We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
738
293
55
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
293
55
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hippo breakfast game drives rooms are small hippo pool the river hill overlooking rock hyrax hill top small hill the reserve sitting area reception area champagne breakfast gift shop lunch and dinner mosquito netting migration season
Filter
Updating list...
809 - 814 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Staed here for 3 nights in August. Bedrooms are clean, beds comfy, bathrooms are good. The food is very good. The views are excellent. Its location next to the major crossing points, ideal.

BUT... we had booked for 3 nights and after 2 nights they thought we we were checking out. They looked at our check in voucher which stated 3 nights but rather than contacting our travel agent, they challenged us and it was up to us to spend next hour trying to get hold of our travel agent to resolve the issue with the Serena group. Thei attitude - Computer says no. Computer does not lie. Very sour taste in my mouth. Managers attitude awful!

NIGHT GAME DRIVE: That evenng we booked a night game drive for $90 a head. DONT DO IT!!! Its a complete rip off. The car will fit maximum 6 guests, 1 spotter, 1 driver and 1 ranger. To maximise their profit they shoved 7 guests in our car, making it really uncomfotable to view. Also what they dont mention about the night game drive is that they are severly restricted to where they can take you. Its basically around the back of the hotel, say 3 mile radius... they criss cross that. It was really really boring!!!!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Like2flyalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I'd been on safari before (in Zambia) but this was entirely different! I had the most amazing guide (Elkana) who knew where to go for whichever animal we were in the mood to see at that particular time. I saw the big 5 as promised and even saw 2 different rhinos in 2 days! From my gorgeous well appointed room, I watched an elephant family for hours (including mating) and the same view can be had from the lovely pool. The meals offer significant variety and I started the trip with friends who'd preceded me and thus, left earlier, so for the last day I was alone, but my wonderful server, Agnes, always stopped to make conversation so I never felt awkward.
All of the staff was fantastic, welcoming and professional. I can't say enough good things. Such luxury intermingled with breathtaking nature. Mara Serena easily earns 5 stars.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We took a short plane ride from Nairobi to the Mara Serena which was an experience in itself. The plane landed on a dirt airstrip, seemingly in the middle of nowhere, with no airport in sight. There were several safari vehicles waiting, so we hopped in ours and were immediately taken on our first game drive where, within 10 minutes, we saw two lionesses with a fresh zebra kill. Wow! When we arrived at the Mara Serena an hour later, we were greeted with cool cloths to wipe our hands and face, and a refreshing glass of passionfruit juice. Our room was like something out of "Whoville" - I've never seen anything like it! Colourful, spotless, with a panoramic view over the plains. This hotel is set high on a hilltop with amazing views all around. There's a nice pool, good internet access from the lobby (there's a fee), the food is outstanding with a fabulous assortment of choices, the massages are great (only $40), there's a huge bonfire at night, there's a Masaai performance right at the hotel or you can pay extra to go to the Masaai Village which is about 40 minutes away. The staff are over-the-top friendly and we were sad to say goodbye to them - they really made eating fun! If you're celebrating a birthday there, all the staff gather in a line and walk through the restaurant, singing to you, ending at your table with a big cake.

The safaris from the Mara Serena were outstanding - we went on a different route every day for four days. Two game drives a day - one at 0630 and one at 1630, and one all-day game drive. We saw 40 lions altogether! We didn't see a leopard or a rhino, but others did. We saw every other animal though, and lots of them. We were there for the wildebeest migration but only saw one cross.

The gift shop is small but well stocked and reasonably priced. I saw the same things in other parts of Kenya for way more money.

The hippo pool breakfast was great - you get everything you'd get if you were eating at the hotel, only it's outdoors right next to hippos and crocodiles (you're completely safe, don't worry).

The scenery is magnificent - this place is every photographer's dream come true.

I would definitely recommend the Mara Serena!

Room tip: Rooms closer to the lobby are easier to get to, but are noisier due to suitcases being dragged by your door. We were about halfway down but it was no problem...and it was very quiet. Don't leave your sliding doors open in your room or the baboons will come inside and take your stuff!
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flyingfingers-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Visiting Masai Mara for the first time is by itself so unique experience...i didnt see other lodges and accomodations there in order to compare but Masai Mara Safari Lodge was very conveniently located in the middle of the wild:you could see the giraffes walking in front of the balcony and hear the sounds of hyppos and elephants in the night (even a bit scary:))) It was a good starting place for the safari drives too. Service and treatment were absolutely amazing,just like in most places in Kenya. The only misfiting thing was having to fight with the flying insects in the room but i guess this is part of the safari even in the best lodges:):) great food. Great area around pool for day time rest between the drives.

Date of stay: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batakoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wonderful choice in the centre of the Mara - can't believe this is No 20 on the tripadvisor list! Rooms are clean and spacious with wonderful views over either the Mara river or towards the Serengeti plains. One of the best things we found was that we were right IN the reserve - so for example on our first early morning game drive we saw a male lion within about 5 mins of leaving the lodge gates! When we stayed last year at a tented camp we had a good half hour drive to get to the main Mara gates. So this year, at mara Serena, we had a lot more time to stay on game drives (others had to leave before us in the evening)
Food was very good - catering for a wide variety of tastes - and always well presented. The evening dinner was 5 courses!
Loved everything about it!

Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews