We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GRAND BUT PRICEY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
438 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“GRAND BUT PRICEY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

THE KANDAWGYI PALACE HOTEL, YANGON, MYANMAR.

I stayed in this hotel for three nights 21st to 23rd March 2012 whilst on a business trip to the Far East.

The hotel is beautiful and reminds you of the days of the British Raj. It is made of teakwood. The lobby is spacious and the seating square in the middle is a nice idea. It is just as well that the lobby is spacious, because when large travel groups descend on the hotel, it can get very congested.

I was checked in by Pann Moh Moh Pyu – a charming lady who spoke good English. Payment for my room had to be upfront and in cash US Dollars. That was a first for me. I was allocated Room 415, at the end of one wing of the hotel. It had a nice view as it overlooked the lake. The golden royal palace boat is to the right of the lake as I looked at from my room. The room was a bit bigger than I expected - but the effects of the teak wood make it look a bit dreary and tired.

The Shwedagon Pagoda is within walking distance of the hotel – although in the hot sun, you may think that you have walked for hours. (Once inside you have to remove your socks and shoes, and when you walk on the sun kissed hot tiles, your feet definitely feel th heat.)

The Wi-Fi does not work in the hotel bedroom, although on one occasion, I was surprised that it did work (albeit for about ten minutes). In the lobby, the Wi-Fi works better. But if you want to use your laptop and refer to all your paperwork, it can be difficult. I understand that the government is currently focusing on improving the internet system. Telephone charges are very expensive. You can rent government approved handsets and SIM cards.

Breakfast in the main hotel restaurant is buffet style. There was a very good variety of food on offer and covered everything from local and regional food; fresh fruits; breads and pastries; soups; juices; egg station and western style hot breakfast accompaniments to eggs. Lunch and dinner are also served in this restaurant. The prices of the dishes are on the steep side. For example a simple Myanmar butter fish curry with rice costs USD 12. For prawns – add another USD3. There is also a Chinese restaurant – but more often than not – it looked empty.

All the staff members are extremely polite and helpful. They look smart in their traditional uniforms. Their English is good and understandable.

The hotel’s gardens are full of mature trees, shrubs and flowers. The swimming pool is not very big – but on a hot sunny day – size does not matter. You just want to be in the pool. The pool overlooks the lake and the golden royal palace boat at the end of the lake.

The Management has maintained the hotel very well.

I think that the lifts are on the small side. I very much doubt whether eight people can really fit in it as per the manufacturer’s plate on the lift wall. If you wish to go to the city centre (say Scott Market),you should ask the concierge to arrange this for you. They will negotiate the fare on your behalf – but expect to pay 1,500 Kyats (just under USD2 at March 2012) for a one way ride. If you tried to negotiate a price yourself, you would end up losing – as the taxi drivers would start at USD5 one way which upon haggling would be “discounted” to USD4.

This was my first visit to Myanmar, but hopefully not the last. I would definitely come back to this hotel – but it would depend on the company budget.

MAZ MANNAN 24th March 2012.

Room Tip: The end rooms on the wings are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mazmannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    617
    168
    46
    13
See reviews for
149
572
65
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Beautifully situated, splendid facilities, immaculately maintained, with charming staff, all of whom seem to have a good command of English and are very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was good for dinner and the breakfast offer was very wide ranging and of good quality. The gardens are delighful with views over the Royal Lake towards the Shwedagon Pagoda.

But why have the gardens got a full size model of tyrranasaurus rex in them? The place is full of design oddities which are laughable. I was given a room on the fifth floor - with lift access only as far as the fourth floor. After that one walked along open balconies (which trap the suffocating heat) and over a vertigo inducing bridge. Then to a staircase which is not even signposted. The room, when I got there, was good, large, well equipped, well maintained, with an amazing view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. But the bathroom door seemed to lock itself when I shut it (perhaps too firmly) and no one had the key needed to open it; it took five minutes skilful juggling by a maintenace man to get it open. I'm glad it wasn't an emergency. The windows are large with triangular tops, up which the curtain rails run at about 45 degrees. This means you can't close the curtains. A man came with a long pole and shoved them into position. All this has to be taken in good humour. When I metioned these curious features to a young lady at reception - well, she did ask if everything had been all right - she looked surprised and crestfallen and told me she would report it all for suitable action. But I don't see what they can do about built in faults.

Its expensive. The Summit Park View serves very well in all respects at a much better price and fewer pretensions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wulfruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Kandawgyi is representative of a bygone era when royalty and travelling elites would stay in intricately designed hotels with impeccable touch and decor and an actual musician performing in the lobby. In fact, the hotel was converted from a vast set of bungalows many years ago in to a teak built complex. Though it does need a little bit of renovation, it still is a beautiful place to stay in Rangoon.

I found the service to be typical Burmese i.e. very warm and genuine. The happy hours at the pool and lobby were ideal to cool after a hot Rangoon day. The breakfast was good with the usual Western selection.

The location is pretty close to the great Shwedagon Pagoda and I recommend either staying up late at night or wake up very early to see its backdrop against a pitch dark sky for a great view from the top floor of the hotel. It is a little far from the main city center though. Oh, and do relax in the gentle swings outside the lobby with a drink in hand - you'll appreciate it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pshah19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
224 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed here for our last night in Myanmar. The hotel is large with beautiful grounds. Our room was well designed and furnished.Wifi was available in the lobby area with a good signal. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but it was the best breakfast of our 10 day stay. A very elaborate buffet with eggs cooked to order and plenty of fresh fruit and even a great choice of cheeses! Only drawback was that even in this hotel, body lotion was not provided in the amenities kit. (we found this true of all hotels we stayed in in Myanmar)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wombat999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
281 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and the end of our trip to Myanmar. Overall, it was a fine choice. The location is quite good, only a few minutes from Shwedagon Pagoda, and you can get a view of the Pagoda from the 4th floor elevator area - it's actually quite dramatic at night. The rooms were of good quality and spacious, the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was a highlight- the best we had in Myanmar. A very broad choice of options from Thai and Chinese food, a noodle and omelette station, excellent pastries and a good fruit selection. Service was good overall. The hotel is located on a lake which has a nearby walking track over the lake which can be nice in the morning and the evening. It is about 10-15 minutes to downtown sightseeing by car. Overall , a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.8 km away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#5 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,447 reviews
0.6 km away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#10 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.0 km away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#6 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#11 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.5 km away
Belmond Governor's Residence
Belmond Governor's Residence
#1 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.5 km away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#8 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel

Property: The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Address: Kan Yeik Tha Road | Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#6 Romantic Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Business Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#11 Luxury Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range (per night): $120 - $337
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandawgyi Palace Hotel
Hotel Kandawgyi Palace
The Kandawgyi Palace Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing