We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best in Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Hostel
Ranked #46 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hostel is excellent right in the downtown area, near the historical tahrir square and minutes away from other great historical attractions that Egypt has to offer. The hostel is great, the staff is very knowledgeable and willing to help you arrange tours, flight transfer, and other things that will help you have a great experience in Cairo. I have stayed at this hostel twice and I plan on staying there again in the near future, the staff provided my with a free airport transfer and a discounted stay at the hostel because this was my second visit there. I would recommend staying at this hostel without reservation. The free breakfast is great, the WIFI is good, and the staff is great!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
7
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I loved staying at this hostel. I stayed there multiple times. The staff was always willing to help me. One night I was supposed to catch a train and was worried about getting on the right one. One of the staff took me to the platform and made sure I was on the right train and in the right seat. It was a very relaxed atmosphere and never got too noisy. I have plans to go back to Egypt in a few months and will definiatly be booking at the Canadain Hostel.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the elevator so you dont have to listen to it open and close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerchick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I found the Canadian hostel to be one of my top experiences in Cairo, Egypt. The place was great, very clean and tidy, plus a real legit feeling, safe, and the staff was GREAT! They were very kind and friendly to all of their travelers never hesitating to give advice about what to see and what to eat in Cairo, it only helped me truly enjoy my time in Egypt. Seriously I’ve done a lot of traveling and have stayed in many hostels, but the Canadian hostel in Cairo is top notch. Don't pass up the chance to visit Egypt, and this wonderful place!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are Great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

I am from Canada and when I was searching for place to stay in Cairo, the hostel name and flag made a connection right away. The Canadian Hostel is in heart of Cairo, steps away from Revolution Sq (Tahrir Sq) and world famous Egyptian Museum. Other than location, my room was very comfortable and the ever smiling staff was like icing on cake. The tour guide, Mohamed, helped in arranging my Egypt tour and I was very impressed with the service. Overall, I really enjoyed and specially my stay in this Hostel. I was travelling for a year and Egypt was towards end of my journey around the world and what better treat you can get...home away from home. All the best !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I found the Canadian Hostel by chance. I was looking for a nice, cheap place in the middle of Cairo and here it is. Well, we don't talk about 5* or 4*, but when you main interest is to discover Cairo, then it is the right place. I left early in the morning and returned late at night. My bed was clean, i got a warm shower and had my privacy. The staff is nice and helpful, gives you useful tips, where to go and what to see. I met different people from all over the world and i like to belong to this "huge family of packpackers". Anytime again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.1 km away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#36 of 126 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.3 km away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 48 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 km away
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
Wake UP Cairo Hostel
#3 of 126 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Museum View Hotel
Museum View Hotel
#51 of 126 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.8 km away
Blue Bird Hotel Cairo
Blue Bird Hotel Cairo
#20 of 126 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.7 km away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hostel

Property: Canadian Hostel
Address: 5 Talaat Harb Street 1st florr | Tahrir Squire- Down Town - Cairo, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 126 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Canadian Hostel is the Best Hostel in Cairo, Egypt, and perhaps the best in Africa!" We are located right in the centre of downtown Cairo, across the street from the subway and with a 5 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum it makes us hard to beat as the best place to stay.Please enjoy our friendly atmosphere, great service and hospitality. Breakfast is included (Egyptian & Continental) and our staff will exert each and every effort to make your stay a comfortable one.Almost all our rooms have air conditioning, including our dorm room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Canadian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing