We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
stayrich
Cornwall

Good Location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Mar 2013
Great Location in Yangon

Not the best Hotel in the world but really helpful staff ok breakfast (try the local food it's much nicer than the western stuff). The rooms are ok for budget travel bed and bathroom both clean and fairly quiet at night.

Just try to remember when you go to Myanmar that it is just emerging from a long period of isolation and has suffered a lot from sanctions, the economy is now starting to benefit from a lot more investment and things are changing quickly.

In 2010 they only got 250,000 foreign tourists and in 2012 that number grew to 1 million and this year they are expecting 1.5 million, improved hotel services will take time to develop but they are already on the way.

Just give the people a chance speak to the locals and you will find them friendly courteous and always willing to help. The people of Myanmar are some of the nicest we have met in the 40 countries we have visited.

Myanmar is not Thailand but put in some effort and you will have an amazing real travel experiance.
Date of stay: March 2013
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$113
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$182
  • Trip.com
    AU$104
  • Hotels.com
    AU$182
1.6 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$83
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    AU$98
  • Priceline
    AU$65
  • Expedia.com
    AU$98
0.2 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$97
  • Official Site
    AU$186
  • Trip.com
    AU$89
  • Expedia.com
    AU$162
0.8 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
AU$108
  • Expedia.com
    AU$125
  • Melia.com
    AU$103
  • Hotels.com
    AU$125
4.7 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$58
  • Expedia.com
    AU$65
  • Agoda.com
    AU$50
  • Priceline
    AU$132
0.2 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$98
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
  • Agoda.com
    AU$76
  • Priceline
    AU$117
2.1 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
AU$108
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Hotels.com
    AU$108
  • Priceline
    AU$108
4.8 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$40
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$40
  • Vio.com
    AU$40
  • Agoda.com
    AU$40
1.8 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$150
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$150
  • Trip.com
    AU$117
  • Agoda.com
    AU$128
5.0 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$136
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$257
  • Vio.com
    AU$113
  • Hotels.com
    AU$136
7.0 km from Yuzana Garden Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
3
29
41
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3
29
41
22
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Basic hotel. Large but could do with a face lift. There's wifi but you have to pay 1000k per hour.

Hotel is near the Park Royal which has free wifi in their lobby so we walked a few minutes there. There's restaurants nearby the hotel, about a 5 min walk away. There's a nice cheap Aung Mingalar Shan Noodle Restaurant 5 mins away which serves Shan style noodles and Chinese dumplings (gyoza). Menus were in English and Simplified Chinese.

Breakfast was ok - rice noodles, rice porridge (congee), fruit and bread.

Hotel is OK but would prefer to stay at a newer hotel for the same price.

Date of stay: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nolita230
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Even the staff is very friendly as long as they are available the house needs a refresh from facilities and also the whole procedures. I know that a new contracting is on the way and hope that with this the necessary investment in facilities and staff training will be done.
This historic building has som many potential to be upgraded to one of the most beautiful boutique hotel in town.
Also the rates are too high compared to international standards but reasonable in Yangon's actual environment.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beatolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I have given Y.G an average score only because it was cheap by Yangon standards (where rates are doubling overnight). Convenient for an early flight next day, staff kind and friendly but pretty clueless. One tatty menu in a scruffy restaurant so opted for room service which was surprisingly good and cheap. The room was a clean windowless box but everything worked and it was reasonably comfortable. I liken it to a Tune hotel; good for an airport layover or 24 hours in Yangon (which is all you need).

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the start and finish of our tour of Myanmar. It was chosen by the tour company. The one redeeming factor was the politeness and helpfulness of the reception staff. The room we had was 110. Do not accept this room if you end up here! It is large, dark and gloomy with large dirty windows looking out on to the dingy back of the hotel together with graffiti (would you believe) on the external boundary wall. You will be disturbed by a generator every now and then including at night and also by the noise from the wedding reception area below. The hotel seems to be a popular wedding reception venue for locals. The bathroom in Room 110 is a haven for mosquitos and there is a hole in the bathroom floor big enough for any creature that might want to share your room. The lamp shade and carpets in the room bore the signs of many years of ingrained grime. The mirror was badly scratched. The bed linen looked clean. Whilst resting in your room, you will hear very clearly the telephone ringing brightly from the downstairs reception day and night. This is because of a strange building design where there are back stairs nearby which seem to funnel the sound. Now for the breakfast. To have breakfast you enter a gloomy room; a bit like a dowdy canteen. The staff look miserable. The coffee is not good. If you ask for Jasmine tea, the waiter will delve into a cupboard. it wasn't too bad. You can have fresh fruit, eggs and hot chinese noodles or rice. The bread has a strange slightly sweet taste. Beyond the gloomy breakfast area is a much nicer room however it is not for you. It is reserved for weddings. If you stay here, take an electric mosquito repellent for your room. The mosquitos occupy the corridors. The bedrooms facing the front of the hotel were marginally better. Although there is scaffolding up on the front of the building, there was no work going on. There is a pool which was so soupy in appearance, you would not want to go in. Nearby there are shops and places to eat; nothing great but you can get essentials. Incidentally there is a great shop nearby for teens with 'goth' t shirts and cool shoes. Given that all the budget hotels we stayed in in country areas were basic but nice and clean, there is no excuse for this budget hotel to be so poor. In our experience, the standard of budget hotels were fine in the country towns we visited than in the cities. For city stays, in Yangon and Mandalay I would recommend that you book the best hotel you can afford. Not this.

The problem with this hotel is that no investment appears to be being made. No one minds a cheap hotel if it is clean and bright. This is dark, miserable and dirty. The staff all need to be trained and most importantly the rooms should be completely refurbished. Many buildings in Yangon are in a very poor state however this is supposed to be an international hotel.
I don't like to be this negative, and I wish this lovely country continued success in its future plans however the owner of this hotel is letting all the other good hoteliers down. The owner needs a wake up call; a really loud one.

Room tip: Do not accept Room 110
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Agreed with other reviews. Desparately in need of refurb. Couldn't open curtains in bedroom and they were nailed shut. Pool uninviting and in need of a clean. Breakfast poor. Hot dishes unrecognisable.
On the plus side, helpful staff and it was near lots of local restaurants and from the scaffolding on the front of the hotel it looks as if upgrading is on the way.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews