We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place to stay”
Review of Hotel Olympic

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Vila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #14 of 22 Port Vila B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 November 2010

A nice, basic hotel that provides an adequate stay. The best thing about the place is its location in downtown Port Vila, and was a step up on other downtown hotels. The staff is very friendly, as everywhere in Vanuatu, and assisted with anything that you needed. The only pitfall is that the walls between rooms are thin and you can hear your neighbors, which can be a problem if you're a light sleeper. Overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at many places in Vila but one of the best value for money was The Olympic. It was Quiet because of the solid walls and the rooms were clean, lovely and cool and central to the middle of Vila. We would definately return.
Sonja and Phil.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philnsonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We booked 2 twin deluxe rooms over the Internet and had 1 room was upgraded to a studio (#6). The twin room (#19) is just fine for a short stay with a double bed and a single, wardrobes, private bathroom (shower only), A/C, TV and small fridge. The studio had all that and was more spacious and would be ideal for an extended stay. It had a shower over bath, a lounge and a kitchenette as well. Both rooms have partial harbour views. On arrival at 11pm we were met by the security guard and shown to our room immediately and told to check in tomorrow after we had rested. The beds were clean and comfortable and the towels were large, white and crisply line dryed. Rooms were cleaned daily and toiletries provided. There is a couryard area with plenty of seating and some BBQs if you feel like cooking.

When we booked we knew there would be some street noise, and there was. But it didn't bother us too much, it adds to the fun of the place. We wondered if there would be nightclub noise from Voodoos Bar, which is just downstairs, and there was in the back room (#19) which was on the upper level, but didn't bother us on the lower floor.

Continental Breakfast is included at the Nirvana Restaurant across the road. Choices included toast and jam or fresh fruit, muesli or granola, pastries, tea and coffee. Not overly exciting, but enough to start the day.

Overall, we were happy with our choice. A very handy location, close to restaurants, bars and the harbour and we able to park our car just across the road. The Olympic complex houses a money changer(Goodies), restaurant, cafe, laundromat, beauty salon/spa. For those who want a bit of night life, Voodoos nightclub is open until 3am (at least it was when we stayed).

The only complaint is that the AUD price quoted by email was later converted using an unrealistic rate and became about $9 more/night UNLESS you book and pay from Australia(in our case). So if you are quoted a good price by email, just pay in advance, easy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryandjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

We stayed our first night in Port Vila at the Hotel Olympic to get our bearings and so we could see what the restraurants and bars of Port Vila were like. Hotel Olympic was perfect for this purpose. Central as you can get, easy walk to the harbour, restaurants etc.

We booked a studio apartment to share with 3 adults and were pleasantly surprised by how spacious a plush it was for the price. Comfy big beds with clean fresh linnens and nice covers. Much much cheaper than a much smaller, crumbier room at one of the large hotels in port vila (we also stayed at Le Meridien). Full kitchen facilities, fridge, airconditioning. Bathroom was clean and functional and also a good size.

There is a cute bbq area upstairs with plants, seating etc.
Service was fine - we didn't actually need much service except check in and out, which went smoothly. We had booked through the hotel's website as we found that was the easiest way to ensure all 3 could stay in the room with out being charged an 'additional guest' surcharge, as other 'discount' booking sites did.

The included breakfast involved getting vouchers from the desk and going across the road to a chinese restaurant, where we got a nice traditional breakfast spread including bacon/eggs/fruit/yogurht/muslie/toast and juices. Was very tasty and good after a big night out on the town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanuts56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Stayed at Olympic hotel due to it being conveniently located right in the town of Vila . This means easy access to local buses to go to cascades, hideway island, etc. Satisfactory to use as a base to travel around the local sites.
Had a studio room with kitchenette which was clean, tidy and comfortable. Air con to keep room cool as it can get very hot and humid in Vila. Can get somewhat noisy at night as its right in town but thats to be expected given its location. Staff friendly and helpful.
All round a very good well priced hotel if you just want it as a base to come back to after travelling around during the day. Choice of many resturants within walking distance to eat at, or grocery stores/market to buy food and prepare yourself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandalsAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0 km away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
0 km away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,544 reviews
0 km away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#43 of 47 in Port Vila
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
515 reviews
0 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
548 reviews
0 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Address: Rue Bougainville, PO Box 3232, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Port Vila
Price Range: $106 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Is Currently Under Renovation, See You Soon ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Olympic Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing