We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stayed a week here, and it was very comfortable. This is an older hotel, but it has aged gracefully. The bed was good, some of the furniture a bit dated and worn, but rooms are very clean, large, comfy. The staff was amazingly helpful and friendly. We used the guide desk to book tours locally, and were happy with their services. The restaurants and breakfast buffet all offered variety, good vegetarian options, and the food was excellent. Our only criticism (other than aggressive hawkers outside the hotel - which is clearly not the hotel's fault) was the wifi - we paid for wifi in the room and cannot recommend it. The paid wifi was so poor as to be unusable (45 minutes to load a page). To be fair, the wifi issue is an Egypt issue rather than an issue with this hotel specifically. Upon investigation, Egypt's internet infrastructure is poor, and the hotel was doing the best it could with the limitations of the system and the burdens placed on it by burgeoning tourism. Other than the internet, we were really happy with this hotel and had a good experience there. We booked through Agoda, and the hotel offered reasonable prices, but did not include the 12% service charges. You will get charged extra for everything. But I think this is how Egypt works. One thing about the 12% service charge is that it apparently goes in part to the staff, but it is not included on the Agoda pricing.

One other tip - there is a taxi driver out front named Mr. Fish who seems to run all the taxis in front of that hotel (all one big family) - but I have to stress he is not on hotel staff or associated with the hotel. He was pretty straight with us, and we booked a trip to Dendara Temple through him. He also got us to the airport. If you stay there, look for Mr. Fish if you need cab services. Make sure you negotiate a solid price before getting in a cab (ask the hotel what are the average prices for a cab to various sites).

Room Tip: Ask for a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Jenny L,

Warm greetings from the Steigenberger Nile Palace Team and thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your Luxor vacation. We are delighted that you appreciate the graceful, classic structure of our 15 year old hotel. Although not old, we are planning to update the interior design within the near future. We are sorry that the WiFi service did not live upto your expectations but we are happy that this didn't effect your holiday experience. Hoping to see you again soon,

With best regards,

Amina Saady van Baarsen
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Stayed 2 weeks in October for the 10th time , all the staff are great as usual but what we also like is the design-architecture of the hotel all the rooms have a good outlook be it the patio or Nile facing rooms it,s been the only hotel in Luxor we stay in for many years . Special thanks to Mr Hesham the resident manager who kindly took time to visit my wife during a overnight stay in hospital

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank woody845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Woody845,

Warm greetings from the Steigenberger Nile Palace Team and thank you very much for rewarding us with such a great score. Thank you also for your appreciation for the classic design. On behalf of the entire team and especially Mr Hesham, I would like to express the relief we felt when your wife recovered so you could enjoy the rest of your vacation. We hope you are already making plans for next year; please don't hesitate to contact us in case of questions or requests.

With best regards,

Amina Saady van Baarsen
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights as part of a tour. The hotel was nice. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. We found the only place for lunch was the pool restaurant or an expensive buffet. The food was good at the pool restaurant but the service was quite slow. We loved the pool. The water was cold when you got in but you warmed up. Staff at the pool were really helpful. The breakfast included was nice. There were lots of choices. They have a policy that if you take anything with you they will charge you. That was a new one for us. We sat on the patio for breakfast and fed the skinny cats. The only real downside of the hotel was the slow to non existent wifi. It was awful. You could pay $250 Egyptian pounds more for the three of us to use the upgraded wifi for one day. We decided that was way too high. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay. The staff were nice and the hotel is conveniently located

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank DotsGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear DotsGirl2,

Warm greetings from the Steigenberger Nile Palace Team and thank you for staying with us during your Luxor visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food in the Nile Side Casa di Napoli and/or Pool Side Tropicana Bar. Another lunch option, would be the Cafe de Delices on the patio or the Nile Lounge Bar where the guests can enjoy the lunch menu at the Nile Terrace. I am sorry that the internet service was not satisfactory. Our free WiFi is available in the public areas, while there is a small fee (not $250) for WiFi in the room.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be able to join us for another lovely vacation.

With best regards,

Amina Saady van Baarsen
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We had a suite that looked over the Nile and the sunset was spectacular. Dinner was in their Italian restaurant that they have moved to by the pool. The food and service were excellent. We were 3 couples who stayed one night and there were no issues. Because we had an early start the next morning they provided us with generous boxed breakfasts. The front desk and manager who assisted us were friendly, helpful and professional.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lactancia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Lactancia,

Warm greetings from the Steigenberger Nile palace Team and thank you very much for choosing our hotel during your Luxor stay. We hope you enjoyed it so much, that you will be back for a longer vacation in Luxor and of course we would be more than happy to have you as our guest again. Maybe next time, you will spend an evening in our Lebanese Restaurant 'El Tarboush' or try the beautiful buffet in 'Nubia'.
We are delighted that we made such an excellent impression.

With best regards,

Amina Saady van Baarsen
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

I stayed at the Steigenberger Nile palace for eleven days. I just booked a standard room, bed and breakfast.
Previously I have had patio view rooms which I liked and I was expecting just a city view room for the price I paid, which was about $43 AUD a night B & B.
So I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to Room #115 which had both a side Nile view and a view over the pool.
I loved the location in the back part of the hotel (Nubian), the room was very quiet, it had a walk in robe, tea and coffee facilities and was larger than a patio view room.
The first floor was very convenient for breakfast, restaurants, shops, bar and pool. There is no balcony but I didn't miss it and was very pleased with the room, I will request that one in future.
Check in was easy and fast, reception were always helpful and housekeeping were so attentive. I loved the two doormen in the Nubian part of the hotel they were always happy and helpful.
A special mention to Ash, Osama and Ahmed by the pool, they were so kind to me and made my stay just that much better. The pool is excellent, so clean and well maintained.
Another big thank you to Mohamed in the shop opposite the Nubian restaurant, he made me tea nearly every day/night, he was the best company and I have to come back just to visit him. His prices for dresses, bags etc were also very affordable and no sales pressure.
Food and beverage prices were affordable in the hotel considering the drop in the pound. The Italian restaurant was delicious, big portions!
A few other prices - 25 LE large water, 40 LE Lemon with mint drink, 30 LE soft drink, 80 LE Stella beer.
Pool snacks were also delicious, try the summer rolls 120 LE or the Calamari 115 LE.
The staff in every area of the hotel were good, nobody let the team down.
The breakfast buffet is served between 6 and 10.30 am, it was very good, there is something for everyone and it was all very fresh.
I won't bother staying anywhere else in future as the Steigenberger has it all.
I also stayed at the Steigenberger Cecil in Alexandria and the service there was also exceptional.
I look forward to visiting the Nile Palace again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nefertari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steigenberger, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Nefertari,

Warm greetings from the Steigenberger Nile Palace Team and thank you very much for this wonderful review. We were very happy to have you as our guest and we are delighted to hear that you are already planning your next visit. Please don't hesitate to contact us in case of questions or requests; it will be our pleasure to be of service.

With best wishes,
Amina Saady van Baarsen
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.1 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.2 km away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.9 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
942 reviews
6.7 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,567 reviews
1.3 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor

Address: Khaled Ben El Walid Street, Luxor 85111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luxor
#3 Family Hotel in Luxor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#3 Business Hotel in Luxor
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: AU$63 - AU$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel, It is a 5 stars hotel has a unique location amidst relics of a 7000-years-old civilization, in the heart of Luxor, only 1.5 Km. From the temple of Luxor and 10 Km. From Luxor Airport. Guests can enjoy a marvelous view of the mighty Nile in addition to the cliffs of the Theban Mountains on the western bank where the valley of kings and Queens lie. The hotel offers a variety of service and facilities, 11 conferences and break out rooms that can host up to 2000 participants, among other things. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor Hotel Luxor
Steigenberger Nile Palace Hotel Luxor
Nile Palace Luxor
Luxor Steigenberger Nile Palace
Le Meridien Luxor
Nile Palace Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing