We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Property”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #21 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I thought my room (Pwani) was beautiful and the bed extremely comfortable. I was surprised by the size of the room (it was very large) and I loved the veranda. The room was much nicer than the photographs on the website. The bathroom was also very nice and well appointed – flowers next to the sink was a nice touch. I liked my well-stocked “mini bar” – milk, tea, etc.

Meals were very good and the service was great. Arriving as late as I did, it was so nice to have them send up a tray to my room. Also, the neighborhood (Karen) is really really nice and convenient to a lot of attractions like Karen Blixen house and Sheldrick Wildlife Refuge.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank twinxabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

The staff at House of Waine were very warm and welcoming, the lodge is inviting and the main areas are relaxed & comfortable. I enjoyed hearing the night sounds of the garden coming through the terrace windows as dusk fell, the sounds of the city are blocked out by the lush gardens. I loved my room, it was spacious and had a lovely large bathroom. The food was top notch and we had a great time exploring the sights with a guide arranged by the lodge. Our time at House of Waine was short, next time I will be sure to stay at least 2 nights!

Room Tip: The Malaika Suite is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trvlround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
164
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

It's serene and offers traquility in the surburbs of Karen. It's beautiful with great service and nice food, if one is lookimg to get away without leaving town. I would highly recommend it.

Ideal for a romantic gateway.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

A quiet oasis in a bustling city, we enjoyed the rooms and the dining here very much after two dusty weeks on safari. Excellent fresh food. The first place in Africa that knew how to cook a steak rare! Loved the lemon pasta. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merry1192017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had the pleasure of spending three nights at the House of Waine in June. The Manor is warm and inviting. We stayed in a lovely suite with French doors that opened a veranda. The area is very quiet so we could hear the different animals in the area.The staff was superb! Kind, friendly, thoughtful and so very helpful. All the meals were superb. Karen is such an interesting area with so much history. Must see Karen Blixen Museum and the Kazuri Bead factory. The beads are beautiful and the ladies working here walk miles to and from work. Everyone at the factory was gracious and proud of their work. If you are needing salon services, I recommend Karen Salon. Wanted to have nails done and was referred to the Karen Salon by manager at House of Waine. Ended up having not only my nails but also my hair. I have been to many salons, but my experience at Karen Salon was by far the best I ever had. Wonderful leg, foot, head and shoulders massages! We are so privileged to write that we stayed at the House of Waine in beautiful Karen at the foot of the Ngong Hills. Wishing you all peace and happiness.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a veranda off our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMcCroskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 169 in Nairobi
559 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Acacia Tree Lodge
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
56 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: $595 - $945 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing