We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room with moth balls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yoo's Family Guesthouses Yeorumjip
Ranked #107 of 958 Seoul B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2011

At first I was so excited to have a clean room and bedding with actual sheets (after staying at so many grungy guesthouses). The first night we stayed in a larger room which was pretty nice but had no private bath (this room was normally priced much higher). But the rest of the stay was in a tiny room with private bath which we did not enjoy.

Pros:
Walking distance to Insadong and palaces
Hanok (traditional house) experience.
Friendly (french?!) staff speaks excellent English and were very helpful and courteous.
Clean!!! Actual clean sheets and bathroom.
Pretty quiet actually
Air conditioning

Cons:
The hanok experience makes you realize why people moved into modern apartments
Mosquitoes (we shouldn't have opened the windows since there were no screens. After we kept them shut it was no longer a problem)
Toxic moth balls in the bathroom, and yet still lots of tiny moths everywhere. The mothball smell was so strong our clothes still smell.
No fresh air because we couldn't open the windows because of the mosquitoes.
Room was really tiny, maybe about 7' x 7'. They should not give it to two people and charge $70!!!
Room had no view or sliding door into courtyard.
No air conditioning control
No breakfast only tea/coffee
No wifi from room
Never met the Yoo family

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beaniepye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Yoo's Family Guesthouses Yeorumjip
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2010

It's a recently restored Hanok. Fun to stay in but you can hear everything through the paper walls, literally paper - its traditional! The kids enjoyed sleeping on the floor. These guys I think are just getting used to guests and need to get there booking system in order! There was various emails and uncertainty about whether we had a room or not - it was a Saga so much so they gave a refund for the second night. A part from this it was a good place to stay, clean friendly etc. The second night we stayed in their second place which was very peaceful no other guests. So once they have sorted out their booking system then I would recommend! And book direct not via Asia Rooms!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chomolongma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshinonosato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 傑森王
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
Thank Stefano I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
AMASS Hotel
AMASS Hotel
#122 of 500 in Seoul
109 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Sarangchae Hanok Guesthouse
Sarangchae Hanok Guesthouse
#406 of 958 in Seoul
4 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Changdeokgung Sodam
Changdeokgung Sodam
#127 of 958 in Seoul
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
Doo guesthouse Bukchon
#66 of 958 in Seoul
99 reviews
Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Haemil Hanok Guesthouse
Haemil Hanok Guesthouse
#65 of 958 in Seoul
71 reviews
Samcheongdong / Bukchon
Hanok Guesthouse 201
Hanok Guesthouse 201
#75 of 958 in Seoul
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yoo's Family Guesthouses Yeorumjip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yoo's Family Guesthouses Yeorumjip

Address: 19, Yulgok-ro 10-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul 03134, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul > Gwanghwamun / Jongno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 958 B&Bs / Inns in Seoul
Price Range: $85 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yoo's Family Guesthouses Yeorumjip 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoo's family guesthouses are Korean Traditional house called Hanok. Each house has four rooms, for 1~2 people. Our guesthouses were renovated 6 months ago. The staff can speak Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese, and French. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Yoo's Family Guesthouses Yeorumjip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yoo`s Family Guesthouses Hotel Seoul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing