We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try when in Nairobi”

The Carnivore Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 709 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 40 - USD 100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Atmosphere is great. Most of the food served was great. Crocodile was a bit tough and they dont keep an eye on the patrons. The waiters are hardly in sight to order drinks which makes it uncomfortable at times. Overall it was a good experience but some improvement in service is needed . This is a buffet but they should offer a drinks menu Instead of having to ask the waiter whats on offer each time.

Thank Francis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. We are happy to hear that overall you had an enjoyable dining experience with us and that most of the food was to your liking. However it is disappointing to learn that the service was not the best and that you were not automatically offered drinks from the drinks menu. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and just to let you know that we are actively working to improve our customer service levels. Your feedback has proved to be invaluable and has been passed on to our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 179 of 3,723 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

A Brazilian BBQ, Kenyan style. The food was good and plentiful. Along with the usual steak, ribs, and chicken, there were also slightly exotic meats like frog, crocodile and ostrich. The staff was friendly and fun but a bit slow to serve. A fun place to take the family.

Thank jvp999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed the dining experience and found array of meats good and plentiful. It is also pleaseing to hear that the staff were friendly, although we must apologize that the service was slow. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the team and the necessary corrective action on service will be implemented. Many thanks again for taking the time to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Had lunch here on a travel day between parks. Very nice location. Food and service were excellent. We had.a couple of special requirements which were quickly and happily handled. Tried all the meats, including crocodile ostrich. All delicious.

Thank ShaunD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018


Thank you for your great review and perfect rating. We are happy you enjoyed the the array of meats, the location and the excellent service. We will be sure to let our dedicated team know what a positive impact they made on your dining experience. Thank you again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

A very nice experience in this mus of Nairobi.
The waiter will welcome you with a big smile. Let's try the Dawa, a delicious natural cocktail.

Life is easy at Carnivore's : You don't chose what to eat, you just enjoy the different meats the waiters will bring to you. And what a meat. perfect quality, with many different sauces...

Thank fabien l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018


Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review and for the perfect rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed the concept of the Carnivore and the array of meats and the house cocktail the Dawa were to your liking. Our dedicated team work really hard to offer the best of food and service in the most appealing environment so it is very pleasing to see that reflected in your visit. Your compliments have been passed to all concerned and are a great boost to their efforts. Many thanks again for such great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Booked a table for 10 for family. Quite enjoyable lunch it was. They served a variety of roast meats.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Philip_Cheruiyot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your Christms lunch at The Carnivore .We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing