We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The El Luxor sits on the Nile and we had just the best time. We asked for a room with a view and got one facing the Nile and Egypt sunset over the Valley of the Queens! Beautiful. The staff were just the best. Very friendly and accommodating. Great pool and a short stroll to a market, Luxor Temple and local restaurant. Great rooms, good food, lovely staff. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front away from the lounge areas. We stayed on the 3rd floor. That was great b...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
There are newer reviews for Eatabe Luxor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

we stayed here on the 28th dec 2011 for 1 week . at first sight its ok . the pool area is really nice but you cant get peace from the millions of flies that are around the pool, plus the 8 cats that sleep on the sun loungers when you get of to get something, the food in the evening buffet is cold and at the new year "gala" night we were sold water instead of tequiela? thinking we would not no the difference, and also the vodka was water and the same with the others who were drinking spirits which cost £4.50 each, the room cleaner was stealing cigarettes from the room,(mohammed) . and he left the room filthy ,and the staff that are in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner stand about using there mobile phones all the time which i think is rude and would not happen in the uk , one side of the hotel has been refurbished to a beautiful standard and the other is very poor,,, the hotel was only 40% and the stuck us in the old rooms, wouldnt stay here again . luxor is a great place and a must see but there are other great hotels to stay in. warren fisher

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natwarrenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

El Luxor Hotel 

First impression: somewhat classy, big, spacious and fun. Staff were extremely friendly and were very welcoming. Never asked for tips or expected unless given. Breakfast was absolutely smashing, with a wide range of choices to be spoilt with. Had management present to ensure service was delivered at high expectation. Was kindly invited to Christmas eve dinner which was totally amazing. The table set up, music and lighting was great... Not to forget it was absolutely free... On the house, excluding drinks. Service was very pleasant and was given 6 course mouthwatering meals. Rooms had flat screen tv's which provided with a wide range of English movie channels.View from balcony was superb, it overlooked the pool. Lift is extremely fast and reliable with a touch of a button the lift arrives and takes you to the chosen floor within seconds. 

Downside to the hotel was the flush in the bedroom would not work and maybe the bathroom needed more cleaning.  There was no wifi connection in the entire hotel. There was cable Internet available which was extremely slow. 

Despite some hiccups on the way, where it can be improved , I really enjoyed my stay and time and would recommend others. Ate at the Italian restaurant beside the pool which I really enjoyed despite the kittens harassing us for food. 

TOP TIPS: taxi should cost NO more than 70 Egyptian pounds from the airport to the hotel  (vice versa). The averge price would be 50 egyptian pounds. Be ready to haggle the price. Always drop half price of what the asking price and then make a reasonable deal. Remember nothing in Egypt is fixed price. Also be weary of freebies as nothing is for free. For example, when someone helps you with the luggage or when they offer to take a picture for free. Do not be fooled! Even if it is a short convo, bare in mind there is a catch22. 

Watchout for Hassan who has a horse carriage nearby to the hotel and has no affiliantion. He tends to be very persistant and clingy and not to forget very forceful in making business with you at a high price. Also another thing to point out is the Al Tayyeb guy who has a moustache and rides a boat called Free willy. He is out to rip you with boat cruises at extortion prices with other packages also at a price. He always shows a diary of people who have been on the cruise and have signed it with comments as a way of drumming up business. 

Another guy to look out for is the guy who offers to take you to the Egyptian market... Actually everyone seems to be very keen to take you to the Egyptian market. Don't be fooled!!! Don't fall for 'big market'and 'half price' tags. Been there and seen it. Prices are extortionately high, good job I did the research beforehand from local merchants. Got the same goods, same quality at a fraction of a price. Always be prepared to haggle!!!

Snack time the place to eat!!! Good food at a decent price. Portions are quite big and wifi is free with fast connection. Look out for Mustafa... Top guy!!! Others are also very friendly and welcoming.

Karnak Temple, 20 minutes via horse carriage. Will cost around 15 Egyptian pounds single way. Don't be fooled when they offer to wait for you, as it is another way of increasing and scamming money of you as I speak from experience. Don't be alarmed if you are threatened to pay 150 Egyptian pounds by anyone in order to get tourist police involved. 

Luxor Temple walking distance from the hotel. No need for horse carriage or taxi.

For those who are students ensure that you take your student photo ID card which will entitle you to 50% if not almost 50% discount to most venues, such as temples, tombs and museums etc. 

For those visiting enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

excellent restaurants & bar inside hotel well maintened staff. one advise please do not trust the SECURITY GUARDS as they all are linked with the khalish driver do not give your name or room details for safety. other then that the city and hotel is very beautiful & historic.

Room Tip: rooms next to swimming pool are newly built and offer more modern clean furniture.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rashel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This is the first time I have stayed in a hotel in Luxor - previous trips have been on cruises. Our stay was for only 2 nights, but the experience was so good I wanted to share.
The staff are extremely courteous, helpful and friendly, and Gaber in the bar is a hoot! The place was spotless - and after spending a week on a (very bad) cruise ship, it was wonderful to find that not all Egyptians are 'on the take'. We were in one of the rooms that had not yet been upgraded, but in my opinion, was as good as any hotel in the UK I have stayed at. The view from our room across to Hatshepsut's Temple was superb, and pool was heated just enough. The location of the hotel is perfect for a stroll around Luxor, with the Museum on one side, the Temple on the other, and the Bazaar behind.
My only criticism relates to the Champollion restaurant - we had to ask for garlic bread to go with the soup and the sauce for one of the main meals.
It was a shame that tourism has been affected so badly (some say it's only 20% of last year) as it meant that we were easy prey for caleche owners who stand outside. This was the only real downside.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaggieW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
2.3 km away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.4 km away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
885 reviews
2.2 km away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
894 reviews
4.5 km away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,529 reviews
1.0 km away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Luxor

Been to Eatabe Luxor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eatabe Luxor Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nil Street, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: $24 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eatabe Luxor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of town, overlooking the Nile river, the Mercure Luxor is tucked away amidst shady gardens alongside a crescent moon shaped pool. Our spacious and naturally bright rooms, some of which have facilities for guests with limited mobility, all lookout over the Nile or the gardens. You will be in the perfect place for visiting the fabulous sites of Luxor and Karnak and can be sure of a wonderful holiday with a pleasant combination of leisure and exploration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eatabe Luxor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Luxor
Mercure Hotel Luxor
Accor Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing