We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
WineloverMelbourne
Melbourne, Australia

Good central hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Aug 2023
The Grand needs a serious paint job on the exterior, the interior not so bad.
The room we had was comfortable although I suspect we had one of the lesser rooms being on the first floor. It was reasonably spacious with a balcony, comfortable bed and shower and bath. We ate in the restaurant several times and found the food quite good and reasonably priced. The breakfast was excellent with an egg station and lots of options.
Very close to the centre of town. An ATM front.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$270
  • HolidayInn.com
  • Priceline
1.2 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$255
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$228
  • Expedia.com
    AU$273
3.8 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$292
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$262
  • Expedia.com
    AU$293
3.7 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Beachfront
Restaurant
AU$505
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$482
  • Expedia.com
    AU$507
0.5 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free Wifi
Beachfront
AU$275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    AU$410
4.2 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free parking
Pool
AU$249
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$240
  • Expedia.com
    AU$300
2.8 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free parking
Pool
AU$121
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
7.3 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Pool
Beachfront
AU$214
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
    AU$130
2.5 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$356
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$334
  • Trip.com
12.6 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free Wifi
Free parking
Restaurant and Beach
AU$237
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$211
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$211
4.7 km from Grand Hotel & Casino
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
238
276
102
32
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
238
276
102
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews iririki island central location happy hour pool area is fish balcony vila vanuatu foyer supermarket cyclone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2023 via mobile

The hotel is clean and comfortable in a central location, with nice views of the harbour. The staff are also friendly and helpful.

However, the noise from the nightclub next door that went on until 3am made for a miserable sleep and means I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MichaelTasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023

Be aware at this hotel cleaners Dora and Evelyn would look in the draws where you keep your personal belongings apparently it’s the policy of the hotel !! God knows what else they do whilst they clean your room. And If they find soap in your draw they won’t give you any! Lock your belongings away!!

Date of stay: June 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023

The room was quite spacious, the beds were excellent in both rooms, very fresh and clean. Sundays are church days so on a Monday we did have trouble getting fresh room towels. The staff were very lovely and they had a doorman 24/7. The top floor is still recovering from the recent cyclones and so no rooms available there. We found the view and rooms to look exactly as depicted. We loved that we were easy walking distance to supermarche, local food and craft market and many restaurants a 10 min walk. The local bus ran past the front door and were cheap at 150vat per person. Very glad we stayed here.

Room tip: If you’re a tea drinker byo your favourite tea.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2023 via mobile

The Grand Hotel & Casino is very central to downtown shops, the main Pt Vila market and a good range of restaurants. It’s located right on the water’s edge with panoramic views across the bay to Iririki Island. The entire lobby lounge, bar, dining room and adjoining balcony areas catch the view and there is a great pool at ground level with tables and umbrellas. The best thing about the hotel is the friendly and helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble.
The Grand has seen better days, it is a little tired but the rooms are clean and a good size with individual balconies. The beds are comfy and the aircon works a treat and (unlike a lot of other hotels), you can adjust the temperature & fan. I will stay here again next trip.

Room tip: Ask for a room above the second floor on the bay side.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank JumboJetJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 May 2023

AMAZING STAY! We were here a few nights pre and post a trip to Santo.
The staff were absolutely incredible, the breakfast was the best we had in Vanuatu and we loved our room service on the last night.
We had a beautiful room, very clean and a wonder view.
Perfect location for a quick trip.
We will definitely be back .

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank candice6032
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews