We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Coptic Cairo
from USD 36.00
More Info
from USD 45.00
More Info
from USD 40.80
More Info
from USD 29.38
More Info
Reviews (2,012)
Filter reviews
2,012 results
Traveller rating
1,265
575
142
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,265
575
142
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging church holy family ben ezra synagogue jewish temple christian history st george mar girgis abu serga baby jesus king herod old church virgin mary coptic area narrow streets lots of history christians bacchus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 2,012 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2019

It's a nice quarter and worth the visit, BUT, we were there on Orthodox Holy Friday and couldn't enter the Churches because mass was on.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Margarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019

I was really excited to see Coptic Cairo. I had the same guide on two different days for Islamic Cairo (quite good) and Coptic Cairo (a bust). The guide knew little about the early Coptic Church and didn't seem to be comfortable in the churches. We walked in and through and then out again, without any real explanation of what we were seeing. There were some other tours going on with excellent tour guides who were well versed in the art of the churches and the legends that went with them. Our guide was more into stopping to have tea.

Had I realized how little background I would receive I would have downloaded a walking tour from the net and just booked a taxi to take me to a starting point. Hugely disappointing.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank karlakjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2019

Very interesting part of the city with lots of history. Unfortunately it is well-tourist-ed and is very small so it can be hard to get around. But the churches, synagogues and mosques are well worth the visit

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2019

We had a fleeting visit to the Coptic in Cairo but found it fascinating with beautiful mosaics and we were fortunate enough to hear the congregations singing. Enjoyed it.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2019 via mobile

Inside this heavily guarded compound, one can find a variety of interesting churches, nunneries and monasteries which are well worth a visit.

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank FrenchTraveller001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews