We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fabulous Food, Intriguing Atmosphere, Affordable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abou el-Sid

Abou el-Sid
Ranked #10 of 4,132 Restaurants in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 100
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
186 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Intriguing Atmosphere, Affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

A perfect introduction to authentic Egyptian cuisine and ambiance. I ordered two appetizers- lentil soup and kobbeh (ground lamb burgers with baba ghanouj and pita) and lemonade with mint. My friend ordered a grated green salad and grilled quail. I could have happily ordered half the items on the delectable menu. The decor reminded me of an artsy coffee house. Just gorgeous. Lunch for two was about $20. I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    324
    108
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and good for a cold one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This restaurant was first introduced to me last year in July 2011, beautiful authentic and not really expensive place, you can enjoy a good glass of wine with your meal as well, I would recommend trying the Charcasiah item number 38 I think, it's amazing, also the shrimp with rice is really tasty.

One of the very few places I had a good white Russian at.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hassan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great meze to start and then we tried Classic Egyptian dishes including fettah and circassian chicken. Great tastes, good service and nice atmosphere at a great price. They dont take credit cards

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“you better go hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

i heard about this restaurant form a friend here in the states and when i went there the portions were huge and deliciouse

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Hanye_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Splendid Meal in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We had a wonderful meal at this lovely restaurant. Not just the stuffed pigeon and the roast lamb, but the setting -- a dark, smoky room (smoky, yes, because of the sheeshas, which smelled wonderful). Friendly service. A real respite from the cacaphony of Cairo. Situated in an interesting and accessible neighborhood.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ehb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abou el-Sid also viewed

Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Abou el-Sid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing