We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,186)
Filter reviews
2,186 results
Traveller rating
1,387
557
148
55
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,387
557
148
55
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lebanese restaurant courtyard room nightly entertainment central courtyard pool area excellent hotel west bank city view large balcony guest relations plenty of sunbeds horse and carriage taxi driver egyptian pounds every evening watch the sunset winter palace
Filter
Updating list...
1,506 - 1,511 of 2,186 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We were traveling with Overseas Adventure Travel so we do not really know what we paid but it was at the upper end of the scale for Egypt. Room was large and had a balcony overlooking a central courtyard on the 5th floor. Every night from 8-10PM there was a show on the stage below our window. Internet was very expensive so we did not use it. We ate in Casa di Napoli at the hotel and had a good lunch for two with two beers for about $35. There was an elaborate pool on the river side. The breakfast buffet was the best in Egypt on our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsdukejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

My family and I stayed at the Nile Palace over the Seasonal Period to get away from the commercial nonsense of the UK. What made the holiday for us was the hotel itself. The staff were excellent and couldn't have been more helpful. It really turned out to be an oasis away from the tourist hot spots and hawkers outside the front door.

We did view the sites such as the Valley of the Kings and Queens on the West Bank and also the temples and museums (all recommended) but the hotel itself was a great point of relaxation and relief after all the visits. In terms of the restaurants, the Thai and Lebanese were the best in our opinion. However, of those outside we would recommend the Lantern and the Sofra. The Sofra in particular is a genuine Egyptian restaurant in the heart of Luxor and had fabulous food at a very low price. They served things like freshly squeezed Pomegranate and Papaya juices with Chicken and Fish Casseroles - Highly Recommended.

A further bonus was that we were invited to not one but two banquets by the hotel. The Xmas and New Year banquets were FREE (paid by the tour operator) and featured Lobster Bisque, Red Snapper and a huge variety of other goodies.

We also took a trip on the Nile on a motorboat to visit Banana Island and view the Sunset from the river. Again, highly recommended and you can do this direct from the hotel.

Overall, I would say that the holiday was a real revelation and the service as good as if not better than any other we have experienced on holiday. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JXF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We have just stayed at this hotel for a week. I would highly recommend it. It was a haven of peace compared to the town outside and sitting by the pool overlooking the busy Nile was excellent. The buffet breakfast was excellent too with a wide choice. It's a longish walk from the town centre but when we felt lazy we got the taxis to take us there or back for LE10 about £1.20. We never ate in the hotel reatuarants as the prices were silly compared to outside. We ate out locally every night: Snobs, Maxine, Jewel of the Nile plus a couple in the centre. Never had any tummy problems and cost about £30 for 4 adults.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabsterabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Very lovely hotel with a great breakfast. Location is downtown, near banks, pharmacies, restaurants and pubs.

The pool is absolutely beautiful; however, when they run out of pool towels they give you a facecloth to dry yourselves. The rooms are spacious with lovely views of the Nile. The breakfast was the best we had in Egypt - nice buffet, very clean with quality food. Staff were also very helpful. The hotel has lots of shops.

Location is right on the Nile which is great for view but not so great for the smell of diesel and gas from the boat traffic. Unfortunately, the smell was so bad when we were in the pool we had to leave as we felt sick. It is very strong and obnoxious. This also affects the grounds for the hotel as they have lots of chairs and view points to sit at the River's edge - the smell just makes it hard to enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

We stayed at The Steigenberger Hotel in Luxor in November. The hotel rooms were spacious and ours had a balcony looking down into the courtyard, where the "entertainment" took place each evening. This was the low point of the hotel, and should certainly be reviewed by the hotel, as it was not worthy of a 5 star hotel at all. The show is the same every night, and although the whirling dervish guy is good, it does get boring seeing the same routine every night. The pool area is good and plenty of loungers. However up on the rooftop, there are loungers and umbrellas and a perfect spot for relaxing away from the crowds poolside. It is a good spot to watch the sunsets. The hotel is in a good position for local restaurants, and the museums and temples, and it is a pleasent walk into the centre of town. We would certainly be tempted to visit Luxor again and enjoy the lovely weather at this time of year.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrfc169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews