We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality hotel food and drink expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We booked the hotel through Thomas Cook and paid extra for a clear nile view with balcony . On arrival we were shown to Room 420 which met all our requirements except that the balcony was tiny ,wedge shaped and did not offer a full view of the Nile.We complained and were offered an upgrade at $50 /night . After waiting 30 minutes for the upgrade to be shown to us we were told thetre were no rooms available but the next day we would be offered a similar room with full Nile view .We were transferred to room 322 the next day with a full sized balcony .-for no extra charge !!
The hotel is well located in Luxor and all the staff were pleasant
At our Tour rep meeting the T. Cook rep said everything was fantastic and pushed the organised tours -none of which we went on .
My partner tried the spa -it was rubbish and they were pushing extra treatments whilst carrying out the massage .
Whilst we were happy with the hotel given the price paid it is not a 5* hotel more like 3.5*
We list below the lessons we learnt on our first trip to Egypt .
1, get a taxi driver /guide you can trust -we used luxortaxi.com Hassan was excellent and organised restaurant trips etc . When we said we were interested in going on a Dahabiya (small luxury sailing boat ) he organised a trip to Esna to see his 'Uncles' boat .The trip to/ from Luxor cost E£200 -the going rate -and we got afull tour of the boat and a 3 course meal for free .
2. Carry lots of £1 coins this seems to be the currency of baksheesh (tipping)
3. Eat outside of the restaurant -we recommend Sofra and Africa prices are at least 50-70% cheaper than the hotel
4. Accept that you are going to get some hassle -but we found the useful phrase 'la shu-kran ' (no thank you ) worked wonders -also remember that the Egyptians have a wonderful sense of humour -so engage with them enjoy bargaining with them and understand that they are very poor compared with us
5.Do not drink any of the tap water but try the egyptian food -it is very good
We enjoyed ourselves so much we are hoping to return to the Steigenberger in November

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller trevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,410 - 1,414 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2010

Just returned from a week in Luxor staying at the 5* Nile Palace Hotel and it really is 5*. Service excellent, staff friendly and helpful all the time. Good selection of resturants in the hotel - Italian, Thai, Lebanese. Poole facilities overlooking the Nile has great views of the West Bank. Make sure you go up on the roof to get the best sunset photos of the Nile. This is a good location as you can walk to Luxor Temple and Luxor Museum. A fabulous hotel - will be going back asap!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarmbyTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone planning a trip to Luxor.
The service was excellent and the staff were very professional and friendly.
Although there can be a little bit of hassle on the streets outside and you just need to get past this, take it with a pinch of salt and enjoy the people and the wonders of Egypt.
The hotel room was really nice and quite spacious and was also cleaned every day.
I think this was a great location to explore sights and there were also several really nice restaurants in the area. El Kakabgy,Jewel of the nile and Snobs to name a few.
In the hotel there are several restaurants we tried all of them and they were also great but a bit pricier than those outside.
Our room faced the nile and it is worth paying that little bit more to be able to watch the sunset from your room as it was amazing. We felt completely chilled out after our holiday and would love to go back to Luxor and this hotel.
The trips arranged through the hotel can be a bit pricey although we did decide to go to Cairo
with Thomson to play safe. All our other trips were arranged with a local taxi driver just outside the hotel. His name is Kaled and he took us to The Valley of the Kings, Medina Habu,Luxor Temple and Museum and also Karnak Temple.If we needed to go short distances this wasn't a problem either.The price of all journeys was extremely cheap and he was a really nice man. Ask any of the taxi drivers outside if you are thinking of booking trips and they will phone him for you or point you in his direction.
To the left of the hotel as you go outside is a small shop and a young man named Mohammed works there he is also really helpful and will try and assist you where he can,boat trips, sights etc. We still get texts from him and both him and Kaled helped to make our holiday a memorable one.
We found that quite a few guests in the hotel were intimidated by the hassle on the street and they would tend not to venture out too often but once the locals get used to your face they seem to leave you alone. If the hassle gets a bit too much just completely ignore them and they get the message but whatever you do don't let this spoil your holiday as luxor is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simone71_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

On Jan 22/2010, we stayed one night in this unique 5 star Hotel. Check in was quick & very friendly.This hotel has a courtyard with some of the rooms with balconies looking down .The courtyard is surrounded by several restaurants including a fabulous Lebanese one..We ate a lunch here -yummy! At 8.00 p.m. they had Egyptian dancers ,music etc.

If you want to enjoy the view of the Nile,there are couple restaurants where you can enjoy a nice drink & watch the sunset.Oh yes, the room was a suite,immaculately clean with two bathrooms.
Stay here if you want 5 Star - room cost 92 Euros.

Easy to go around the city on horse & carriage.Paid only 25 EGP for 2 hours.
Make sure you specify EGYPTIAN POUNDS & NOT BRITISH POUNDS,before you get onto the carriage.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank salimhirji77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

First class hotel with great food and excellent service.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.9 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#3 of 54 in Luxor
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#21 of 54 in Luxor
1,572 reviews
0.9 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#17 of 54 in Luxor
965 reviews
1.2 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $62 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing