We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Olarro(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 1,370
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 2,012
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Neptune Mara Rianta Luxury Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 1,591
USD 1,378
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Mara Safari Lodge(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 760
USD 500
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Little Governors' Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 1,320
USD 1,145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Elephant Pepper Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 1,415
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Mara River Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)(Great Value!)
USD 570
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sand River Masai Mara(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 1,232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Entumoto Safari Camp(Masai Mara National Reserve)
USD 700
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mara Safari Club(Masai Mara National Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
67
6
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
6
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a wonderful time at Mara Timbo and the service was exceptional. The staff (Gideon, Felictas, all the security men and our guide Charles) went out of their way to ensure we have a memorable and enjoyable experience. The camp itself was very beautiful and we had a bathtub outside our room :-). I will certainly go back to Mara Timbo and also suggest it to people I know.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Skyship C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent 3 days at mara Timbo as part of our honeymoon and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The tent is amazing, probably the most comfortable beds in whole of Africa! Everyday they lay flowers and in the evening they even put a hot water bottle to keep the bed warm for you. I can't fault the service, it was really great, on our last night they even baked a congratulations cake and sang typical Kenyan songs for us!
The camp is about 35/40 mins from the Olololo gate and yes do be prepared for a rough drive but it's all part of the fun and we never minded it infact we took some lovely pictures of the landscape and saw a lot of animals on the way.
Gideon our guide was a really nice guy, trying his best to make us see as many animals as possible, make sure you ask for him as I truly believe he's the best guide at mara Timbo. August is a great time to go to Masai Mara if you are looking to see the migration, however is a little harder to see Cheetahs and leopards as the grass is really high and makes it difficult to spot them so on this occasion we didn't see any...
If romance, a bit of luxury, good company and a bit of adventure are your thing then head to Mara Timbo , you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiara_cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

CAMP LOCATION: Although a bit further away from the entrance gate to the Mara Conservancy, we enjoyed our daily Mara Timbo Camp to Oloololo Gate drives. There was plenty of general game and some nice birding in the vicinity of the lodge and on route to the park. Being "Bush-crazy" made us look forward to this daily stretch of road.
MARA TIMBO CAMP: Congrats on a fabulous camp and having a great team of individuals who looked after our needs and wishes at all times. They certainly understand the essence of customer service and what it means going "the extra mile". Special mention must be made about GIDEON KIMAI: What a gentleman throughout - his ability to bond with the guests in a very short time is an asset itself. Having spend 5days together on the Land-Rover, experiencing different game viewing situations, some very lucky sightings and others not so i.e. patiently waiting in vain for hours to see a crossing of the Mara River which than did not materialize, Gideon never lost his composure and there were always interesting facts about the wildlife and natural habitat which he mentioned. Staff members like Duffling, Anton and Joel were always there when needed, as usual with a big smile and full of motivation to assist us. Compliments to the kitchen staff / chef on a menu which was thoroughly enjoyed by us during our stay. Good breakfasts served next to the river, great lunchboxes and scrumptious dinners contributed to our daily wellbeing.
ACCOMMODATION: Staying in the family tent, space for oursevles and our 11yr old son was ample, everything worked, the unit was always clean and it was a pleasure spending the little time we had in it.
CONCLUSION: We have been fortunate to have visitied many game lodges in the past - the experience at Mara Timbo Camp counts amongst the best. We have no hesitation in recommending Mara Timbo Camp to anybody who is looking for that special Masai Mara experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were very fortunate to stay at Mara Timbo Camp as part of our safari to the Masai Mara National Park. This is a small camp, only 9 tents/rooms but has all the amenities and luxuries you would want! Each tent/room had full services including a large sheltered patio/outdoor living area including open air tub. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the food was wonderful. A highlight was breakfast set up by rivers edge in the morning at sunrise while listening to the family of hippos nearby waking up! All in all a delightful stay and we would absolutely go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This property was fantastic- we stayed for 2 nights and are already planning our next trip back! The breakfast watching the hippos in the water was great. As you drive here you think- are you kidding- this is so out of the way!- But it was worth every second of the drive. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews