We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff & sure enjoyed that pool!”
Review of Emilio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emilio Hotel
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff & sure enjoyed that pool!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Obviously a much grander hotel in past, the lobby and reception area were very well appointed with brilliant chandeliers, burgundy velvet upholstery, wood paneling, marble flooring and pillars - very fancy. There is a small bar on the far side of the lobby where you can get drinks for a reasonable price. The swimming pool was very nice, plenty of comfy lounge chairs to sit and read and a beautiful view of the Luxor Temple from the rooftop. Breakfast was included and was served on the rooftop as well. It was simple fare: good coffee, toast & jam, cheese, tomato, cucumber. We were there for 3-nights. All in all, very good value for money.

Location was quite handy. A few blocks from the Luxor Temple. The touristic market is up the street to the left; or turn right and wander through the local market where you'll find the vendors pretty much leave you alone to browse (fruits, clothing, spices, clothing, textiles, household items).

Bring earplugs, they are the solution to drivers honking their horns into the wee hours and the cacophony of early morning prayer calls.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    46
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
13
41
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My mother and i stayed at the emilio, and were pleased with the cleanlyness of the whole place! seriously clean! however the other reviews we read before we went out there were correct , the only thing that let that place down was the surly reception desk, however that aside the rest f the staff were lovely and even acted as body guard to my self a few times when some of the local boys tried to get alittle too friendly with me. over all it was lovely. one thing the noise of the traffic is very very load outsie the window, however i found i was so exhausted that i slept anyway and then after the first to nights i got used to it. the hotel is great for people watching, if one enjoys such things!
the view from the pool area is amazin directly onto luxor temple, its beautiful. i was pleased to find i still hadnt lost my appitite for this country and that i was still in love with it.

iv been to egypt three times my self and this time decided to use the consideralby cheaper local tour operators, we used jolleys and sunrise tours. really really good so well organised and half the price for EXACTLY what you get with the big companys!

i went with my mother this time and as she was a first time visitor aloud her to set the pace. i went into the first tour to the valley of the kings feeling like i could be a little bord and may have a chance to tan my self, nooo fear, we were introduced to Ahmed. he created a feeling of learning and instead of pointing out all the normal stuff, on top of that he delved into the culture and the storys and even tried to teach us hieroglyphics! This man cleary loves his work and his counrtys history, when describing the over complicated story of Hatshepsut he used us as pawns to describe the story. iv never had that approach when on a tour and found it immediatly stuck. it was also very funny. we found our selves requesting him for the rest of our tours and he came prepared with print outs for us of the previous day, and because he'd sussed out, we loved learning he approached it in a fun teacher like way!

after the second day i asked him about his training and without much surprise found he was an egyptologist and had studied for many years at various universitys. all i can say it was great to be taken around these monuments by him.

over all egpyt appears to have become alot clamer, there are more women visable on the streets and the hassle appears to be alot less. allthough that maybe because i learnt the arabic for no thank you.

oh and from someone who loves food, there was a pleasant surprise the bad food of years past in egypt has gone!! its fantstic! the wine is lovely too! and snobs is still amazing too!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank col14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I can say two good things about this hotel: the housekeeping staff did a good job cleaning the room, and the employee who cooks eggs in the dining room can whip up a basic tasty omelette in only a few minutes.

As for the rest, I suspect that the owner of this hotel is worried that the governor of Luxor will order it demolished (it's next to the "avenue of the sphinxes" that is currently being restored) and has stopped investing in maintenance. Our bathroom had a toilet that leaked from the vertical pipe when flushed and from the flex hose. The bathroom sink was cracked through. Some members of our group said their bathrooms lacked shower curtains. The stairwell was dark due to broken light fixtures. Our room had only about four inches of clearance along the side of the bed and the cabinet/luggage stand. I've uploaded photos to show some details.

Breakfast is basic -- trucked in bread products and other packaged items, except for the freshly cooked eggs noted above. The front desk isn't very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerberlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxor hotels

London
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Xmas 2010
Arrived Dec 13th at 7.30pm. We walked to the desk, handed them our paperwork and suddenly the manager appeared and demanded £40 for the Xmas dinner. I refused to pay him and he again demanded it and wouldn't give us the room key. Told us we would have to wait till the rep came at about 8.30. after about 15 mins we took out our mobiles and threatened to call the agent in the UK. He finally gave us the key.
The following day he phoned the room and told me to come downsatairs and give him the 40 quid. I did go downstairs and was ready to have a go at him. Having told him I hadn't even seen the menu he took me in his office to find the menu. I have never seen such a messy room before and after 5 mins he couldn't find it so I left.
We made the HUGE mistake of booking half board. The food was, at best, disgusting.
Day 1 dinner was... Soup, Egyptian beans, potatoes, rice and meat in a gravy. Dessert was orange, banana or swiss roll. Day 2 was the same but swap meat for battered fish. Day 3, same again but swap fish for chicken. Day 4...... Repeat Day 1 and so on. The food at its hottest was warm and the veg looked and tasted tinned or frozen. We only had 5 meals before we decided to eat out every night even though we had paid HB.
Reception staff were rude and never smiled. When I asked them to phone the rep for me all of a sudden they couldn't speak english, didn't know who he was and didn't have a phone number for him. I gave them the number and they wanted 5LE to make the call then said no answer. Same happened next day. When I rang him on my mobile he answered within 2 rings. Strange eh?
Rooms are small and we had to pull the bed into the middle of the room so we could open the drawers and get into the wardrobe. Balcony doors didn't lock. Shower curtain was old but was changed after a week for a new one but the hooks weren't changed so the curtain kept falling off.
Because of the location of the hotel its very loud with the traffic and horns honking. The whole hotel could do with a good clean.
They hung up a board outside which read 'Happy New Year 2009' When they were told by my neighbour what year it was they took off the 9, so for the rest of my stay it read ' Happy New Year 200' :-)
For about 4 days the G button in the lift didn't work so we had to get out on the 1st floor and walk down.
The good points are the pool on the roof and our maids, who seemed to be the only nice smiley people in the hotel.
Shocking hotel with awful food and wouldn't even want to walk past it again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnoldlayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The trouble started already on arrival - the manager wanted us to pay also for an "obligatory" x-mas dinner, which was originally not included in the booking. We had later another issue and in both cases the problem was only solved by involving our booking agent. The hotel itself could be standing anywhere - do you expect to find paintings from Tuscany in a hotel in Luxor? The bathroom was good - besides the fact of a cheap dreadful shower curtain that kept falling, broken waste basket and toilet brush. The remote of the TV was broken as well. The air conditioning was from stone age and loud as a diesel engine. Besides the manager also all other personal was rather unfriendly and not helpful. They did not even help in arranging a trip with a public bus. In total the worst hotel experience in 25 years of self-organized travel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meginjardir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
881 reviews
0.4 km away
Philippe Hotel
Philippe Hotel
#49 of 54 in Luxor
42 reviews
1.5 km away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
582 reviews
1.0 km away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#17 of 54 in Luxor
140 reviews
2.0 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emilio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emilio Hotel

Property: Emilio Hotel
Address: Youssef Hassan Street, Luxor, Egypt (Formerly Domina Emilio Hotel)
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Hotel Class:3 star — Emilio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Emilio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Domina Emilio
Emilio Hotel Luxor
Domina Emilio Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing