We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Coptic Cairo
from USD 36.00
More Info
from USD 45.00
More Info
from USD 40.80
More Info
from USD 29.38
More Info
Reviews (2,012)
Filter reviews
2,012 results
Traveller rating
1,265
575
142
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,265
575
142
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hanging church holy family ben ezra synagogue jewish temple christian history st george mar girgis abu serga baby jesus king herod old church virgin mary coptic area narrow streets lots of history christians bacchus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 2,012 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

The Coptic Museum and Churches is one if the better kept attractions in Cairo. The place is fairly clean with not too many hawkers selling tic tac. The inside of all the churches are clean and well cared for. Its well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank johncV5880SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

We visited various of the old Coptic churches including those linked with the Roman time. I found them interesting and relatively non-commercial. I would recommend this activity particularly if you want to know something of the early Christian history of Egypt.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Jastogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

My wife and I were very surprised by the quality of this museum. The wooden roofs in the individual rooms were breathtaking.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank MarkandSheri954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

This was one of my favorite things to see. I noticed many Christians in Egypt that have a tattoo of a crucifix on their wrist. I think that the Christians of Egypt continue to struggle with acceptance. was nice to see the church and synagogue. there are less than 20 Jewish people living in Egypt.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank heatherwR2201GS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

The Coptic Museum has a nice collection of old religious artifacts that will interest some people more than others. There are a few old churches and an old synagogue that you access along a narrow crowded alleyway lined with souvenirs. The churches and synagogue are historically significant, but are as interesting to read about as they are to see in person. If you are limited in time in Cairo, and especially in Egypt, do not feel compelled to prioritize a visit to Coptic Cairo.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank alaskantravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews