We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
73
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curries natural pool damien and sally natural rock sound of the waves gastronomic delight perfect hideaway fish prawns perfect place to get away perfect hosts falling asleep coral reef vanuatu holiday yogurt next morning cocktails
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2018

We chose this resort for mainly 2 reasons, no children stay and only 4 villas. Sally and Damien the hosts are down to earth, fun and make you feel part of the family. They helped organise tours for us and Damien went out of his way to drive us to a nearby resort to attend a wedding. The restaurant meals were delicious that we stayed in every night for our entire stay to dine. James the barman is a hidden gem with the biggest smile and devilish sense of humour, just a joy to be around. If we choose to go back to Vanuatu we will definately be staying at Ripples.

Room tip: All rooms are quiet, and you can see and hear the ocean
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank suer565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We chose Ripples because of the great TripAdvisor reviews and weren’t disappointed. The service and quality of food was top notch. Sally, Damian, James, Billy and other staff looked after us so well, always friendly and helpful. During our stay the four of us ate our way through the tasty menu and enjoyed the variety of cocktails and selection of wine. Make sure you try the OooLaLa it’s heaven and the Soy Ginger Fish is melt-in-the-mouth delicious.
Our days were a mix of quiet days at Ripples and days out and about. Billy was very happy to drive us around and/or return to collect us for a negotiated (and very reasonable) fee. It takes 20-30min to travel from Ripples to Port Vila depending on the time of day, so an element of planning is required to ensure you make the most of the time you’re out and about.
Having said that, Ripples is so peaceful and tranquil it’s hard to put down your book and tear yourself away. We loved the coral pool, relaxing in the sun loungers or hammocks as well as being within walking distance of The Reef Zoological and Tamanu on the Beach and made the most of it all.
Ripples is the perfect place to get away from it all, enjoy some downtime and experience excellent hospitality. Falling asleep and waking to the sound of the waves was was absolute bliss.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Lindyblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a week here in October.
It is a small resort, with only 4 guest bungalows, and the preference is for adults only (for those that want a peaceful escape from family life).
The resort is not a 5 star, flashy modern hotel. Instead, it is comfortable, and very friendly, the hosts and the staff are very good and accommodating. There is no tv, no aircon (ceiling fans do the job), but there is wifi (for us modern folks who need to read emails etc).
Waking up to the sound of the waves on the coral reef is relaxing. Casual meals at the restaurant (the curries are fantastic) and a well stocked bar! Ripples do encourage day trippers to enjoy the restaurant and pool, and children are quite welcome for that type of visit.
The pool is a natural coral inlet, with plenty of interesting fish to discover with the equipment provided. There are bikes if you want to use them and a kayak as well.
Ripples is a fair bit out of Vila (about 20 to 25 minutes), they can organise transfers if you wish at a reasonable price.
We hired a car for the week, and did a fair bit of investigative tourism, enjoying many of the local attractions, and dining at many of the other fine establishments around.
For us Ripples was perfect, good value and we would like to thank Sally, Damien, James and everyone else (including Barney the pooch) for a lovely week in Paradise.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank GraemeK591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally w, Owner at Ripples on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thanks for the great review, Graeme K,

It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Five Star Guests, all the way.

Sally, Damien & Barney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Stayed here for two nights during our Vanuatu holiday and cannot wait to come back again. Located approx 20 mins from Port Vila this property is the perfect tranquil location to rest and relax. The natural swimming pool is perfect for cooling off and there are plenty of fish to spot. Our room was clean, tidy and spacious and just a few steps from the waterfront. The food was AMAZING (including Gluten Free options) and the serviced provided by Sally, Damien & James was outstanding, we could not have asked for more. Can't wait to come back for a longer stay next time.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ClD2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Stayed as a solo traveller for a week as part of a much needed retreat. I was attracted by the great reviews and the possibility of on-site snorkelling. The food reviews are spot on - I had fun working my way through just about every dish on the menu! The pork dish is a must! Amazing. Cocktails were delicious too - James makes a mean mojito and mango daiquiri. The snorkelling didn't disappoint either - there was an abundance of tropical fish and some really stunning coral. The coral garden is really healthy, and recovering well from an attack by crown of thorn a few years ago. I'd highly recommend doing the snorkelling trip to Lelepa too if snorkelling is your thing. But it was great to be able to snorkel every day at Ripples. The best part of my stay was falling asleep to the sound of waves, then waking up the next morning and doing it all over again... Thank you Sally, Damian, James, George and the rest of the crew at Ripples for an unforgettable stay. Andy

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ydnak80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews