We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food!”

L'OPERA Italian Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,099 Restaurants in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range: AU$22 - AU$52
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Since it opened in 1997, L'Opera Italian Restaurant & Bar has established itself as the city's premier Italian Restaurant. Receiver of four "Myanmore Dining & Nightlife Awards 2015": "Best Italian Restaurant", "Best Outdoor Dining", "Best Fine Dining", and "Best Service - Most Attentive Staff". Receiver of two "Myanmore Dining & Nightlife Awards 2014": one for the "Best Western Restaurant" and the other one for "Best Patio Dining". L'Opera has also been awarded as the top cleanest foreign restaurant by YDCD and was handed the award by Yangon's Mayor. Its menu features homemade pastas, authentic wood-fired oven pizzas, Italian cold cuts and cheese, fresh salads, and many other local and imported ingredients. Under the guidance of an an Italian Managing Director and an Italian Chef, meals are cooked with the use of only the freshest ingredients - such as tomato, basil, rosemary and garlic - as well as quality dairy, imported meat products and extra virgin olive oil. L'Opera's authentic Italian cuisine is popular not only among expatriates and foreign visitors but also with Myanmar people. Not to mention the magical atmosphere! L'Opera is idyllically situated in an old colonial building in the midst of manicured gardens on the romantic and enchanting Inya Lake. You can dine accompanied by the music of one of the greatest, if not the very best, Myanmar classic guitarist. On November 11th 2012, L'Opera Italian Restaurant & Bar celebrated its 15th anniversary hosting a celebratory party. In December 2012, L'Opera opened the first Italian Bakery in Myanmar. It is located at the entrance of the Restaurant compound and offers a variety of authentic Italian breads and baked goods. L'Opera is an ideal place to organize parties or events. The large garden is perfect for any occasion, including dance parties, from November to March and the Restaurant offers catering services for up to 300 people, whether it is for a birthday, anniversary or a wedding. The Restaurant can also organize cocktail functions and has three more intimate function rooms that can be reserved ahead of time as well as the following two options: - The "Floating Cocktail Lounge", suspended on the Inya Lake can be enjoyed by up to eighteen guests - A nice alternative, the romantic "Romeo & Juliet Balcony", overlooks the garden and the lake, with a capacity of six guests. This is a favorite among couples in love, newlyweds, or anyone who would like to dine all fresco during the rainy season. The L'Opera owners are also committed to promoting Italian Culture and one highlight of the year is the celebration of the Venetian Carnival with dance and a gourmet buffet dinner, where you can see diners wear a Venetian masks and fancy dress costumes for an evening of fun and fantasy. Also popular are the many social events held at L'Opera. These include an annual Tennis League & Tournament, held through the winter and dry season, as well as cooking classes, a Halloween celebration and World sporting events screening on big screen. On Christmas Day, L'Opera puts on special set gourmet menu dinner in the garden, which is decorated with Christmas trees and a Nativity scene. Valentine's Day is always celebrated and a dinner and dance evening is also the perfect place to spend New Year's Eve and see out the year. As it is customary to say in Italian, "a presto", which means, "see you soon".
Reviewed 3 February 2024

Love their food. My favorite was the beef steak; it was not too pricey and yet super tender and delicious. Definitely will visit there again. If you want to sit outside, be prepared for the mosquitoes. (Mosquitoes are pretty common in Myanmar)

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mayth10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2024 via mobile

Restaurant is very beautiful and I love the foods. Also the service is excellent. Especially the pizza was amazing. Thanks for the service.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Myo Min H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2020 via mobile

What more can be said about L'Opera that hasn't been already by the many satisfied reviewers? I just want to add my recommendation too.

The food is very good, the setting by the lake marvelous and the staff the best and most knowledgeable I've encountered anywhere in Southeast Asia, perhaps, the world. Remarkable to find them in Yangon.

You would be crazy not to eat there if you have the chance.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank monkeymonkey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2020

We had a lunch one day in February. It was so good, we went back for dinner later that month. The food is sensational and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend this restaurant. The location by the lake is superb.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank rayholden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
operayangon, Manager at L'OPERA Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2020

Dear Mr. Holden,

thank you very much for your extremely kind words.

We work hard in providing our esteemed clients
with a good experience and are extremely
thankful for your kind appraisal.

Warm regards,
Giorgio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

This is the Italian restaurant run by Italians in one of the outskirts of Yangon. The menu list ticks all off all the usual (Italian ) suspects, pizza, pasta etc. We sat outside, in the garden which is pleasant in beginning of February. We had Linguine alle Vongole Veraci which was fine, but a bit bland. I was surprised to see that the menu came with prices labelled in USD in Myanmar. The website lists prices in local currency but I needed to pay in US currency and to change my Burmese kyat in USD. Probably it stands out in Yangon, but I would like to challenge the owners to not to rest on their laurels but try to match the originality, depth , and finesse of comparable restaurants in Italy.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Gelderlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed L'OPERA Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to L'OPERA Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.