We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
singalam4
Brisbane Region, Australia
GORGEOUS GROUNDS AND OCEANFRONT LOCATION
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Aug 2018
Our family of 5 stayed at Benjor for 10 nights - we absolutely loved it. we actually had booked a 2 bedroom Villa with a request for an extra bed and were really surprised and delighted when Miranda (hostess with the mostess!) gave us a complimentary upgrade to a four bedroom Villa (actually 2 x 2 bedroom villas with an interconnecting door). This meant the kids had privacy and so did we!!!!! The location is fantastic - huge grounds with beautiful (slightly wild) gardens and absolute ocean front. We snorkelled and kayaked everyday but only at high tide as the low tides were very low and the coral a bit exposed. Great fish and the sand island is great to visit. Pretty much all of the things the kids wanted to do were in the area of Mele Bay where Benjor is - Hideaway Island (go to the underwater post office - great fun), Wet and Wild (zorbing a huge hit with the 10 year old) and the Jungle Ziplining - really fun!! The restaurant was good - pizza night a stand out. because our Villa was selfcontained we also did some cooking outselves with great produce from the local market in town. All in alla great trip with great hosts. Thanks we will be back with more ofour family next year.
Date of stay: July 2018
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Fatumaru bay seafront apartment
Booking.com
AU$224
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$190
  • Priceline
8.3 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$122
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$100
  • Hotels.com
    AU$115
2.4 km from Benjor Beach Club
Pool
Beachfront
Restaurant and Beach
Booking.com
AU$261
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$262
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$261
9.0 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$248
  • Hotels.com
    AU$218
  • Agoda.com
    AU$191
  • Expedia.com
    AU$233
9.6 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$267
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
  • Agoda.com
    AU$170
  • Hotels.com
    AU$314
11.0 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
HolidayInn.com
AU$284
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$265
  • Hotels.com
    AU$263
  • Expedia.com
    AU$263
11.2 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
AU$306
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
11.1 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
AU$278
  • Expedia.com
    AU$309
  • Agoda.com
    AU$221
  • Hotels.com
    AU$287
11.3 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$426
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$426
  • Agoda.com
    AU$388
  • Priceline
9.4 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Booking.com
AU$143
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$219
  • Expedia.com
    AU$219
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Benjor Beach Club
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Port Vila
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
207
98
31
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
207
98
31
22
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed for a week in Benjor and as much as it is a very basic resort, it has all we needed.
We had a two bedroom apartment, with kitchenette - which was a plus to make simple meals.
The restaurant is basic as well but the service was good.
The beach is suitable to snorkel straight off of - but make sure you wear reef shoes! It has a drop beach which the reef drops at least 6+ metres deep with plenty of fish.
We stayed here in January and the weather was lovely -
Tip the resort is a little remote and we hired a car which was the best thing we did!

Room tip: get an apartment room
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2018

The resort is very far from the airport & downtown.Half of the time power cut. They did not even bother to inform us that there would be long power cut on the next day, as they got the notice before. We had a booked tour from 8am.When we got up at 7am there was not even water in flush. We could not even take shower, just sprayed deo & went out.After a long dusty day when we came back, still there was no water.Next day also same thing power cut & no water supply. We had to go to the common washroom which is in reception to get ready. The resort is in an abandoned place so food, trasport everything is dependant on the hotel authority.Food options are limited. On the Menu book, few words are mentioned in local language like PIKININI, that means kids meal. So unknowingly we ordered fish & chips from pikinini because price was good. But when we got the final bill during check out, we were shocked.When we ordered it showed really reasonable, but the bill was huge. Then they said that we ordered from PIKININI,means kids meal.We stayed there for 3 days & everytime we ordered food from them, but none even bothered to tell us that before. The local reception guy was extremely rude. When asked to call the owner of the property he said he is everything. However the owner is an Australian family & they also live in one of the cottages. & we met them on the first day. The reception person is different each day, & they have 0 co ordination.Sea facing swimming pool & the grove are the only good things about the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Thank payelchakravorti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very rundown and in urgent need of repairs .It is such a shame as it is in a beautiful location .Our room had no hot water ...no microwave and no TV ...the spaces were empty ...we had to shower in another room as the gas would not work to heat our water .Our food was ok in the restsurant ...the pool was ok ...the beach is coral ...not sand ...and it cost $250 for one night . We were expecting so much more for such a high price .Looking on your site now it says we should have paid far less than this .We would never recommended this place to stay ...after such a rewarding experience helping the people of Tanna ...we are nurses ...we were very disappointed. Thank you for your time to reply to my complaint .Jodie .

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank jfrost65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Benjor is on about 20 acres of beautiful beach front land. i have stayed there twice now with my wife and family and thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway from the hustle and bustle of some city hotels. there are numerous activities to be enjoyed at the resort such as Volley ball, mini golf, swimming pool, Tennis court, and of course they have a couple of kayaks that are free to borrow for a tranquil paddle.
the welcome punch is awesome and all other drinks are about the same price as anywhere else. The menu is fine and even had a few vegetarian options for my daughter.
The staff are wonderful and friendly and it was a pleasure to meet Fred again on reception as he was there last time we visited. this visit we met the actual owners of the resort Greg and Miranda and they are just fabulous hosts and lovely people as well. they greeted us the day we arrived and were always up for a chat and were genuinely sad when we told them our daughter Sara may not be joining us due to passport issues but were just as thrilled as we were when she arrived 2 days after us.
trips in to town cost 400 VT which is pretty cheap and its always easy to get a ride back to the resort, and transport in general is pretty cheap if you want to travel around the island.
there is a tour board at reception and also lots of pamphlets showing the many different tours available and all can be booked at the desk.
the rooms are spacious and adequate and my family were quite at home here and we are already starting to plan for next year.
great work Greg and Miranda and we look forward to staying with you again.
Eric Theresa and sara

Room tip: all rooms have sea views
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricB3997
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Benjor is listed as a three star but we found it a bit better than that. Room was fresh and comfortable, looking out at the ocean, and the food in the restaurant was better than the average that we came across in other places in Vanuatu. The prawn laxa was the best I have had anywhere. Staff were warm and friendly, and although Benjor is a little way out from Port Vila it was pretty easy to grab a local bus to town.

Room tip: There are some self catering villas - we would probably opt for that next time.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews