We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,090)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
727
289
55
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
727
289
55
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo breakfast game drives rooms are small the river hippo pool rock hyrax hill top hill overlooking small hill the reserve sitting area reception area champagne breakfast lunch and dinner migration season mosquito net cape buffalo
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The first thing that struck me from the moment we arrived at the Mara Serena Lodge was the view. There is a spectacular view of the Maasai Mara from every room! We saw giraffes, warthogs and various ungulates just by gazing out from the balcony. The sunrises in the mornings were absolutely breathtaking. My group also enjoyed the bonfire that was built near the main lodge in the evenings, perfect for enjoying a few drinks and listening to the hotel's guitar player. The beds were comfortable and the food was pleasing towards most palettes.I would like to go back and try the hot air balloon ride safari.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheekytiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was my third stay at the Mara Serena, and I loved every moment. My only advice is that if you are handicapped in any way, ask for a room near the lodge, as the rooms are built on the side of a hill, and it can be quite a climb from the lower ones. The lodge itself is spacious and the food excellent. It is well situated for exciting game drives along the Mara River.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lajollabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a location; right above the crossing point of the Great Migration; Loved the pool and having margaritas while looking over the Mara plains. The rooms all have views I think of the Mara River below. The buffets are very good quality. The staff try to give top class service. The drivers are top quality also. Overall a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a night drive; we got lucky and saw a kill bty a pride of lions on a wildebeest
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njenga n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mara Serena last September.it was heaven...
The place is so comfortable,cozy and exactly my type of place.
The evening guitar singing with the guitarist Michael is awesome!!
The view from the rooms is awesome.Just sitting on your bed you can see herds of elephants and giraffe in the wild which is an experience words cannot express!
The staff is very courteous and smiling.they even talk with you creating such a rapport.
It is worth every penny.
The rooms are beautifully made,clean.equipped,.no mosquitoes.

Room Tip: rooms 51/50/49/48.they are the best.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Animalover911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mara Serena Safari Lodge for five nights in late March 2012. While a bit on the pricey side (for us), it was a cozy, comfortable choice. We'd had difficulty getting answers to most of our questions about costs beforehand, so I will include such information in this review for the benefit of others.

We arrived at the unpaved Mara Serena Air Strip in a little 11-passenger prop-plane, via Air Kenya. Air fare from Nairobi was $334 per person, round-trip. A driver from the lodge was waiting when we landed. We paid a $700 park entrance fee (2 people X 5 nights) before leaving the air strip.

For $160 (that is $40 per person, each way) the lodge provided our round trip transfers for the 1 or 2 mile drive between the air strip and lodge. Our room was $335 per night and included our wonderful meals, but not drinks. Three small bottles of water per day were provided in our room. They were not chilled, but were fine for brushing our teeth. We ordered cold water with lunch for 270 Ksh per liter. A bottle of coca cola was 130 Ksh. Cocktails started around 700 Ksh, Tusker beer was 340 Ksh, and bottles of wine were 2300 Ksh and up. As is obvious by now, some charges were in shillings, and some were in dollars.

The whole hotel complex was just darling! Our ride brought us to the center of the Mara Serena Safari Lodge, which consisted of the reception area, gift shop, restaurant, and lounge. Just outside the lounge was a sitting area with several natural terraces overlooking the swimming pool below. Two walkways met in this central region. Paved in natural stone, they were lined with inter-connected cottages. The outermost side of each cottage offered long-range views of the rift valley from a mini-balcony. It was ideal for viewing game out on the savannah. From our balcony, we immediately spotted a heard of giraffes with wart-hogs not far behind, and gazelles grazing near one of the water holes. We had taken our own binoculars, but they can be borrowed from reception if needed.

The rooms are small, but adequate, and decorated to look like a cute ideation of Maasai huts. House-keeping tends to each room twice a day, so supplies of shampoo, shower gel, moisturizer, insecticide towelettes, clean linens, and bottled water are always available. Storage space for our belongings was more than enough. Every evening after dinner, we found the mosquito net drawn about our turned-down bed. There was a phone for wake-up calls, but no television nor air conditioning in the room. We did request a hair-dryer and oscillating fan for added comforts.

We went for 1 - 2 game drives per day ($80 per person, per game drive), and had seen four of "The Big Five" by our second game drive! We never did see the elusive leopard, but saw lots of other big cats instead. We were able to closely observe several prides of lionesses with cubs, solitary male lions, a pair of adolescent male cheetahs, and cerval cats. We also enjoyed spotting water buck, gazelles, cape buffalo, impalas, giraffes, wart-hogs, jackals, hyenas, topis, zebras, herds of elephants, a black rhino, hippos, crocodiles, baboons, ox peckers, and small antelope known as kirk’s dik-diks. Our driver was Paul; he was not only a great person to chat with, but he really knows the Kenyan wildlife and his way around the Mara too!

Besides game drives, we also took a nature walk ($15 per person) with a Maasai man named Reko. Later, Reko gave a lecture about his people, followed by a Maasai dance performance ($10 per person.) Their singing is more of a chant. It sounded scary to me initially, but after hearing it several times over our five day stay, it grew on me and soon I actually enjoyed the sound! The dancing always concluded with lots of jumping, and they took us by the hand to jump with them. We felt completely ridiculous doing this at first, but by our 4th day, we rather enjoyed the jumping too!

Twice we attended breakfast by the hippo pool ($40 per person, each breakfast) and we had one dinner in the bush ($45 pp.) Massage services were available, but we did not utilize this amenity. We did tour the “Hard Rock” Maasai Village ($70 per person.) Absolutely everything could be paid on credit card, if you wish, except for postage stamps purchased at the gift shop, and souvenirs bought at the Maasai Village. We were told that even tips to the game driver could be paid on credit, but we didn‘t choose that route.

We booked this hotel through AfricaPoint.com. With them, my one complaint would be that they didn’t tell us there were less expensive options for air/hotel/transfers/game-drive combo-packages. We talked to other guests who had utilized this option. They said that it hadn’t been mentioned on the Mara Serena Safari Lodge website, and they only learned about it through their booking agent. I think we could have saved a lot of money, had we packaged it all together, but we didn’t know we had this option.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the savannah.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews