We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Burma!”
Review of Gekko Co. Ltd

Gekko Co. Ltd
Ranked #16 of 1,100 Restaurants in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range: AU$15 - AU$45
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 1 March 2020

We had a fantastic lunch on a Saturday. The restaurant serves Japanese food with a big smile to other styles of food. Fantastic crab, a bit too salty noodlesoup, a good crème brulee and a great coctail; Way to Burma!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank helmiheerkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178, Guest Relations Manager at Gekko Co. Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Thank you for your great review, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience at Gekko!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2020 via mobile

We enjoyed our meal here. Well prepared and presented food. Clean. Excellent service. Reasonable prices.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178, Public Relations Manager at Gekko Co. Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed everything

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2020 via mobile

I paid 12,000++ mmk for a plate of special california roll sushi. The plating ingredient list (of that roll) looked promising and premium, so I never thought I would see a stall type sushi when it actually came. Was surprised and disappointed at the same time. I wouldn't go there again... hmm. It was a major ripoff, in my opinion.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank forsaken0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178, Public Relations Manager at Gekko Co. Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thank you for your feedback, California sushi roll is made with the same ingredients the world over, our special version adds more of the kani sticks for extra flavour and a dramatic appearance. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy it and wish you bought this to our attention in the restaurant as we would have happily replaced with another dish more to your liking - such as a classic roll or nigiri sushi which we believe might have been more what you were looking for. We are sorry that this was not what you were expecting

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

Amazing night, superb service. The very friendly bartender entertained us with some of his very own cocktails recipes. As usual the friday's night band was very pleasant, the food great and all those elements combined together simply makes it the best place to go in this area.

Date of visit: February 2020
3  Thank CedSMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178, Public Relations Manager at Gekko Co. Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are so happy that you enjoy everything and that we looked after you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2020

Returned again for Jazz Night on Friday evening. Great food and atmosphere, and superb service from Zsa Zsa the hostess. Would recommend booking.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Jimmy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hsu178, Guest Relations Manager at Gekko Co. Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2020

Thank you so much for your great review! Zar Zar will be delighted with your kinds words - thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gekko Co. Ltd also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Gekko Co. Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.