We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“many artifacts but dimly lit”
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 22.69*
and up
Admission to National Museum of Yangon Including...
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum exhibits the treasures of the last king of Myanmar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

a great place for history buffs or museum lovers, but it was just ok for me. ticket price is 5000 kyat per person which is inexpensive. no harm going in and i didn't regret visiting but it definitely isn't high up on my to do list.

bags are not allowed as many exhibits are not in a glass case hence can be easily stolen. they offer a free locker (very well worn and creaky), i felt a bit unsafe to leave my phones and wallet inside but as visitors aren't allowed to take photos so might as well leave everything in. lockers are shared by one family as they do not have many available.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mimikoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lion throne"
in 94 reviews
"musical instruments"
in 40 reviews
"throne room"
in 25 reviews
"royal regalia"
in 20 reviews
"five floors"
in 19 reviews
"myanmar history"
in 36 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 68 reviews
"audio guide"
in 16 reviews
"mandalay palace"
in 12 reviews
"natural history"
in 11 reviews
"ethnic groups"
in 18 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 11 reviews
"pyay road"
in 9 reviews
"few hours"
in 22 reviews
"buddha images"
in 10 reviews
"interesting place"
in 9 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 15 reviews
Filter

45 - 49 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

The National Museum is not comprehensive, so the point is to just go and look at aspects, rather a narrative, of Myanmar and especially Burmese culture. It is nicely structured in clear segments. Highlight for sure is the magnificent Golden Throne of the King, as well as the various regalia (there are also "Non-Royal Regalia", which is puzzling :) ). Many pieces are fantastic and very interesting as such; they do give a caleidoscopic view of material culture and are very well worth the 1-2 hours one needs for the museum for a leisurely stroll. The technical aspects have been well described in other reviews.

And then there are some which seem to be half insane, half autistic, and half (yeah I know) boorish, and these are the one-star ones. "Utter rubbish" for the Burmese Golden Throne? I think it is clear what, if not who, deserves that label. What motivates people (if they actually went) to lie about museum infrastructure? "As mentioned by other reviewers, there is no AC" - yes there is, not in all galleries, but in many; ecologically, that's absolutely okay. ", water" - free coolers on every floor, though common cups are not everyone's, well, cup of tea. ", and the lighting of the exhibits is very poor." No, it is low, to protect the light-sensitive exhibits; one has that in every decent museum on the planet. "No cameras area allowed, even with flash off, though cellphones are permitted." Which is a normal copyright issue, and if you don't have a phone with a good cam, get one. "signs next to exhibits tell you what the item is i.e. 'head dress' but give no description of its history, date, or any backstory." The minority of items have short descriptions; most have long ones with exact detail - I'm posting a pic of one. What, again, gets people to rant like that?

To end on a positive note, other than throne room and regalia, I would recommend special attention to the Buddha room, which is very interesting to compare e.g. with the National Museums in Cambodia. (AC works, installation is top notch, and descriptions are there. :))

After spending quite some time here, we went with a Grab (took 5 mins.) to the nearby Relax Food Spa for some, well, I guess the name makes it possible to guess...

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

There are some collections worth the visit, particularly the ground floor thrones, history of the kingdom and reconstruction of the palace at Mandalay.
I enjoyed the puppets and crafts on the upper floors, and the rooms of gold. A lot of history is missing and the museum needs more content

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Im sorry, but with so much rich Mynmar/ Burma history this was a major disappointment.

We even went with a tour guide who said we would need just 40 minutes to look at a few items of interest.

As mentioned by other reviewers, there is no AC, water and the lighting of the exhibits is very poor. No cameras area allowed, even with flash off, though cellphones are permitted.

As noted, signs next to exhibits tell you what the item is i.e. 'head dress' but give no description of its history, date, or any backstory.

I appreciate it is Yangon not another international city but it is extremely poor and should be avoided. Go straight to Bagan instead!!

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank Bahamas_sunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The museum has several floors of exhibits across 2 buildings - some of the floors have been refurbished and are more informative. There are costumes, musical instruments, models of ancient cities, etc. You must leave your personal items in a locker outside - including water bottles, which is only a problem because there is no A/C and just water jugs with shared cups. Be prepared for well behaved schoolkids!

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Deez2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing