We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kazia66
Rainham, United Kingdom

Excellent!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2020via mobile
We only stayed here for 1 night but managed to get a good look around and used a lot of the facilities. First of all, a lady called Veronica contacted me prior to our arrival and offered an upgrade to a better room with a host of other benefits for an extra $25. The main benefit for us was the guaranteed early check in at 10 and the view of Shwedagon Pagoda. The upgrade also included free beer and wine and canapes between 6 and 8 PM. We were due to arrive in Yangon at 6 am that day and all we needed is a relaxing day at the pool so the upgrade was gladly accepted. We got to the hotel just after 7 I think, we left our luggage and went for breakfast in the nearby coffee shop. We returned at 9 am ready to wait another hour but were told the room was ready! We stayed in room 546. The room was beautiful, very big with the promised view of the Pagoda. Our upgrade also included free mini bar (yay!) and really high end bathroom toiletries. The only thing that we weren't sure about were the outside noises. The hotel is located just outside the zoo and there were some pretty loud lion noises throughout the day and night which felt like you were on a safari. Pretty weird but we found it funny. We spent the day at the pool which was really nice. We had some lunch there too. In the evening, we took full advantage of the free beer and wine in the Verandah bar but the canapes were disappointing. We got 2 plates of the same canapes, nothing amazing, I think I expected more from this option given it's a 5 star hotel. It was also super loud in the due to the CNY celebrations, the drum noises went on forever. After 8 we went back to our room and got room service which was delicious but took a while to get delivered. We weren't in a rush though so all good. We arranged a taxi for the next morning with the concierge who was also helpful in getting our postcards sent for us. The breakfast was plentiful and really varied as you would expect from such a hotel. Pretty much anything you wanted was there and were were gutted we only had 20 minutes to eat, should have got up a bit earlier! Overall, it is a lovely hotel and good value for money for such a luxurious place. The location is also good, in the more leafy and upmarket area of Yangon, walking distance to a mall and Karaweik Palace area.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 5 Feb 2020
Dear kazia66,

Thank you for choosing the Rose Garden Hotel to be your home in Yangon.

All of us here at the hotel are very happy that we provided you with an impressive stay and that you savored the atmosphere / unique service we are able to offer.

Any plans to be back soon?

We wish you until your return all the best.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$166
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$97
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    AU$97
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$93
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$93
1.3 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
AU$141
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
4.1 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$161
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    AU$185
1.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$66
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.9 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$108
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
4.3 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
AU$102
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$102
4.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$31
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$135
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$135
6.5 km from Rose Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (714)
Filter reviews
714 results
Traveller rating
366
278
50
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
366
278
50
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 714 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2020 via mobile

A grand hotel in older style tastefully updated but still with those classic lines. The staff were amazing, we had several times where someone just went over and above to make sure we had the best service imaginable.

Breakfast is a highlight and set items go with others that change daily. We ate so well in the morning that we skipped lunch. I especially appreciated the Burmese dishes and the chance to try local cuisine in small portions.

We thought the location was fine. Each morning we got up early and walked at Kan Daw Gyi Lake before returning to the hotel for breakfast. Then we headed off for a visit somewhere before it got hot. We walked to the Shwedagon complex, for example. We retreated to the hotel and relaxed at the pool or in our room before venturing out for dinner. Yangon has so much to choose from for cuisine. We particularly enjoyed the street food on 19th Street.

We used Grab taxis to get around to further places. It's easy, prompt, and you know the exact fare in advance.

The Rose Garden is an excellent choice for a stay in Yangon.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2020

Dear Rick B,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel for your home away from home here in Yangon.

Going the extra mile and going above the normal is something others promise but I am happy to know that our team did it for real.

Any plans to come back soon again?

From all of us here at Rose Garden Hotel, we wish you until your return all the best.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

We stayed here when we first arrived in Yangon and then again at the end of our time in Myanmar. The view of the pagoda from our room both times was magical. On our second visit, our room was overlooking the zoo with the tiger crying most of the day and night. We visited the zoo and saw how poorly he was treated and I cried every time I heard the roars.

The breakfast on the first floor was the best, so make sure you have that included with the room.

Happy hour lasts until 8 pm and is a great deal.

Just a lovely hotel that I would recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear Bonnie S,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Yangon.

We are sorry to hear that the visit to the Zoo created negative emotions for you.

However knowing that your stay with us was very enjoyable makes us very proud and we hope to welcome you soon back again.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

A very nice hotel with a fabulous ambience. But what impressed me most was the service. I had put a large amount of local currency in the safe and it was hidden in the back corner. One day after my departure I received a message from the hotel through my tour guide: the room service discovered the money. Two days later I had it in my hand. This honesty in such a poor country with such low wages impressed me deeply. Very recommendable.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank bonnerkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2020

Dear 7lutzp,

Thank you for choosing Rose Garden Hotel to be your home away from home.

Going the extra mile for the guests is something you might here everywhere but this is what differentiate us from others, we not just only promise it, we really do it.

We are happy to know that you appreciate our "YOU ARE IMPORTANT" service and we hope it will not take too long to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

The Rose Garden Hotel is well located and within easy walking distance of Shwedagon Pagoda, Yangon Central Station and Bogyoke Aung San Market while nearby are a number of restaurants including the Karaweik Palace Floating Restaurant.

The staff are very friendly and helpful while the complimentary fresh fruit skewers provided while around the pool in the afternoon, the complimentary nibbles delivered to our room after ordering ice for a drink and the inquiry as to whether we needed any more bathroom products, water, towels etc after the room had been serviced were very nice touches and made you feel special.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lawrencecomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Dear lawrencecomm,

Thank you for choosing Roes Garden Hotel to be your home during staying in Yangon.

We are happy to know that we could provide you with an enjoyable time and that you savored all the extra details we offer to our guests.

It will hopefully not take too long to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2020 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean, well-appointed. Shower is the BEST. The whole place is lovely. The only drawback—and this is big for me—the light in the room is the worst I’ve ever encountered. Their excuse is LED bulbs but they must have bought them from North Korea. LED bulbs in the states are very bright. These are dim in the extreme. They have signs in the room that you can appeal for more light but what they provide is a joke. I imagine many people don’t care at all but if you are depressed by Dracula-level lighting or want to read a book bring a strong headlamp.
Seafood restaurant in the hotel was pretty awful but there’s a great restaurant across the street.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GMRoseGardenHotel, General Manager at Rose Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear 3doglover,

Thank you for your recent stay here at our hotel.

We are happy to know that overall you had an enjoyable time with us but apologize that it was not 100% as expected. Feedback from our guests is important and we will have a look into your comments.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Holger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews