We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good property, not so good staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good property, not so good staff.”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Well, I´ve been there for only one night as part of my tour thru Cairo and Giza.
The hotel was offered by the Memphis Tours Egypt (loved them!) and my only night there was good despite the front desk woman that was servicing me and my guide when I arrived was terrible and slow and didn´t tell me about the internet that is paid and when I was at the room another front desk member called me to go back there because that (stupid) lady made a copy of my US Visa, not my photo page of my passport. (doesn´t she knows the difference between a photo page of a passport and a US Visa??? c´mon...)
The room it quite good, very big, comfortable bed, clean and big bathroom with tube, cable tv, balcony and fully carpeted, except the bathroom.
Have in mind that smoking is allowed everywhere in Egypt so, if you are a non-smoker, be sure to ask for a non-smoking roon when checking-in.
I haven´t tried the room service and restaurant for lunch or dinner, just for the breakfast that conveniently starts at 6AM. The options are fantastic, thousands of known and unknown stuff and everything fresh and on the right temperature. At the restaurant I had my 2nd bad experience with staff once I was with my big bag, the waiter at the entrance saw me coming in, waited to me to have a seat to tell me that my bag should be kept outside the door at the corridor. (Why didn´t he tell me that when saw me coming?) and he said that in a very unpolite way. Stupid!
The pool is amazing but I didn´t have time to try it.
Also a smoking area besides the pool is a very warm and beautiful environment to spend some time.
I didn´t cross the hotel gates by myself anytime, the world outside the gate is like a war zone, I was really afraid, unfortunately Egypt is feeling hard the price of the political crisis and every penny is welcome but the city is forgotten. Sometimes I felt was inside the Resident Evil game city Silent Hill. Sad but true.
Anyway, good property for short staying periods, you´ll easily find best options in best neighborhoods if you´re traveling for honeymoon or a romantic getaway or travelling with your family.
For me, as a solo, no big complains.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    199
    128
    48
    43
See reviews for
138
148
66
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at the grand Pyramids hotel for three days in the first week of Feb 2012. This was booked for me by Memphis tours. The first impression of the hotel is that it needs a face lift. But the rooms were spacious and not like the match box size ones we see in Europe. There were two twin beds which are very comfortable...a sitting area....ample clean towels..decent sized bathroom...hot water and temp control in the room. The TV has only 5-6 channels most airing arabic programmes. The Internet connection was a rip off though. LE (Egyptian pound) 30 for half hr, LE 50 for 1hr and LE 100 for a whole day!
There are 3 restaurants in the hotel...one which serves buffet breakfast and meals, an Italian restaurant and a bar housed in a Bedouin style tent on the lawns. The buffet breakfast though huge (that comes with the room) was repetitive...same menu all three days. The italian restaurant had a limited menu but the food was tasty and reasonably priced though the service was tardy. But since the hotel is in an area with not much around, you are obliged to eat your dinner in the hotel since i was advised not to venture out on my own at night since i was a female traveling solo .
But overall, I had a comfortable stay...the ppl were extremely courteous and helpful. Not too bad considering that after a long day of sight seeing all one wants is a hot meal and shower and a comfortable bed!

Room Tip: I was initially given a small room with one small window with no view. On request it was changed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night on a tour to Cairo/Giza from Sharm el Sheikh. The hotel itself is very nice to look at, the rooms were very clean and we had a view of the Pyramids from the balcony. The hotel was quite cold and the heating in the roon didnt seem to work properly. We had dinner at the hotel and the food was awful. It was cold and unedible and the staff were less than friendly - a stark contrast to the treatment we received in Sharm. If I was visiting Cairo again I wouldnt use this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This time i decided to spend the week end vacation inside cairo instead of traveling outside to Sharm or Sukhna, beside it is the mid year vacation.
This hotel is considered as a good in town resort, rooms are clean and comfort, service is excelent, food is very good.
me and my kids enjoyed very much with the indoor heated pool with a good relaxation massage.
Thanks to all staff who did thier best to let us satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarooo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

my family and 2 other families stayed for 2 nights at this hotel on a half board basis, excellent price, rooms were very clean with a nice LCD screen , mini bar and working safe, the staff were all very cooperative especially Miss Ghada at the reception, who located us in very comfortable rooms everyone as he wished. breakfast buffet was very good, contained a wide assortment of cheeses, Egyptian fool, omlette bar, different types of eggs, the pastry chef has to be saluted, there is an open pool we didnt use as the weather was a bit cold and a heated closed one in the spa area, dinner buffet was good, with at least one type of beef one type chjcken and one type of fish plus a variety of side dishes and salads, they also offered a singer at the dinner time and on the second night we stayed at the bedwian tent to enjoy a good voiced singer, too close to the pyramids and sphinx also close to 6 october city were we went to dream park.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenesaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
1.5 km away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
2.7 km away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
3.8 km away
Amarante Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
2.2 km away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
2.8 km away
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pyramids Hotel

Property: Grand Pyramids Hotel
Address: 53 Studio Misr Road | Mariottia Pyramids, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Giza
#17 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price range (per night): $46 - $210
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Pyramids
Grand Pyramids Giza
Grand Pyramids Hotel Cairo
Grand Pyramids Cairo
Grand Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing