We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari for 18”
Review of Mara Timbo Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara Timbo Camp
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I have been on safari in Kenya for the last 5 years in a row. In fact we were married on safari our first year with all of our family with us. The Mara is such a beautiful place and all of the experiences we have had there have been exceptional. The Mara Timbo camp was unique to all the other camps as it is more of a private setting. If you do not want to have to share your safari with the crowds I definitely recommend this camp. The tents and grounds are exactly as you see them in the pictures. We were blown away to find that every tent was in excellent condition and the wildlife was right at your door step. In fact, they station Masai guards at your door at night to make sure that none of the animals find there way in! We had hippos in view at every meal as our dining tables were set up outdoors by the river. The relaxing sound of the river flowing, the outdoor baths and porch swings in every tent made for a very relaxing time. The food was excellent and the staff were kind and ready to meet our every need. We loved having a personal staff member for each tent. This is not your large safari camp, with big buffets for your meals and lots of other travelers around. It is quiet, tranquil and more "in nature" than we have experienced in the past. The trip from Nairobi is bumpy for a lot of the ride but we saw many animals along the way. As we pulled up to the camp there were herds of elephants grazing on the trees! We would definitely stay at Mara Timbo again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Mara Timbo Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a wonderful time at Mara Timbo and the service was exceptional. The staff (Gideon, Felictas, all the security men and our guide Charles) went out of their way to ensure we have a memorable and enjoyable experience. The camp itself was very beautiful and we had a bathtub outside our room :-). I will certainly go back to Mara Timbo and also suggest it to people I know.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Skyship C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent 3 days at mara Timbo as part of our honeymoon and the staff couldn't do enough for us! The tent is amazing, probably the most comfortable beds in whole of Africa! Everyday they lay flowers and in the evening they even put a hot water bottle to keep the bed warm for you. I can't fault the service, it was really great, on our last night they even baked a congratulations cake and sang typical Kenyan songs for us!
The camp is about 35/40 mins from the Olololo gate and yes do be prepared for a rough drive but it's all part of the fun and we never minded it infact we took some lovely pictures of the landscape and saw a lot of animals on the way.
Gideon our guide was a really nice guy, trying his best to make us see as many animals as possible, make sure you ask for him as I truly believe he's the best guide at mara Timbo. August is a great time to go to Masai Mara if you are looking to see the migration, however is a little harder to see Cheetahs and leopards as the grass is really high and makes it difficult to spot them so on this occasion we didn't see any...
If romance, a bit of luxury, good company and a bit of adventure are your thing then head to Mara Timbo , you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiara_cm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

CAMP LOCATION: Although a bit further away from the entrance gate to the Mara Conservancy, we enjoyed our daily Mara Timbo Camp to Oloololo Gate drives. There was plenty of general game and some nice birding in the vicinity of the lodge and on route to the park. Being "Bush-crazy" made us look forward to this daily stretch of road.
MARA TIMBO CAMP: Congrats on a fabulous camp and having a great team of individuals who looked after our needs and wishes at all times. They certainly understand the essence of customer service and what it means going "the extra mile". Special mention must be made about GIDEON KIMAI: What a gentleman throughout - his ability to bond with the guests in a very short time is an asset itself. Having spend 5days together on the Land-Rover, experiencing different game viewing situations, some very lucky sightings and others not so i.e. patiently waiting in vain for hours to see a crossing of the Mara River which than did not materialize, Gideon never lost his composure and there were always interesting facts about the wildlife and natural habitat which he mentioned. Staff members like Duffling, Anton and Joel were always there when needed, as usual with a big smile and full of motivation to assist us. Compliments to the kitchen staff / chef on a menu which was thoroughly enjoyed by us during our stay. Good breakfasts served next to the river, great lunchboxes and scrumptious dinners contributed to our daily wellbeing.
ACCOMMODATION: Staying in the family tent, space for oursevles and our 11yr old son was ample, everything worked, the unit was always clean and it was a pleasure spending the little time we had in it.
CONCLUSION: We have been fortunate to have visitied many game lodges in the past - the experience at Mara Timbo Camp counts amongst the best. We have no hesitation in recommending Mara Timbo Camp to anybody who is looking for that special Masai Mara experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We were very fortunate to stay at Mara Timbo Camp as part of our safari to the Masai Mara National Park. This is a small camp, only 9 tents/rooms but has all the amenities and luxuries you would want! Each tent/room had full services including a large sheltered patio/outdoor living area including open air tub. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the food was wonderful. A highlight was breakfast set up by rivers edge in the morning at sunrise while listening to the family of hippos nearby waking up! All in all a delightful stay and we would absolutely go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
50.2 km away
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
Duma Camp Maasai Mara
#98 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
21 reviews
1.0 km away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#8 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
352 reviews
53.3 km away
Mara Chui Camp
Mara Chui Camp
#124 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.5 km away
Leleshwa Camp
Leleshwa Camp
#86 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
88 reviews
5.6 km away
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
#54 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
405 reviews
0.0 km away
Oltome Resorts
Oltome Resorts
#81 of 141 in Masai Mara National Reserve
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Timbo Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Timbo Camp

Address: Masai Mara, Triangle | near Olololo-Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 141 Speciality Lodging in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $250 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic camp under German Management ideally situated on Mara River with two large hippo families in front of only 7 spacious 45sqm luxury tents. They are situated on big terraces and offer outside bathtubs with view to the wild animals. A personal Butler Service pays very much attention to the maximum of privacy. Tent-facilities include king-size bed, safe, en-suite bathroom, hot shower, flush toilet, 220/240volt power supply. Activities: Game Drives, Nature Walk, Maasai Village, Balloon Safaris, Night Game Drives. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Timbo Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Timbo Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing