We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical ”
Review of Mara West Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mara West Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was perfect. It was like going to a top notch bed and breakfast. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The room and the view were spectacular. The food was as good as any 3-4 star restaurant in the city. We enjoyed their merlot selection.
Guests let the staff know when they want to shower and the water heater will be lighted providing plenty of hot water. We let them know approximately when would come up to eat and they were always ready and waiting. The rooms have wonderful comforters making sleeping a dream. We hired a private driver so that we could look for the migration and crossings and are very glad we did.
We watched the balloons take off each morning from our deck overlooking the park.
Truly a wonderful experience.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 302jeannet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraWestCamp, Guest Relations Manager at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Jeannet,

We appreciate the amazing review,we are glad that you enjoyed your visit at MaraWest camp.we're happy that you had your best time with us.We're very honoured.Hopefully you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

We loved the place. The staff was wonderful and took care of our every need. Peter is a fantastic chef and the food was fabulous... especially the soups! The view is spectacular and the sunrise can be amazing. But just having elephants, zebras and giraffes walking through the place makes it even more special!

Room Tip: Chalet #8 has great views, a lot of privacy and an outdoor shower which is wonderful. The best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraWestCamp, Guest Relations Manager at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear 5MRanch,


Thank you so much for your amazing review and for highlighting great our location of the camp,we are previledged to have chef Peter and our supportive staff who really work hard and love what they do so it's great to hear how much our guests enjoy it.We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed 2 nights during our Kenya+Tanzania safari. The camp is outside the masa mara national park, but close to the Oloololo gate and reasonably close to Tanzanian border.
The camp has different types of accommodations, we stayed in a tented accommodation with a nice view to a valley. Staff was friendly, food good. Recommend.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank gintaras_marijauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraWestCamp, Guest Relations Manager at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Marijauskas,

We appreciate the amazing review,we are glad that you enjoyed your visit at Marawest Camp . We're previledged to have supportive staff who really work hard and love what they do so its great to hear how much our clients enjoy it.We're happy that you had your best time with us.Hopefully you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

The camp is quite a decent camp, very comfortable and good staff. The cook was quiet friendly and went out of the way to ask our review. The camp was quite clean and well maintained, had a very comfortable chairs outside the tent for families to relax at leisure during evening time. Hot water timing was in the evening from 5 - 8.30 pm / am, which was quite convenient to most of the guests. I found the stay quite comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roopak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraWestCamp, Guest Relations Manager at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Roopak,

We appreciate the amazing review,we are glad that you enjoyed your visit at Marawest Camp.We are previledged to have chef peter who engages with clients to ensure dietary requirements are met.We are happy that you had your best time with us.we're very honoured.Hopefully you'll be back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Mara West last week and cannot recommend it highly enough.
The chalet was beautiful and very comfortable, the food of a good standard and the staff looked after us really well.
we enjoyed the game drives and our driver John was very knowledgeable and informative.
The location which was close to the edge of the national park was perfect and the view from the lodge over the Mara was breathtaking.
We were looked after well by Wilson who escorted us to our chalet at night and came round early every morning to light the fire to heat the water in our cabin.
I'd definitely come back and would highly recommend this lodge to anyone thinking of visiting the Masai Mara. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank odetteostrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaraWestCamp, Guest Relations Manager at Mara West Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Dear Odetteostrich,
We appreciate the amazing review and for highlighting how great our Chalets are.We are previledged to have chef Peter and our supportive staff who really enjoy and love what they do, clients love John the safari guide driver who is professional and educates guests about flora and fauna.True guests love the security offered by our masai guards as they escort them back and forth to their rooms to ensure they are safe and also double check on the water heaters so that guests can have a hot shower. We are really greatful that you enjoyed your stay with us,Thank you for recommending Mara West Camp.We hope to have you back again soon.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
52.8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,097 reviews
49.4 km away
AA Lodge Masai Mara
AA Lodge Masai Mara
#8 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
126 reviews
38.2 km away
Mara Leisure Camp
Mara Leisure Camp
#7 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 km away
Mara Siria Camp
Mara Siria Camp
#6 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
204 reviews
48.8 km away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
1,082 reviews
32.4 km away
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
Fairmont Mara Safari Club
#1 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara West Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara West Camp

Address: C13, Oloololo Gate, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: $407 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against a wooded thicket and surrounded by savannah, Mara West provides nature lovers with luxury accommodations while experiencing the sights and sounds of an unforgettable African safari. Luxury tents are perched in secluded spots on an escarpment edge overlooking the vast plains of the Masai Mara Game Reserve giving tremendous views and a sense of private exclusion. Mara West is an American owned and managed private safari camp providing high quality service with beautifully designed, comfortable accommodations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara West Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara West Camp Kenya/Masai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing