We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
57
23
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
23
12
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilson airport clean heated pool baby pool newly built hotel carnivore restaurant friendly hotel domestic airport up to date giraffe sanctuary yogurt public areas national park security staff hotel room en route the hotel staff excellent location
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Tamarind Tree was all it claims to be and more. Then property is beautiful and very well run. The food is great and the the showers run a waterfall of hot water all day

Unlike many properties like this though the exercise room is well equipped it has all you need for a basic workout with good quality equipment !!

The restaurant staff were especially kind and professional and made you feel like more of a friend or a guest than a customer .

Great job !!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kroybazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJohnK2, General Manager at Tamarind Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kroybazza,
Sincere thanks for your 5 Star review of our Hotel and your wonderful comments.

Best Wishes

St John GM and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Due to a flight change, KQ moved me in this hotel for the remaining of the night and some part of the morning.
Having already a long day behind me and thus tired.
I was friendly welcomed by the hotel staff and managed to get quickly to my room.

The room was clean, big and has a nice modern atmosphere. The breakfast has a good variety of food ranging from an egg station to local porridge and juices.

The only little minus is that the hotel is very close to Wilson airport. having said this, Wilson is only open during daytime :)

I will keep this hotel in mind if I get back to Nairobi!

Room tip: A room viewing the pool site of the hotel could be preferred if you are not into plane spotting ;)
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michael682017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJohnK2, General Manager at Tamarind Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Michael,
Sincere thanks for your 4 Star review of our Hotel and your wonderful comments.
I would like to mention to avoid any confusion, due to the proximity to Wilson Airport all the hotel windows are double glazed to avoid any noise in the hotel.


Best Wishes

St John GM and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

We visited hotel to go to the restaurant and swimming pool. We were forced to sit down in lobby and given the airline check-in form by receptionist. Finally we were able to explain to the receptionist we would like to visit the swimming pool and restaurant, after which he directed us.

At the swimming pool / restaurant we were informed that if we would like to use the gym and swimming pool we have to go back to the reception to pay.

We go back to the reception and ask them that we’d like to pay for swimming pool access. The receptionist informs us we have to pay at the restaurant. Only after we insist that we have been directed to her by the restaurant/ swimming pool she accepts to bill us. We are told we will be given the access wrist tags at the pool when we show them the payment receipt.

At the swimming pool, the instructor insists we have underpaid and can not be given the access tags. He goes back to the reception to confirm ( No intercom between swimming pool / gym and the reception), keeping us waited. He comes back and confirms indeed we had underpaid due to the receptionist not knowing the revised charges but they’ll give us complementary access as it was their mistake. Credit to them for that.

The swimming pool was overheated on a hot Sunday afternoon. Due to the water temperature it’s not possible to swim for more than 15 minutes on a hot sunny afternoon.

All in all, a newly built, clean hotel. But management and staff is below par for a 4 star city hotel (as claimed).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 1punit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJohnK2, General Manager at Tamarind Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir /Madam,
Sincere thanks for your constructive review of our swimming pool. We have had a problem with the swimming over the past month which the contractor has now fixed. I'm glad to report that the pool temperatures are now correct.
Following your comment on the payment situation, we have done retraining with the staff concerned so that we do not have a similar problem again.
Once again our sincere thanks for your constructive criticism.

Sincerely,

St John GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

A little heaven on earth!!!Excellent waiting team and non-intrusions during meetings in their state of the art conference rooms.

Happy hour on cocktails everyday has been the real deal for me.

You must try the DAWA cocktail! Tamarind's signature cocktail!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Esther K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJohnK2, General Manager at Tamarind Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Esther,
Sincere thanks for your 5-star review and wonderful comments on our hotel.

Best Wishes

St John GM and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018 via mobile

I recently facilitated a meeting at this hotel, worked great and loved the facilities. Staff were exceptional and incredibly helpful, nice bar and pool area to relax and super clean. Bed was perfect!! Generally great experience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank markwF7748KK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StJohnK2, General Manager at Tamarind Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear Mark,
Sincere thanks for your 5 star review and wonderful comments on our hotel , greatly appreciated.

Best Wishes,

St John GM and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews