We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Cuisine”

Jana Mon Ethnic Cuisine
Ranked #37 of 1,100 Restaurants in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price range: AU$0 - AU$5
Description: It is an authentic traditional Mon people cuisine which only exist in major city; Yangon, Myanmar.
Restaurant details
Description: It is an authentic traditional Mon people cuisine which only exist in major city; Yangon, Myanmar.
Reviewed 21 February 2020

I wish I had more days in Yangon just because of this little restaurant. Very interesting ethnic cuisine - lots of veggies and herbs, light and not greasy. Great for lunch - it was quiet, with novice monks and nuns making their rounds for alms. The hosts are very kind and friendly. Many vegetarian options.
It's tucked in a little street close to the Eastern Gate of Shwedagon Pagoda.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank dilyanayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2020 via mobile

We were staying in Merchant Art Hotel, and the staff pointed us to Jana Mon for dinner, just around the corner from the hotel.
What wonderful food they dish out. If you are looking for fine traditional Myanmar cuisine, get yourself to Jana Mon. We ate there everyday during our stay. Simply delicious food!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank tapiwask
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2020

Not a question good food bad food. Bathroom is bad not clean Mold on the walls smell bad not clean . Toilet must be Clean very very clean

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank zipolino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2020 via mobile

I brought my friend from Bangkok for lunch. This is my second time. Nice atmosphere and clean.

Food : Nice starter prawn with dipping chilli sauce.We had 3 sets of main dishes, all tasty. The banana bud is my favourite which was always delicious, the chicken salad was yummy and the spa chicken was excellent, not too oily. And fresh drinks available.

Service : The wait was attentive, friendly and smile. He speaks good English.

Price : Much cheaper then other places. Fair with the quality food and worth for it.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank monc485
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

Super tasty food, very reasonable prices (10-20 k in Jan. 2020 for two people for a full meal including drinks).

Cosy place, attentive staff, we've eaten here three times and have been satisfied each time.

Most dishes can be customized and you can choose fish, prawns, pork or chicken.

Can really recommend this place!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank umeasweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jana Mon Ethnic Cuisine also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Jana Mon Ethnic Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.