
#158 of 6,565 in Beijing
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Ibis Hotel Beijing Jian'guomen
Ibis Hotel Beijing Jian'guomen
#1,595 of 6,565 in Beijing
98 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#65 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,679 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
The St. Regis Beijing
The St. Regis Beijing
#37 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starway Sunjoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Sunjoy Hotel

Address: No.6 Ritan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,395 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $66 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Sunjoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Starway Sunjoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing