We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
holidaychicLondon
London, United Kingdom

Old style luxury

Review of The Strand
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 June 2020via mobile
We stayed for two nights at the end of our three work holiday in Myanmar and what a fabulous end! The hotel is Old Colonial style and our suite was beautiful! Our butler couldn’t do enough for us - he even gave us tips on some places to walk too. We had a dressing area, big bathroom, big bedroom and a lounge/study - all furnished beautifully. The hotel was exceptionally quiet, we saw one man by the pool when we sat there one afternoon. It’s a lovely pool and you’re served with fresh orange juice as you arrive. We saw one other couple at breakfasts which were very good. We really liked the bar area, particularly on the second night as they had a live band playing (I’m so glad they still had them playing even though there were only 6 of us in there). We did a half day tour with our lovely guide. Amongst other sites, we took a ride on the circular train which was fun seeing how the locals jump on carrying stuff to sell. It was quite hair raising seeing how people cross the tracks in front of the train... we asked our guide to drop us to the market where we bought some souvenirs - great cotton cool trousers for around £2.50 each. We then had a look around the shopping centre and then easily flagged down a taxi to go back to the hotel. We had a fun time in the city but 2 nights in Yangon is plenty. This is the best hotel to stay in here by far!!
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
Booking.com
AU$110
  • Hotels.com
    AU$164
  • Vio.com
    AU$99
  • Official Site
    AU$188
1.4 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$122
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$181
  • Priceline
    AU$105
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
2.7 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$59
  • Priceline
    AU$148
  • Agoda.com
    AU$50
  • Expedia.com
    AU$58
1.6 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$39
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$35
  • Agoda.com
    AU$31
  • Expedia.com
    AU$40
1.3 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$78
  • Official Site
    AU$99
  • Agoda.com
    AU$60
  • Priceline
    AU$71
1.6 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$48
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    AU$42
  • Agoda.com
    AU$42
  • Algotels
2.8 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$32
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$53
  • Vio.com
    AU$27
  • Hotels.com
    AU$48
1.8 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
AU$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • StayForLong
    AU$122
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
6.5 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$123
  • Expedia.com
    AU$117
  • Agoda.com
    AU$102
  • Hotels.com
    AU$117
8.8 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$54
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$34
  • Vio.com
    AU$30
  • Agoda.com
    AU$30
7.8 km from The Strand
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (1,067)
Filter reviews
1,067 results
Traveller rating
797
201
50
17
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
797
201
50
17
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,067 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2020

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights after our visits to Mandalay, Bagan and Inle Lake. The Executive Suite is very spacious and comfortable.

This iconic Hotel has decor and ambience throughout the entire establishment that exudes grandeur.

The "a la carte" breakfast was very good quality. We had fruits and the Mohinga noodles (a favourite in Myanmar), for breakfast each morning.

The staff are all courteous and professional.

I enjoyed swimming laps in the outdoor pool. I was the only person swimming in the pool.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank World_Traveller_838
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2020

Our Myanmar journey of two weeks in the month of February 2020 began with a two night stay at the Strand. What a terrific introduction to a most interesting city. Such a beautiful historic hotel with impeccable decor.
We stayed in a superior suite with a king bed and a very comfortable sitting area all with the services of our butler. How very special after a long time of walking the city and visiting many sights to return to our room and have our butler bring us cappuccinos. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast in the Strand Cafe. The Strand has a very convenient location that enables one to easily walk all around the city. The hotel lobby is most welcoming and beautifully decorated to enhance all the historic qualities of the hotel. We also took advantage of utilizing the pool area.
After two weeks of our Myanmar journey we had three finale nights at the Strand
The Strand will always be our hotel of choice when next visiting Yangon. More than perfect and every way!!

Room tip: Superior Suite was our room category.....good view not necessary...rooms are beautiful!!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We had an excellent stay at the strand. the service is outstanding and the staff makes sure you feel special . We got offered a free upgrade and a late check out upon arrival. Best overall service we have experienced in Myanmar so far. The restoration of this iconic building has been beautifully made and there is lots of attention to detail. We'll be back :)

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 142monak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2020 via mobile

We really loved our stay at The Strand hotel, we had a room on the first floor with a butler desk outside our room. Thank you to our butler Hnin Ya Htwe for the steaming hot coffee on demand, and the fresh fruit, my husband loved the Nashi pears.
The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We took advantage of the spa and pool area and really enjoyed our couples massage, Thank you to my masseur Phoo Phoo, you have amazing hands, I felt so relaxed after my aromatherapy massage, my husband enjoyed the traditional massage as well. The Pool area is large with comfortable day lounges.
We enjoyed High tea with option for a western style platter or Myanmar high tea. The breakfast spread was impressive, I enjoyed the Energy juice combination which set us up for the day. There is a fantastic shop which sells Burmese artefacts located in the corridor leading to the pool/spa area, the quality and range of items are in my opinion really good, and we purchased a large elephant bell to bring home as a memento of our Myanmar trip. Thank you Chandra for helping us decide, and then going the extra mile to wrap the package for us to take home, a great job and it got home in one piece. Beatrice, lovely to meet you, great to chat to an insider about life in Myanmar. We felt lucky to be able to stay at the Strand, and enjoy what they had to offer, I would highly recommend staying here, the staff really look after you. Thank you.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2020

We expected and got a good room and good food but the standout feature was the all round charm of the staff. Yangon is not ,in our view , a place to savour but being able to retreat to the Savoy makes the experience tolerable.

Room tip: Overlooking the pool is best.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 364tilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews