We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,616)
Filter reviews
1,616 results
Traveller rating
761
514
221
74
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
514
221
74
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sundowner bar opet restaurant moorish cafe carter bar nile cruise taxi driver west bank mercure luxor egyptian pounds large pool buffet style winter sun watch the sunset each evening cleaned every day boat ride pool staff
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,616 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel from hotels.com and stayed in this hotel for one night, the description says there r WiFi internet facilities in room and also the price is included “free WiFi” but there isn’t , the only place you could actually get a free WiFi in at the lobby and it’s super slow. It will cost u another 180l.e if you want to use WiFi in your room. It is unbelievable in a modern time like this, no WiFi in your room and super slow at lobby!
The swimming pool is good but their buffets doesn’t taste like a buffets in a 5 star hotel. (The price is not really expensive as well, 10usd per person for dinner)
Over all, services are not very quick and not as good as I think it should be.
with some little extra money you can find a better hotel like winter palace, I don’t recommend this hotel if u are looking for a 5 star hotel in Luxor.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Compass816882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan F, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Luxor Karnak. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely,

Hassan Fahmy
General Manager
Mercure Luxor Karnak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel feels like an Oasis in the middle of the desert.

Our room was large and very comfortable.
The gardens of the hotel are impressive. Very green and pretty. The main restaurant has an amazing architecture simulating an Egypt temple inside.

The best of the hotel has to be the AMAZING VIEW over the Nile. You can literally put your towel or chair on the grass by the river Nile and enjoy the sunset over the valley of the kings... PRICELESS.

The bad part of our stay was the fact that the hotel doesn't have that many guests (most of the people stay in resorts near Hurghada and only come to Luxor for 1 day trips), so some of the restaurants mentioned in the website and activities are closed/not running.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nuno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan F, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear M.Nuno
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Luxor Karnak.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Hassan Fahmy
General Manager
Mercure Luxor Karnak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

One of remarkable places in the world
Complex of Karnak
One of the wonders of ancient world
And there are a lot of comfortable hotels near the the temple of Karnak
Try to visit the capital of ancient world
Thebes.. City of hundred gates

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank Ambassador820640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan F, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Mr.Ahmed
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Luxor Karnak.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Hassan Fahmy
General Manager
Mercure Luxor Karnak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

We wish to thank everybody at the for a lovely holiday,when we arrived the lady receptionist in the morning was so helpful with everything so 5* for her,rooms were cleaned nicely and well kept.The lads around the pool were very helpful and nothing was to much to ask same goes to the barman in both bars a very good level of service and the drink prices are very good.The chef's did a very good job from start to finish with the food and good quality and prepaired well, we have stayed in most of the hotels in luxor but the level of service from this hotel was out standing so we are giving them 10/10 and we will return next year Phil & Lorraine Peach

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan F, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear Mr.Philip
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Luxor Karnak.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Hassan Fahmy
General Manager
Mercure Luxor Karnak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018

You are always sure of a warm welcome at the Mercure Luxor and this is the third time in 18 months that we have stayed here.
The hotel is situated opposite the majestic Valley of the Kings, separated by the River Nile. It is conveniently located, close to the temples at Karnak and Luxor and reception will happily arrange a visit for you. Set in peaceful gardens, gloriously scented with jasmine and roses, whilst palm trees provide shade throughout, you will soon relax in to your holiday.
Mohammed's Sundowner bar is a great vista to enjoy the sun set directly over the Valley of the Kings. Or why not set sail in the hotel felucca with Captain Agga and experience the spectacular sunset on the Nile.
The large pool is maintained by Mohammed and Mustafa who always ensure you are comfortable, whilst the efficient Amer and Mohammed Lotfy regularly provided us with cooling drinks.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff who will always endeavour to assist you.
The food is excellently prepared and cooked by chef Ahmed Taher, who enjoys feedback on his food, which has led to some fabulous and memorable meals. Ahmed Ramadan, a waiter, is always smiling and helpful, ably assisted by Mustafa, Mhmoud and Mohammed. The Head Waiter, Walid is always keen to help any way he can.
Décor in the rooms is comfortable and typically Egyptian with all the usual facilities: hairdryer, tea, coffee etc.
This is the first time we have visited Luxor in August, and we were concerned that the heat would be oppressive, however, we needn't have worried as there was a light breeze most days which was comfortable.
No-one in our party of nine was ill during our stay and indeed, none of us has ever experienced any illness at this hotel.
We are a family of four, including two teenage girls and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juliejones2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan F, General Manager at Mercure Luxor Karnak, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Ms.Julie
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Luxor Karnak.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,

Hassan Fahmy
General Manager
Mercure Luxor Karnak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews