We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the Rural meets the Royal!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #41 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where the Rural meets the Royal!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

On landing at the Windsor Golf Hotel, you are certainly drawn to think that you just entered the Windsor Castle in England... The first thing that attracted my attention was the Royal English architecture... the old English-style telephone still kept in the good order as they were before the British left... and what more... the ever-smiling faces of the staff... Wow! This is definitely an experience worth revisiting. If you require some serene experience away from the hustle-and-bustles of the City of Nairobi, then come to this place on the borders of Kiambu County... You will not regret your stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the 10th Tee can be noisy on Fridays if there happens to be a live band playing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Awuor-Ponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    114
    56
    20
    19
See reviews for
42
36
8
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I've been here a couple times.It is undoubtedly one of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed. The welcome is always very warm. The staff are both very attentive and discrete. They have several bars and places to eat, and cool, leafy gardens. The rooms are really great.The pool is beautiful. This is a real home from home. Have I mentioned the cuisine? One word....to die for!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 150Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The hotel has an air of old British charm around it. The rooms have a great view of the lush green golf course and the service, though a bit relaxed, is dependable. The best part is having a 5 km jogging/cyling track at your doorstep. This is integrated through the golf course and the intertwined wilderness. For an open air lover like me, this is what always bring me back here.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with the direct access to the golf course on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMIN586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Officer at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear AMIN586,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club. We greatly appreciate you taking time to share your valuable review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you appreciate the great view of the golf course from all our rooms.

Your comments have been shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to improve and continue their efforts to make the Windsor the hotel of choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hosting you at the Windsor.

Thanks and kind regards,

Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The worst experience ever…..I’ve had a one week holiday with my husband and 5 year old daughter, in Kenya.

The hotel was rated as a 5*, unfortunately we felt that the it did not meet this standard. I felt that the level of staffing was poor, this was especially noticeable in the dining room and lobby. The staff are always bored and acting like you’re constantly disturbing. Most of their employees don’t speak fluent English, so, if you need something, you will have to ask a few people until you’re lucky enough to finally find one who can understand what you’re saying. They advertise an international cuisine, but they serve Kenyan dishes, just with English names. They also advertise WI-fi, big joke that its only in the hotel reception area where you can get signal and no privacy. NO Entertainment whosoever!

Rooms are spacious and clean but bathrooms have cracked tiles and moldy grout - but the cleaner did his best to work with what he had. The hotel could do with a refurbishment, it has seen better days, money needs to be spent on it due to the wear and tear.

Room Tip: rooms with a view to the greens seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hadija Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Officer at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Hadija Y,

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at the Windsor.

We sincerely apologize that your expectations were not met. We have in particular noted your feedback on the staffing levels and assure you that our Human Resource department is looking in to every aspect highlighted. Our Executive Chef would also be more than willing to meet you on your next visit on the issue of our menus, you can also kindly contact him directly on rcournede@windsor.co.ke

We also want to assure you that our Wi-Fi signal is as strong in the rooms as it is at the lobby. If you checked, we have different signals all over the hotel to ensure that every area is well covered. All you need to do is choose the strongest signal from whichever location and use your log-in details as provided upon check in.

Kindly feel free to contact me directly on guestrelations@windsor.co.ke.

Thanks and kind regards,

Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for a company strategy meeting. On the face of it, a splendid looking hotel, but in reality a bit average. There were no disasters, but lots of niggles. From the moment we stepped in there wasn't that nice warm feeling you get when a place is well run and comfortable. There was no pleasant greeting from the staff (they seemed distracted) and finding somebody to show us our rooms took longer than can reasonably be expected given that it wasn't too busy when we arrived. When we tried to get bar food close to closing time, we were given the clear message that, despite the bar food service still being open, that we were not very welcome. And so it went on. What ticked me off most though was the lady cleaning my room each day being rather unashamed of soliciting a tip.

The hotel seems to be run more for its golf course than for the people staying in the hotel. There is a jogging track, but no copy of the promised map was available (not even after four days of asking) and the signs on the jogging track seem to disappear after a few kilometres (or was it me being daft?). When we asked for the use of the bicycles, none was fit for riding.

This should be one of Kenya's best hotels, but it isn't.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimaniJames, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear Grassy W.

Thank you for taking time to share your review on your recent stay at our hotel. We greatly appreciate any feedback made by our guests.

Kindly accept our unreserved apologies for the dissatisfaction about your stay with us. We apologize that your expectations were not met. We have noted your comments on some of our staff and I want to assure you that we have addressed these with the concerned head of departments.

I deeply regret your disappointment on the bikes and the jogging track. Our leisure department is working on the signs on the track to ensure they are easily visible to everyone; they are also in the process of purchasing a special form which will prevent punctures on the bikes.

Kindly feel free to contact me directly on guestrelations@windsor.co.ke.

We wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors . We hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Thanks and Kind Regards,
Esther Kung'u,
Guest Relations Officer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#7 of 165 in Nairobi
910 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#26 of 165 in Nairobi
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 165 in Nairobi
1,009 reviews
The Bedelle
#31 of 165 in Nairobi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Property: Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#32 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price range (per night): $267 - $432
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing