We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 201
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 188
USD 183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 211
USD 195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodmere Serviced Apartments(Nairobi)(Great Value!)
USD 84
USD 71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 270
USD 249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,066)
Filter reviews
1,066 results
Traveller rating
594
332
91
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
594
332
91
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage marketkaya spajiko restaurantafrican artboutique hotelshopping mallunited nationsbeautiful hotelfourth floorpublic areasrooftop barbusiness tripnairobi trafficembassieskenyagymsecurity
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 1,066 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

I checked into The Tribe on April 3rd after a 5 year hiatus. This was supposed to be a four night stay. This was my fourth stay at The Tribe. Upon checkin the staff was very helpful and did a great job getting me to my room quickly. I always had pleasant experiences with the staff.

ISSUES:

1. I emailed the hotel 7 days prior to my arrival with my SPG Platinum Preferred Guest number. They acknowledged receipt, yet upon checkin there was no record.

2. I was assigned room 139. After dinner and a bit of work I noticed that the room was not cleaned from the last occupants. The pillow cases were changed but the sheets were not. The sheets were dirty with an approximate 10” hair waiting between them! The floor was not mopped and the top of the toilet lid had an unidentifiable substance on it.

3. I advised the front desk staff of the issue. They acted quickly and moved me to room 601. This room was clean, however, a bit run down. The room was near the laundry facility past the pool near the spa. Staff were drying some items in the dryer until the early hours. This normally wouldn’t have been an issue if there wasn’t some type of metal item being flung around inside the dryer barrel. Awaken at 03:30!

4. This room is also the closest room to the main road so at 05:00 the constant passing of commuter traffic was enough to get me out of bed for the day. The windows are only single pane and they don’t close tight enough to make a difference in the sound.

5. After all of this I decided to seek out another hotel. Upon checkout the morning Front Desk staff had no record of me staying in room 601 and instead insisted that I was in the main building away from the noise and traffic. Not sure what happened there but one would think that their computer could have located me immediately by surname. After some effort they were able to find me in their system and I successfully checked out of my Tribe nightmare!

All in all, the staff was nice and helpful. A lot of these issues fall back on management and proper training. The two rooms that I occupied were definitely run down and needed some investment. Not sure if this is indicative of the rest of the rooms at The Tribe.

I was quite disappointed that my stay didn’t work out as I had fond memories of my past stays.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank VMATC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear VMATC, thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. You surely have not received our usual Tribe service. I can though assure that we have addressed the issues pointed out by you and took action immediately with ongoing trainings of our partly new team. Kindly get in touch with me so we can elaborate on this further. Thank you! Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The room view was amazing and had an option of a patio that led to the helipad. Enjoyed the customer service from the customer service agent who called soon after our check in to ensure we liked the room andhad everything we needed.
Thumbs up

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tido2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear tido2018, thank you so much for your review! We are delighted you enjoyed staying with us. Best regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

I liked this hotel and loved everything about the design and facilities matching with the venue needs to facilitate the workshop, i was attending .
I was enchanted and delighted by the professionalism customer oriented service at the front desk. I recommend everyone to be served by Winnie, second to none and charming front desk staff.
A very little disappointment, on billing system or communication of room cleaning shift, in terms of coordination.
I will certainly be staying here again!

Best

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank karege h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear karege h, thank you so very much for your review and your constructive feedback. We appreciate this very much and are looking forward to your next stay! Sunny regards, Stephan - One Planet One Tribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel holds itself out to be a 5 star hotel but there is nothing behind the thin veneer and smiles of the staff - almost every interaction with them was a fail. We arrived at 4 20 pm and our rooms were not ready. They were very apologetic and said they would just need 5 minutes and escorted us to a nice sitting area and said we could order any non alcohol drink on the menu. We explained we had dinner reservations with friends at 5 30 so really needed the rooms and they assured us they were on it.

After sitting for about 10 minutes a waiter came over and took our orders - 3 of us orders mango smoothies. 10 minutes later the waiter came over to say they don’t have mango smoothies and was unable to offer anything else - so we all just got water

10 minutes later - so 30 minutes now a customer service manager came over - we were thinking to apologize for the delay and take us to our rooms - but no she knew nothing about our room delay but was only coming over to tell us we could not sit where we were sitting as it was a private area - we told her that the people at the front desk escorted us here and gave our room story and she really only cared about us leaving that area

We got our rooms at a little passed 5

We had an early morning safari so had to order breakfast to go - my wife placed the order the night before and repeated it 3 times with the lady on the phone. The next day they were waiting for us early at the the front fest so we took them and went. In the trip we opened up the containers and every single order was wrong - all they put in was plain scrambled eggs and a croissant - not even close

On our return our room was cleaned but not the bathroom no towels or soap

At check out the lady at the front took about 20 minutes to process a very simple 2 night stay - I am a spg gold with many points and was staying on points - when she handed my the statements she asked for my credit card - I asked why as the balance was zero - she told me it was not zero - I had to show her the statement and how it worked and that the 0 at the bottom of the page meant nothing is owing

She had to go into the back office and about 5 minutes later came out to confirm with me that I was indeed right the 0 under balance owing meant I did not owe anything - she was very sincere in thinking she had solved a problem.......

You can see they are trying to provide customer service at a high level and are very smiley and apologetic all along the way but there is an underlying competency in training and systems that is missing from this team

The extensive and defensive responses to all the negative feedback on these reviews from the manager kind of confirms my conclusions that the level of staffing is not at a 5 star level.

That being said the architecture of the hotel could for sure qualify as a 5 star.

However The Fairview hotel is leaps and bounds above this hotel and actually paid to stay there on our return even though I could have again stayed for free using points at the Tribe -so I think that says it all

Read my review of the Fairview - first class place

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Pdobrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Pdobrow, thank you for sharing your feedback and your opinion here on tripadvisor. We apologize for the hiccups happened to you during your stay. It is surely not our aim to provide unsatisfying service but unfortunately and with all honesty there are moments one experiences challenges out of the normal, so do we and we constantly give our all to resolve them by focused training in all areas of our hotel. We operate for nearly 10 years now and accommodated more than 1 Million guests over all these years to date throughout the hotel. Only 1026 guests (0,1% of all our guests) wrote a review to date with 3% being on the lower scoring side (0,003% of all our guests). You may call it "defensive", I would want to correct and call it "realistic" with all due respect and appreciation. Best regards, Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Great reception and floral on our wedding night. The food was also nice and we really enjoyed the hospitality. However, a lot can be done to improve the check out process which we felt was a bit poor.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TribeHotel, General Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Alan M, thank you so much for your review and your feedback. We appreciate you pointed out the areas for improvement as well and will pay attention to it accordingly. Best regards, Stephan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews