We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Coconut Palms Resort
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

It has been almost a year ago since I have been but kept meaning to share. Coconut Palms is a great place to stay. There is a mixture of people who stay frrom solo to families and accommodation ranges from backpackers to self contained units. We were int he self contained units which were spacious and more than adequate. Breakfast each day was superb. SOmetimes nice just to lounge around the pool rather than exploring. Its such a friendly place! The staff were so helpful. The only thing I would say that we had a NZD$100 voucher to spend there but were never told until the last day of our stay, which was unfortuante but we managed to get some food and drinks in before the airport. As for the island itself, amazing, friendly, from there it is easy to get into to town if you walk, sure a bit steep coming back but there is a swimming pool! there is a supermarket in wlaking distance as well. So much to explore in Vanuatu and will be back to explore the other islands as well. we hired a car which was great, did so many things, swam at many beaches (soem you will have to pay and entry fee to the local community, I was ok with that) did a boat trip out to a we einner island and snorkelled off the boat at many places, ferried to the resort foor a spot of swimming there. Miss it already! If yoou want somewhere which is slowly becoming aware of tourism but still relaxed, then go. Try the kava! Market fabulous, we sat and ate there and tlaked to the locals who gave us some really tips. Its french and english influenced so a touch of both there. Loved it!

Room Tip: I do not know what the other rooms were like but we had a self ocntained unit away foorm the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwiexplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    110
    53
    33
    16
See reviews for
40
99
56
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We got a very good package deal that included a Superior Orchid room. The room is small but if you are planning on exploring then that isn't an issue. There is ample room downstairs in the public areas to sit and chat. We had a balcony which we took advantage of to sit on and dry clothes :) The Air conditioning unit was a godsend, especially when we wanted to sleep. The microwave didn't work but food from the supermarket was not exactly cheap. There were no plates or bowls provided but I am sure that if you wanted them all you had to do was ask. The shower did drip but I susppect that the water type is hard on the fittings. Coming from a rural area we encounter similar issues at home. We were happy. It is not perfect and occasionally things were overlooked such as milk but if you ask then it is rectified immediately. The manager is very approachable and seemed to try very hard to fix any issues that were raised. He made himself available to us and asked for our feedback. If you want to find things to complain about you can but we did not encounter anything that spoiled our experience. This is a cheap place to stay and we talked to other tourists who were staying at more expensive places and they complained about similar issues. The pool was a welcome respite from the heat. The food was nice and the prices are similar to the rest of the restaurants in Port Villa. The alcohol prices were competitive as well. Every night there was something going on. One night it was a Kava deemonstration and a string band, another it was cheap piza, fire dancing, cheap pasta, meet the manager and so on. There is a happy hour daily as well. The staff are all very friendly. At breakfast if you are in a hurry to meet a tour it is faster to order breakfast at the counter and then take a seat. We ordered our coffee and juice at the same time. That way you don't have to sit and wait for service at the table. There are two supermarkets about 10 minutes slow walk away. The french one has all the big brands we know. Sometimes the small shops are cheaper for some things. To get to the supermarket you just turn left at the round about and keep walking. There are lots of resteraunts 10-15 minutes walk away. You just go straght at the roundabout and down the steps past the Australian High commision. If you want a Bus it will cost 150 vatu per person around the centre. Just stand outside the resort and they stop anywhere. They have a B on the number plate and are vans. You can negotiate prices for trips further afield. The taxi's have a T on the number plate, negotiate a price before you hop in. The resort staff are helpful and can also arrange tours and transport. We enjoyed our stay, we ate well and slept well. If you are looking for the Hilton then this might not be for you. If you are looking for cheap and cheerful then this ticked all our boxes.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. If you have a problem ask them to fix it and they will. If you are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The room we were allocated was a superior orchid room. The room was small with 1960's plumbing. There was no balcony, and no where to sit except the bed.We asked for an upgrade and were shown an apartment room - and low and behold it was the same as the superior orchid room that was shown on the web site!

However the room was not clean and smelled of mould.We cleaned the toilet with bleach and it came up looking like new!

It seemed to us that the management did not supply the staff with the right cleaning tools.

the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was good and reasonably priced.

The management should make sure that the pictures of the rooms are accurate -this will avoid disappointment at check in, and ensure that the rooms are cleaned to a hygienic standard.

This would make for a great place to stay - as the entertainment supplied is great I really enjoyed kava ceremony and fire show.

Room Tip: Go for the self contained apartment for a more modern and spacious room, which is more sound proofed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoconutPalmsVanuatu, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Mr & Mrs Monaco,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We welcome all feed back good and bad, as we are committed to ensuring customer satisfaction, and any pointers that our guests give us can only help us improve our product.

I am a little confused why you never brought these problems up with me in person as we crossed paths so many times, during the Melanesian Feast, the Kava Stories and of course when we were listening to the string band of Thursday evening.

It would have been great to know which website had the wrong photo/room description, that way i would have been able to contact them and fix this error, after all our mission is to provide our guests with a good experience, this would prove a difficult task if our guests potentially had false expectations. More importantly, i wouldn't have charged for the upgrade to the Palm Deluxe Apartment. I will do my best to find this incorrect photo, although i would be appreciative if you could forward me the web address via email. My email address is gm@coconutpalms.vu
After receiving this email, i will even refund you our upgrade fee as it wouldn't sit right knowing you think we have mislead you in anyway.

In relations to cleaning products we purchase the top of the line environmental friendly commercial cleaning products which are from Australia. I am shocked and surprised that you had to clean your own toilet, also that you did not inform anyone at the hotel about this at the time as what you are reporting is unacceptable.

I am sorry you had a bad experience when staying with us at Coconut Palms Resort, i will say that it is unfortunate that all the times we spoke you didn't raise any of these points with me so i could have acted on them there and then.

Kindest regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We booked a cheaper place because usually we stay at 4 or 5 star places and are never there during the day as we are always on some sort of adventure. After reading some of the negative comments I was a little uncertain of what we would find. There were ten of us and we booked three rooms. We had 2 superior orchid rooms and a deluxe apartment. The superior orchid rooms were a little dated but were clean and tidy. The deluxe apartments had been renovated and were much more modern and also had cooking facilities. The rooms had fans and airconditioners which were a godsend as it gets really hot at night. All rooms were serviced daily. The pool is really clean and relaxing. The wifi was free and easy to connect. Breakfast was good but you often had to wait 45 minutes to an hour for it to be served. We would get there at 7am when breakfast opened and usually be out by 8: 15am. It is not Coconut Palms that takes a while for your food, everywhere in Vanuatu is like that. They just dont understand what hurry hurry hurry is. Maybe we have it wrong!! The location is really good. It took five minutes to walk to Port Vila. You have to walk down steep stairs so it wouldnt be good for elderly people or strollers. It costs $1.50 to catch a bus to town and the buses go past every five minutes. There is a jail down the road but it is surrounded by guards and not a problem at all. We felt really safe in Vanuatu and often walked back at 10 O'clock at night to the Hotel and never were never bothered. The people are really friendly. The power and water are cut off for about an hour - an hour and a half in the morning. Usually about 10am and the staff always notifed us that this was going to happen. Trivia nights were heaps of fun - Thank you Elliot and Lee. You guys are awesome!! I had a scooter accident on the fourth day of the holiday and had a massive cut that was down to the bone and fractures. Elliot the manager arranged for his staff to take me to the private hospital (after getting it stitched at the public hospital) to get it cleaned properly and dressed. When I was finished they came to get me. The scooters were about forty five minutes from town and elliot (manager) arranged for them to be collected and bought back to the hotel. All this was done free of charge. I cannot thank him enough for the help he offered to myself and my family. We could not fly home for another two days as there were no flights available. On friday we were meant to vacate our units at 11 and wre not being picked up until 2. We were allowed to stay in our rooms until this time at no further cost. The management (Elliot and Lee) wre absolutely amazing. So helpful and kind. I would highly recommend Coconut Palms if you want to stay somewhere that is clean and tidy and really close to town. You dont need to spend your money on fancy places if you are going to go out and explore. Even though I was bedridden for the last two days of my stay I still had an amazing time!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and i took the Deluxe Appartment for a week. The appartment was fabulous and the room is superbly comfy and quiet. It is lovely clean and extremely spacious. A beautiful garden view from the front balcony near the pool and is a peaceful place to read a book.The pool is relaxing. The staff were of great service and fantastic food. I love their lasagna!! fancied giving it a try. It's only a short walk in to town!! I am delighted that we had a great stay. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lina_0611_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CoconutPalmsResort, Manager at Coconut Palms Resort, responded to this review, 1 August 2016
Dear Valued guest

We are sorry for the delayed response to your review. We are very thankful for all feedback both positive and constructive. The time you have taken to share this is appreciated.

We have had new management in place since March 2015, we have spent the last 15 months lifting many aspects and features of the hotel, this included menus, training, reservations and check in processes.

If there is any aspect of your review which has not been rectified and you would like to discuss it in further detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at elliot@coconutpalms.vu.

If you are planning another trip, check out our website for the best rates online.

Many thanks

Elliot Agius
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
10.3 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#26 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.2 km away
Pacific Paradise Motel
Pacific Paradise Motel
#39 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 km away
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
Vanuatu Holiday Hotel
#42 of 48 in Port Vila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.1 km away
Coral Motel & Apartments
Coral Motel & Apartments
#32 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Palms Resort

Property: Coconut Palms Resort
Address: Cornwall Street, PO Box 1515, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
Price range (per night): $48 - $106
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Palms Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Award Wining, Coconut Palms Resort we pride ourselves as "Your Vanuatu Friend" where our happy staff will do everything possible to ensure that you: Stay, Relax & Enjoy all that the resort and beautiful Vanuatu has to offer. We are governed by our mission: "To be the best value resort in Vanuatu where service is not compromised and happy memories are guaranteed." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Palms Hotel Port Vila
Coconut Palms Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing