We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John H

False mini bar charge

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Mar 2020
The amenities are good with good size rooms and a pleasant sitting out area around the pool. The meal provided for our tour group was very good and if you can use the happy hour, the drinks prices are reasonable. Our problem is that when we came to check out at about 22:30 on Sat 18 Feb an additional charge of 4 USD had been added to our bill for water from the mini bar. The hotel provided two bottles of complimentary drinking water and our tour company provided us with as much bottled drinking water as we wanted. We had no reason to use the mini bar water. The dispute was raised with the receptionist but she said that she did not have the authority to remove the charge. We called for the duty manager and he would not take our word that we had not taken water from the mini bar. We took him to our room and showed him that the mini bar was well stocked with 2x 1 ltr of and a smaller bottle. We pointed out to him that there was no stock record/inventory of the mini bar contents so we had no knowledge of what should have been in the mini bar when we arrived. The manager then agreed to remove the charge but with no grace or apology. Suggest to future residents that you insist on a stock list for the mini bar when you move in
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Dear JohnTF10UK,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your stay in Yangon.

We are pleased to know that in general your stay with us was enjoyable but apologize for your experience on check-out.
It is our aim to constantly improve our services and with your feedback we will see another step in the right direction.

Hope to welcome you again during your next visit to show you are improvements.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$95
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$83
  • Expedia.com
    AU$92
1.3 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$105
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
  • Melia.com
    AU$115
4.1 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$122
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$113
  • Expedia.com
    AU$164
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$57
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$55
  • Expedia.com
    AU$64
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$75
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$60
  • Official Site
    AU$97
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$96
  • Official Site
    AU$184
  • Agoda.com
    AU$91
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$113
  • Agoda.com
    AU$108
  • Expedia.com
    AU$134
6.5 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Agoda.com
    AU$87
  • Hotels.com
    AU$108
4.3 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$43
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$40
  • Trip.com
2.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
366
278
50
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
366
278
50
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2020

We stayed here 2 nights and had a nice stay but this isn't our type of hotel. It is a huge tourist hotel and we tend to like smaller places with more character. But this hotel is clean, comfortable and staff was nice and efficient.

Date of stay: April 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KrisAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear KristaChicago,

Thank you for your two nights stay here with us.

We are happy to know that overall you had a nice stay with us.

Rose Garden Hotel is proud to combine local tradition with modern features. The hotel's design focuses on the vast culture Myanmar is offering.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Very nice and clean rooms. Our room had a beautifull view. The staff is very kind and helpful.

The location is very good and in a quite part of Yangon. You need to take a taxi to go downtown, but the staff will help you with that.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MariaT2428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Dear MariaT2428,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden to be your home away from home here in Yangon.

We are happy to ready your comments. Knowing that you had an enjoyable stay with us makes us proud.

When will you be back again?

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2020

At the end of a three week holiday in Myanmar we spent our last two nights at the Rose Garden. The front desk matched the price advertised on Agoda and we had a lovely two nights. Staff where fantastic (most are in Myanmar) exceptionally clean. All food was excellent and the pool one of the best we experienced in Myanmar. Rose Garden will be our “go to” in Yangon from here on..... we visit often.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank simonfV2079VD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger G , General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2020

Dear simonfV2079VD,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your stay here in Yangon.

It makes us proud to know that you have a great time with us and fully savored our "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service.

We already look forward to welcome you soon back again.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

We stayed 4 nights in a "Bamboo Executive Suite" (room nr. 310) which came with large twin beds and a bathroom with a bathtub as well as a shower. The beds were quite firm, almost too hard for me, but turned-out to be comfortable in the end. The lighting in the room was minimal, but we could order additional bed lamps (without it, it's impossible to read). The room was huge, with a large seating area. Our room came with free minibar, plus complementary pre-dinner canapes and coctails in the first floor bar area, plus - amazingly - laundry credits (which we used indeed, thank you!). Staff (reception, concierge, security etc.) was very attentive and friendly. The aircon functioned fine, the wifi however was just okay (was fading out sometimes, requiring to re-login each time). Housekeeping was excellent. Breakfast buffet was enormous and of excellent quality. The inhouse dinners, on the other hand, were below average, so after that experience we took dinner elsewherein town. The location is great, it's quiet, not far from the Schwedagon Pagoda (20 minutes walk, 5 minutes by taxi), and close to the zoo and the Kandawgyi Lake (the boardwalk was unfortunately under reconstruction). One afternoon we enjoyed the outside pool area, the deck-chairs can fill-up quickly though, so be early! Easy taxi rides to the city center and the river. We recommend this hotel. It's too bad that the top floor is conference area only, it would have been fantastic to have a bar/restaurant for the views from there.

Room tip: Bamboo executive rooms are very large, and offer nice extras
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eelco2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Holger Groninger, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2020

Dear eelco2013,

Dank je, for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your stay in Yangon.

We are very proud knowing that you had an enjoyable time with us and that you savored our famous "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service.

It will hopefully not take too long to welcome you back again.

Have a nice weekend.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020

Don't understand how this place could get LESS than a 5-star rating. It's the best.

First: the hotel. Pristine. Spacious. Divine pool deck. Opulent, airy parlor areas. Rooms are so large and comfortable. Great food for all meals. The complimentary breakfast buffet is unrivaled. No kidding. This is literally the best deal in Myanmar. You feel like a king or queen the moment you arrive. And you are sad to leave.

Second: the location. It's not near hectic downtown but a short taxi ride away. You can walk to Kandawgyi Lake (great for morning walk on the boardwalk above the water). 5 minute ride to Shwedagon pagoda. You're in the city but away from the hustle and bustle

Third: the service. The boys at the entrance are beyond helpful and friendly and fun. The front desk staff is amazing - helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. Pool staff is great. Bar staff is great. Restaurant staff is great! OK now I'm gushing.

This is our home away from home when visiting Yangon. When in Myanmar, you will likely pass through Yangon. Take at least a night here if not several and feel pampered and at such a GREAT VALUE!

Room tip: All rooms are great. Seriously.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Schydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Dear Schydes,

Thank you for your recent stay at Rose Garden Hotel, your home away from home.

We are very proud knowing that you had a fantastic stay with us. Your words speak for themselves and we can promise that we will continue to impress you and our guests with our famous "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service.

Hope it will not take too long to welcome you back.

Wish you until then all the best.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews