We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
AU$226
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 June
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Dewald
Vancouver, Canada

Not quite aboveboard

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Mar 2020
The arrival experience at is this hotel is pretty cool and unique. Unfortunately, the reception did not mirror the excitement I felt walking up the gangway of this vintage yacht in Yangon.

Rooms are generously sized and packed with vintage quirks. Mod cons like the kettle, tv and remote had a fresh coat of gold spray paint to blend in with the look and feel of the room. The public spaces on the yacht felt empty and unwelcome. I spent the majority of my time shoreside at the V Hangout, here the staff here were relaxed and personable.

I appreciate that some things need are curiosities while traveling in foreign countries, however, not sure how many people will feel comfortable with the electrical cabling running along the shower pan. While the pipe seemed insulated, I still felt apprehensive during my showers.

Would I stay here again? With a conference group, perhaps - as a traveler, no.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
information services, Sales at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Dewaldo2016,

Greetings from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel!!!
Thank you so much for the feedback.

However, at the outset we would like to apologize for the unfortunate
experience mentioned above at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel.

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us as that
will allow us to better understand your experience and take necessary
corrective action.

We would like to treat feedback and suggestions as gift and inculcate
a culture amongst our staff of constant improvement and service
recovery. We hope that in the future, these shortcomings are not only
minimized but wholly eradicated through constant improvement.

We put a lot of importance on service standards and training related
to hotel operations and after your experience we have only become more
vigilant and attentive.

We really hope that you give us a chance to serve you again in future.

Regards,
Team Vintage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
AU$181
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$58
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
Tripadvisor
AU$164
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$38
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Exterior
Tripadvisor
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.1 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$129
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.6 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$122
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.9 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$102
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$116
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$53
  • Booking.com
3.2 km from Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
134
99
41
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
99
41
13
15
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2020 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights, but could have easily stayed longer! We got a river-view room which was amazing value at $69USD a night. The hotel offers airport transfers for $20USD each way, although you could definitely get cheaper. The staff were so attentive and lovely (with good spoken English) even packing us breakfast before our 5:30am departure! We found the room to be very clean and comfortable, with fantastic 1920s character from the taps to the old fashioned phone. The view from the restaurant was beautiful, and the menu was very diverse. Some great vegetarian options at a reasonable price. Also cocktails were only $4USD! Would recommend and would stay again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TraceyG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VLYH, Director of Sales at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2020

Dear TraceyG_13,

You just blew our mind away with your fantastic review leaving us flattered and out of words.
We're really glad you enjoyed a great experience with us at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel! :) Was a total pleasure having you and your boyfriend with us, and we look forward to many more visits to soak up the sun and enjoy more !

See you super duper soon :)

Regards,
Team Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

Downtown Yangon V - Hotel Yacht was able to relax at the restaurant on the deck.
Got a tour of the boat some serious vintage ☺️
Menu price was not bad and they had a suite with your own sauna per night 200$
Great sunset view if you in the area stop over.
“It was extremely quiet so felt you had the boat to your self 🤭

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dkedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VLYH, Director of Sales at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2020

Dear dkedwards,

Thanks for writing in and sharing your review with us. Happy to know you find our hotel a good place to relax and enjoy the sunset. Glad you savoured a fulfilling meal with us and we would love to have you again for another round of gourmet delights, so do come back super soon!

Regards,
Team Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

Getting there from the airport, avoid peak hour which starts around 4pm, took us 1.5 hours. Also get a fixed taxi cost we settled on 15,000 MYR there and used Grab on the way back which cost 9,000MYR. The yatch is nice, we had a suite at the front of the yatch with an amazing view of Yangon river. It is noisy as you are on the river and there is constant boat traffic, we were there for 3 nights so wasn't a major concern for us. The food is excellent and the room service, restaurant service is good, I wouldn't say great. The bar service is average, no white wine for the first 2 nights while across the wharf 3 minute walk the store sold white wine...finally approached management and offered to buy from the store, but thankfully they apologised and fixed the problem, The spa is great and well priced definitely recommend the massage. Overall was a nice worthwhile experience.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VLYH, Director of Sales at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2020

Dear chris h,

Thank you so much for your review. You inspire us to continuously work hard and strive towards improvement.
Your feedback is important to us. We are constantly working on upgrading our services to give our guest the best experience.

We really hope to get a chance to serve you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Vintage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

I had very good time during my stay in this hotel. The staff was excellent and very friendly . The front office staff especially micky's may may are very helpful and run the extra mile to help you. The ambiance is very good.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank himajith25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VLYH, Director of Sales at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2020

Dear himajith25,

We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience and we appreciate your valuable feedback. We will continue our efforts to maintain the standards you expect from us. Will convey how her out of the way guest service is appreciated. Hope to have you with us again soon.

Warm Regards,
Team Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

Our company has used the Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel to organise week long training events for our staff numerous times. The service, facilities and friendliness of the staff is always first rate. They are always accommodating to our requests. The food provided is varied and delicious. The chef is able to cook excellent Myanmar, Indian, Chinese meals. It is a very relaxed and pleasant place to spend a week. The location is quiet, on the river, but only 5-10 minutes by taxi to downtown. Highly recommended.

Room tip: ask fro a river view room
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanbQ5414RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VLYH, Director of Sales at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2020

Dear Mr. jonathanbQ5414RZ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share you wonderful feedback about your week long training sessions. We are delighted to read that you and all your colleges had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our team, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at Vintage Luxury Yacht Hotel in the near future.

Thanks & Regards,
Team Vintage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews