We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,227)
Filter reviews
1,227 results
Traveller rating
909
267
36
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
909
267
36
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club tent standard tents organic garden dik dik indian food mosquito net electric fence hardwood floors buffet style gift shop sekenani gate turn down service wonderful stay a hot water bottle lunch and dinner restaurant staff the reserve
Filter
Updating list...
991 - 996 of 1,227 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2010

the tented accomadation was great we saw a giraffe right near our tent food was great especially for indian veg food

Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
Thank dinram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This is a great hotel, we stayed there 2 nights during our honeymoon and we loved all of it, since we arrived till we said goodbye. They gave us a special tent, with a really nice and big bed, very confortable. The walk to the tent was special, because we always saw some diferent animals on the way, dik dik antilopes, mangoose, birds, really nice. The food was also very good and staff was very friendly too.
We recomend it!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acromio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

This June i made my second trip to Kenya and it was special because it was also my first anniversary. We had kept two nights and three days for our stay in Mara and as advised by people went in for Sarova Mara Game Camp.
The ultimate part of the experience was we were taken in a four seater flight from Nairobi to the Kikorok air strip. Once we landed int the kikorok strip, edward from Sarova Mara was waiting for us. He mentioned that he is going to be our guide for the entire trip and he would also take care of our game drives. We appreciated this as one point of contact is always better to get better service.
One thing to mention is entirely through the trip all the people in Sarova Camp used to greet us whenever we see them...Gives a calming feeling

Once we entered the camp the check in process took some time but in the meanwhile we had lunch in the camp. The food is awesome...It has a variety of cuisines, amazing desserts, live counters and above all being Indian enjoyed the Indian food in the menu. We were told that the owner is a Sikh and also because of the clientele there is lot of Indians who frequent this place.

The tent which was allotted to us was good and the bed linen was neat. Eventhough we had issues because of the mosquitoes when the generators were switched off in the midnight , we were enjoyin it as it ws part of the gaming experience.

We did one game drive in the evening where we managed to sight a pack of lions and a huge game drive the next day where we went into Kenya/Tanzania border. Our guide Edward was very informed and told us a lot about the place as well as the name of all the birds which we sighted.

We had a bush breakfast the last day and it was quite an experience. All in All Sarova Mara facility is surely a 5 star facility and the service which was provided to us was good.

Probably the pricing of few of the drinks and even water can be looked at, but we are not complaining as that comes as part of the experience. Not to mention the sarova people got a cake on our wed anniversary and wishes us with the Kenyan national song.

If given a chance i would surely visit Sarova Mara again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelarounddaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Rooms: 51 standard, 2 family and 20 superior. The standard rooms are a typical canvas tent with zip door. Very clean, spacious and in tranquil surroundings. The same can be said of the club tents. However, club tents have superior furnishings, very large and stylish en-suite facilities, hairdryer, bath robes, slippers tea and coffee making facilities and a mini bar. They also have lockable wooden and glass doors which lead onto a decking area with relaxing furnishings.

Restaurant: large dining area, including outside dining area. A large selection of food including good choice from the “live” station. Served in chaffing dishes which are kept replenished. Typical costs are Tusker 300/kes and soda 200/kes.

Facilities: there is a huge range of facilities at the Sarova including massage therapies, balloon flights, nature walks, bush dining, Masai cultural dancing and talks. The evening entertainment is very good with music, dancing, acrobatics etc. The entertainment for children is very good with quizzes and this includes fun around the pool during the day. The pool is a very good size with areas both in and out of the shade. There is a very well equipped business centre within the reception area. Laundry facilities available.

There is a large conference room which has beautiful surroundings and overlooks the lake. Wedding parties are held here and a nice touch is the signing of the papers on the quaint bridge over the lake. Weddings are a specialty at the lodge and all wedding parties enjoy tranquil settings and full Masai escort.

The lodge: this lodge has lots to offer guests, the rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and welcoming. An all round lovely experience – the peace and quiet of the tents is very welcome but don't be surprised to be woken up by nature!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MinMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Masai Mara was the destination that we had a lot of expectations in our entire Kenya trip and to a large extent it stayed upto it. The game drives were the most amazing ones and the camp too was charming. We like the staff, who were friendly & courteous in spite of the big crowd. Lot of people & that too during low season. Food spread is good with lot of variety and tents are comfortable - well spread out, giving sort of isolated feel. Gives you the feel of staying in the jungle. We loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloretravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews