We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza and seafood”
Review of Au Fare

Au Fare
Ranked #28 of 103 Restaurants in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1,200 - USD 4,300
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Au Faré Restaurant is a well known French Restaurant in Port Vila. A mix of island cuisine and the "savoir faire" of the French gastronomy. You will find here fresh seafood direct from the ocean, organic meat from Vanuatu, and delicious pizzas. You will also find coconut crabs from the personal livestock of the owner Romuald. Come and enjoy great food and a beautiful ocean view!
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Also know as Pizza Hot
A lovely semi outdoor setting with beautiful sunset views. Attentive staff and the best pizzas we had in Port Vila cooked in a proper pizza oven. I had a lobster which was chosen live from a crate and cooked fresh.
Wish we had found this place earlier in our stay.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank TheoA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2018

We went to Au Fare on our last night as we had been told they had lobster. When we arrived it seemed more of a pizza place. We were seated right on the water, what a fabulous spot! and after looking at the menu decided to ask if there was lobster. The waitress checked with the kitchen and told us they did have some and we could get a seafood platter for 2 which we ordered. What came out was the biggest seafood feast I've ever had. We had crab, a whole lobster, a whole bug, 3 fish, mussels, oysters, calamari, prawns, salads and 4 different sauces. My husband and I couldn't believe our eyes and we actually could not finish all the food provided. The lobster and bug were expertly grilled on the bbq, everything was extremely fresh and delicious and the staff we wonderful. The platter was probably about AUD$120-130 and I could not imagine getting that much quality seafood in Australia for that price. So keep you eye out for this hidden gem when visiting Port Vila.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DownunderFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

This is not what i expected - tucked away behind some typically dirty Vila shops is Pizza Hot. Great restaurant space, superb views and pretty good pizza's and steaks.

The fish is patchy as is the service. However over all it is better than some we visited. Should be on your list of places to go when here as it is reasonably consistent.

Prices are first world in a third world country so make sure you bring your cash

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Morningside4170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

From the minute we arrived this place looked outstanding.
Very friendly staff were welcoming and helpful.
The food ohhhhh how good was the food.
From the entree to the mains this is the best place I have eaten in at port vila
The lobster hand picked and fresh was just sensational and priced well.
The entree for 2 was huge and very tasty.
If you love sea food then this would be one of the must visit places to go to on the island.
The seafood all over port vila has been outstanding but this place is just that bit better from my experience.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The ultimate mix of French and ni-Van food. So quiet despite being very close to the main road. Beautiful views over the harbour.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Lynden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Au Fare also viewed

 

Been to Au Fare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing