We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TravelSavvyMsX
Singapore, Singapore

Old-style in appearance, but recently renovated bathrooms, helpful staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Mar 2020
The hotel looks old-style in appearance but the ambience is of more gracious times. Rooms are airy and well-lit and the bathrooms have been renovated recently. Rooms facing the main road don’t have much of a view since they face high rise buildings. A couple of rooms have a sliver of a view of the Shwedagon Pagoda but we were told the rooms are noisy because of the zoo that adjoins the hotel.
Positives: the hotel is walking distance (15-20 minutes stroll) from the Shwedagon Pagoda. Second, the hotel staff are excellent - helpful and efficient. The hotel manager himself chatted with hotel guests, suggesting places to see and how to get there. The breakfast buffet was extensive, with many cuisines and choices. We had an early morning flight and the hotel gave each of us a generous packed breakfast. Taxis are available easily on the road outside the hotel. Or the concierge will hail a cab for you and give you a rough estimate of how much the ride will cost.
Date of stay: January 2020
Room Tip: Rooms facing the road have views of buildings. Rooms with a pagoda view are close to Yangon Zoo...
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear TravelSavvyMsX,

Thank you for your recent stay here at Rose Garden Hotel.

We are pleased to know that with our "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service we provided you an enjoyable time.

Rose Garden is proud to offer an atmosphere where local culture is combined with modern features. We would like our guests to get a feeling of Myanmar.

Hope it will not take too long to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$122
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$164
  • Trip.com
    AU$107
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$75
  • Official Site
    AU$97
  • Priceline
    AU$64
  • Expedia.com
    AU$97
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$96
  • Official Site
    AU$184
  • Trip.com
    AU$89
  • Expedia.com
    AU$160
1.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$94
  • Expedia.com
    AU$120
  • Agoda.com
    AU$77
  • Priceline
    AU$120
1.3 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$57
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$49
  • Expedia.com
    AU$66
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$42
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$47
  • Agoda.com
    AU$39
  • Vio.com
    AU$42
1.0 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
AU$105
  • Expedia.com
    AU$141
  • Hotels.com
    AU$141
  • Priceline
    AU$139
4.1 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$40
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    AU$39
  • Trip.com
    AU$64
  • Agoda.com
    AU$39
2.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$104
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Vio.com
    AU$92
  • Priceline
    AU$96
4.3 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$109
  • Expedia.com
    AU$134
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Hotels.com
    AU$134
6.5 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
366
278
50
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
366
278
50
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Stayed in Rose Garden Hotel.
Really nice hotel and staff great.
Abit out of the way but taxis are cheap to get to the markets and around town.
Try the BBQ place across the road. Great local food and cheap.

Date of stay: November 2019
Thank gyeoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Dear gyeoi,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your stay in Yangon.

Happy to know that you fully savored our famous "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service and left us with a nice experience.

Rose Garden Hotel's is located just a 15-20min stroll away from the city centre and the famous Shwedagon Pagoda which is a must to visit for a perfect sunset picture. Close to us, within 5min walk, is Yangon's Kandagy Park, a green heaven within the town.

We hope to welcome you soon back again.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2020

The amenities are good with good size rooms and a pleasant sitting out area around the pool. The meal provided for our tour group was very good and if you can use the happy hour, the drinks prices are reasonable. Our problem is that when we came to check out at about 22:30 on Sat 18 Feb an additional charge of 4 USD had been added to our bill for water from the mini bar. The hotel provided two bottles of complimentary drinking water and our tour company provided us with as much bottled drinking water as we wanted. We had no reason to use the mini bar water. The dispute was raised with the receptionist but she said that she did not have the authority to remove the charge. We called for the duty manager and he would not take our word that we had not taken water from the mini bar. We took him to our room and showed him that the mini bar was well stocked with 2x 1 ltr of and a smaller bottle. We pointed out to him that there was no stock record/inventory of the mini bar contents so we had no knowledge of what should have been in the mini bar when we arrived. The manager then agreed to remove the charge but with no grace or apology. Suggest to future residents that you insist on a stock list for the mini bar when you move in

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2020

Dear JohnTF10UK,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your stay in Yangon.

We are pleased to know that in general your stay with us was enjoyable but apologize for your experience on check-out.
It is our aim to constantly improve our services and with your feedback we will see another step in the right direction.

Hope to welcome you again during your next visit to show you are improvements.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We stayed here 2 nights and had a nice stay but this isn't our type of hotel. It is a huge tourist hotel and we tend to like smaller places with more character. But this hotel is clean, comfortable and staff was nice and efficient.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KrisAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear KristaChicago,

Thank you for your two nights stay here with us.

We are happy to know that overall you had a nice stay with us.

Rose Garden Hotel is proud to combine local tradition with modern features. The hotel's design focuses on the vast culture Myanmar is offering.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Very nice and clean rooms. Our room had a beautifull view. The staff is very kind and helpful.

The location is very good and in a quite part of Yangon. You need to take a taxi to go downtown, but the staff will help you with that.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MariaT2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear MariaT2428,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden to be your home away from home here in Yangon.

We are happy to ready your comments. Knowing that you had an enjoyable stay with us makes us proud.

When will you be back again?

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

At the end of a three week holiday in Myanmar we spent our last two nights at the Rose Garden. The front desk matched the price advertised on Agoda and we had a lovely two nights. Staff where fantastic (most are in Myanmar) exceptionally clean. All food was excellent and the pool one of the best we experienced in Myanmar. Rose Garden will be our “go to” in Yangon from here on..... we visit often.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank simonfV2079VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Dear simonfV2079VD,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your stay here in Yangon.

It makes us proud to know that you have a great time with us and fully savored our "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service.

We already look forward to welcome you soon back again.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews