We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We booked this hotel because of its reasonable rate and location close to the Pyramids. It was a good choice. The staff is really nice and supportive; and the hotel is decent. Our room was clean, had everything one could need (international TV, a/C, bathroom with tube and hot water, minibar...) and had view of the Pyramids (it took only 20 minutes walking to be at the main gate). Breakfast was good

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirloviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    42
    45
    19
    25
See reviews for
30
49
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Lets start with the good qualities: the wait staff was excellent and tried to be accommodating. The room was ok. It was cleaned every day. Wifi was available in the 9th floor restaurant & the 1st floor business center. The fish soup was delicious & the view of the pyramids were amazing. Now the bad: the reception staff seemed to be trying to scam us every chance they got. They had contacts for camel rides and tours, etc. We didnt trust them immediately & found another reputable tour company without their help. They were visibly upset. Finally, the ugly: under the guise of helping us, one of the managers got us a cab. He wrote in arabic on the card and added the agreed dollar amount. We assumed it was to assist us when trying to get a cab back to the hotel because we spoke no arabic. The amount written on the card was 250% more than what the cabs normally charge for the same commute! Unknowingly to us we had been scammed & became a target simultaneously. The cab driver who took us back to the hotel was looking at us through the rear view mirror for the entire ride. It was VERY uncomfortable. The following day when we took a cab by ourselves we found out why. This is emphatically NOT the right hotel for single women!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giza hotels

London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This hotel is absolutely filthy, I wouldn't even give it a 1* rating.
On arrival we had to ask to change rooms twice before we were put somewhere suitable - every room was dirty, and had this hideous smell of air freshener over stale.
I stayed here for a week with my mother, and we could not wait to leave. The breakfast room is dirty, tablecloths are not clean and cutlery hasn't been washed. The food looks stale no matter how early to go down to eat. I stuck to the bread rolls.

We avoided eating in the hotel restaurant, however on the last day we were exhausted from a trip we had been on, so decided to give it a try. This was a big mistake, I ordered a burger and had taken a few bites before realising it was cold in the middle. I came down with the worse case of food poisoning and have never recovered. This was almost 2 years ago, I now suffer from a chronic condition called Gastroparesis. Before this holiday I was a normal healthy young woman. I regret going to Egypt and especially regret our decision to try the food at this disgusting hotel. It ruined my life.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonKnowItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The Husa Hotel was very accomadating and in a central location to the Pyramids. We arrived just before sunset and the hotel has a panarama view restuarant where we watched the sunset over the pyramids. There is a Mosque right next door and the prayer was blasting at the same time. It also blended with the honking and congestion on the street. A surreal moment after flying for 18 hours. A breakfast buffet was included and it had a nice selection. Staff was polite and accomadating. Make sure you let the bellhop take your bags to your room or he could get fired. The beds are hard and the rooms are dated, but so is everything else in Giza.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing north. They have bay windows to view the pyramids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The hotel was ok, nothing special, we actually had to change rooms because they gave us the wrong type of room (they honestly thought that two of us would be sleeping on a broken sofa bed for the week)

When they did change our room, it was clean, the room service was ok as well. My mum did not like the roll out bed that they had brought for her so I ended swapping with her and I can tell you it was not comfortable.

Despite that, the breakfast was lovely. They served the usual stuff, egg, sausages toast, and continental breakfast things as well but I was particularly impressed when I saw they also had also traditional arabic breakfasts as well.

The hotel staff were very helpful, yes the hotel is a little bit on the tired side and could do with a lick of paint and change of decor, but honestly it was a good stay and at least it was nice and CLEAN. That is always my main point of concern and here they delivered.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
4.3 km away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
1.3 km away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
633 reviews
5.6 km away
Pyramids Plaza Hotel
Pyramids Plaza Hotel
#33 of 41 in Giza
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Grand Pyramids Hotel
#22 of 41 in Giza
536 reviews
6.6 km away
Amarante Pyramids Hotel
9.0 km away
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
Swiss Inn Nile Hotel
#23 of 41 in Giza
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel

Property: Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel
Address: 103, Al Ahram St, Giza, Egypt (Formerly Husa Gawharet El Ahram)
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Giza
Price range (per night): $21 - $150
Hotel Class:3 star — Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2002,renovated on 2014, the hotel is located at Pyramids' Avenue one of the most tourist areas, near the pyramids and the sphinx only one K/m,also hotel located in shopping area where you can found a variety from malls-coffee shop-restaurants-public transportation's. Gawharet Al Ahhram hotel offers 8 suites and 92 rooms full equipped. All of them with air-conditioning, satellite TV, internet service, direct-dial international telephone, room service 24 hours, minibar, complete bathroom, and laundry service-FREE WIFI in rooms and lobby. The hotel has lobby bar, indoor swimming pool, cash point, exchange money NBE bank, gift shop, rent car, beauty club, safe deposit box, fax and photocopy service. Also the hotel has two Restaurants, where you can taste a large, high quality and excellent international cuisine,Health Club. Hotel has a shuttle bus for pick-up and transfers (surcharge) 24/7 all the week ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Gawharet El Ahram Hotel Giza
Gawharet El Ahram Giza
Gawharet El Ahram Hotel Giza
Gawharet Al Ahram Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing