We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere!”
Review of Mara Timbo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara Timbo Camp
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I have been to most lodges and camps in Maasai Mara. I always thought I have seen the finest until I got to Mara Timbo for 8 nights with a couple I was guiding during the wildebeeste migration. Highly professional personalised service, location along a secluded bank of the Mara river with schools of hippos in and crocodiles within view! All this coupled with a friendly manager always out to find what he can offer extra to make our stay more memorable has made these sweet memories to stick in my mind for this long despite visiting many lodges in between! Bravo team Mara Timbo!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Westsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2014

Friends if you are looking for a private luxury and peaceful accommodation, mara timbo is the best place. Located near the ololoo gate the camp is set at an ideal area. We have booked several clients here and would highly recommend the lodge.
Reuben

Room Tip: The beautiful family tent next to the river with two hippo families.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idealsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Amazing experience of luxury tented camp. We have been to Masai Mara several times and stayed in other properties but Mara Timbo is above all.

Each tent is separate at some elevation and spacious having large cosy beds and attached washrooms. Outside each tent is large area with a swing, bath tub and sofas to sit and relax viewing hippos in adjacent flowing Mara river.

Hospitality is excellent with great food.

The only drawback is of being a bit away from the entrance of game park. it takes approx 40 minutes.

Room Tip: All are excellent
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnilNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was the trip of a lifetime! The camp was beautiful and everyone went out of his way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves, especially Gideon, our tireless guide who showed us all the wonders of the Masai Mara. We spent six nights at the camp and would recommend it to anyone. My whole family (five of us) couldn't have asked for more! Even the food was delicious! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bayleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

It was an experience we will never forget. Absolutely amazing everything; tents with all their content, the nature, location, tranquility ... It was like coming to a piece of paradise. Absolutely wonderful and so romantic. Moreover, very nice and friendly staff and very good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
50.2 km away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#98 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
1.0 km away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#8 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
53.3 km away
Mara Chui Camp
Mara Chui Camp
#127 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
#54 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
407 reviews
0.0 km away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#80 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
68 reviews
3.8 km away
Mara River Camp
Mara River Camp
#62 of 142 in Masai Mara National Reserve
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Timbo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Timbo Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $251 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic camp under German Management ideally situated on Mara River with two large hippo families in front of only 7 spacious 45sqm luxury tents. They are situated on big terraces and offer outside bathtubs with view to the wild animals. A personal Butler Service pays very much attention to the maximum of privacy. Tent-facilities include king-size bed, safe, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, flush toilet, 220/240volt power supply. Activities: Game Drives, Nature Walk, Maasai Village, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Timbo Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Timbo Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing