We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
220
53
7
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
53
7
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karen blixen museum rose petals giraffe center dressing room boutique hotel elephant orphanage kazuri bead factory long flight quiet oasis bottle of champagne small hotel lovely pool two nights small balcony next morning safari vacation wilson airport
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017

The staff at House of Waine were very warm and welcoming, the lodge is inviting and the main areas are relaxed & comfortable. I enjoyed hearing the night sounds of the garden coming through the terrace windows as dusk fell, the sounds of the city are blocked out by the lush gardens. I loved my room, it was spacious and had a lovely large bathroom. The food was top notch and we had a great time exploring the sights with a guide arranged by the lodge. Our time at House of Waine was short, next time I will be sure to stay at least 2 nights!

Room tip: The Malaika Suite is worth the extra money!
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trvlround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

It was a pleasure hosting you and thank you for choosing House of Waine. We are happy that you found the hotel inviting and comfortable. We are glad that you liked your suite, food as well as the various attractions in close proximity.

We look forward to welcoming you back for two or more nights.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

It's serene and offers traquility in the surburbs of Karen. It's beautiful with great service and nice food, if one is lookimg to get away without leaving town. I would highly recommend it.

Ideal for a romantic gateway.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Inspire529732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and the kind feedback. We are glad you enjoyed staying with us, found the hotel serene and beautiful and also enjoyed our service and food.
We highly appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

For House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A quiet oasis in a bustling city, we enjoyed the rooms and the dining here very much after two dusty weeks on safari. Excellent fresh food. The first place in Africa that knew how to cook a steak rare! Loved the lemon pasta. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merry1192017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

It was a pleasure hosting you and thank your for taking time to give us feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your meals with us. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

For House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had the pleasure of spending three nights at the House of Waine in June. The Manor is warm and inviting. We stayed in a lovely suite with French doors that opened a veranda. The area is very quiet so we could hear the different animals in the area.The staff was superb! Kind, friendly, thoughtful and so very helpful. All the meals were superb. Karen is such an interesting area with so much history. Must see Karen Blixen Museum and the Kazuri Bead factory. The beads are beautiful and the ladies working here walk miles to and from work. Everyone at the factory was gracious and proud of their work. If you are needing salon services, I recommend Karen Salon. Wanted to have nails done and was referred to the Karen Salon by manager at House of Waine. Ended up having not only my nails but also my hair. I have been to many salons, but my experience at Karen Salon was by far the best I ever had. Wonderful leg, foot, head and shoulders massages! We are so privileged to write that we stayed at the House of Waine in beautiful Karen at the foot of the Ngong Hills. Wishing you all peace and happiness.

Room tip: We enjoyed having a veranda off our room.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcCroskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

It was a pleasure hosting you and thank you for spending 3 nights with us. We are happy that you found the hotel warm and inviting, staff friendly and helpful,enjoyed your meals with us and found time enjoy the various attractions in the area.

Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back.

For House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Our voucher read, "Celebrating their 45th anniversary. Do something special" and they did. We arrived from the Nairobi airport at 10:30 at night after 22 hours of traveling. All we expected was a comfortable bed. Instead we were greeted with a welcoming drink and the announcement that the restaurant had been kept open for us and we could dine in our room if we liked. There we were greeted by towels shaped into hearts, a king sized bed strewn with rose petals that spelled out an anniversary wish, and a bottle of champagne. Our room, Malaika, was a 25x40 bedroom/living room with a dressing room, a marble bath with double sinks and steeping tub, and a large terrace overlooking the magnificent pool and gardens. On our final night, we were directed to a private dining room and seated before a wood burning fireplace. The ever present rose petals and candles made the night absolutely magical. This hotel is a former private residence inside a fenced and guarded compound in suburban Karen - close to the Karen Blixon house, elephant orphanage and giraffe center. It is perfectly suited for a gentle transition to the time zone and culture. Thank you Charles, Obadiah and Benjamin and the many others who made our stay incredibly special.

Room tip: The Malaika suite is stunning.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kerri0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, General Manager at House of Waine, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for staying us during your 45th anniversary, it was an honor to host you.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, liked your room as well as the room gifts and extra touches. The whole House of Waine team appreciates the kind feedback and compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

House of Waine team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews